We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and grounds, shame about the staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and grounds, shame about the staff!”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We recently stayed at The Park Hotel for our Wedding Anniversary. On initially arriving we were very impressed with the grounds and the look of the hotel. We booked a luxury room (room 6) and it was very nice. Nicely set out, although we quickly realised we had no tea/coffee/milk so went to phone reception - however our phone didn't work. On going to reception, the receptionist was quite blunt and rude but came to look at the phone - they didn't solve this problem for our stay. Also the t.v. in our room did not work properly.
Again the following day housekeeping did not manage to leave tea and coffee, they did leave biscuits but they were stale.
We had breakfast and that was very good, however the staff had an air of being annoyed about them. They were not keen to help. This was echoed when we went for evening drinks. There was nobody behind the bar and I had to get the receptionist after ten minutes of waiting.
We enjoyed our stay and saw the poor service as pure comedy! We would go to each meal laughing about how bad the service was. However - not such a joke when you look at their prices. On reading their bridal package I read "the staff enjoy being part of your day and looking after you and your guests!" Well I'd love to see this as they really did not want to bother.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millyvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    265
    141
    56
    37
See reviews for
130
458
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
yelliisbetty
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We went to The Park for a quiet get-away from the city for a few days. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly, and the grounds were beautiful.

The hotel was within 20mins drive to Bristol and about 30mins to Bath, but the location of the hotel was really lovely. It was very secluded but within walking distance to the Rose and Crown pub where we had an excellent meal.

The room was very smart and clean, although very small windows made it quite dark. The bathroom was nice too. Breakfast was plentiful and in a beautiful room in the hotel.

Rooms are in a separate buildings to the main building, around a small courtyard which was beautiful.

The only downfall of this hotel was the lack of leisure facilities unless you are a golf fan, and also the rubbish/recycling truck which woke us up at 8am on Friday Morning!

Otherwise a lovely hotel in a beautiful quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yelliisbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed at The Park for 3 nights and 4 rounds of golf with 5 other golfing friends (all ladies from Stratford Oaks Golf club), and have to say we all had a wonderful time. The accommodation is set in a central courtyard and not in the main building as some guests might think, but our rooms were very spacious and comfortable. You will get cobwebs in the rooms, but that's to be expected in a country setting, which I have to say is beautiful.
The restaurant does lack a little atmosphere if you're not with a larger group, but the food and service is excellent and all the staff here are first class. I have to say though, that it's not really the best place to stay if you have a family as there seems to be no facilities for youngsters unless they're into golf!
The golf courses are brilliant. The crown course is the flatter of the two, and you can easily walk this one if you're fit, but our group of ladies had buggies and I would certainly recommend the use of a buggy on this course. A buggy on the Cromwell course is a must, as it's very steep in places, but the views are spectacular! Both courses are in great condition and the staff in the pro shop were very friendly and helpful.
All I can say is, if you're coming here on a golf break you will have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezipip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We booked this hotel for our anniversary. We had a suite room 20. On arrival we very impressed with the manor house and sweeping drive. The hotel rooms are set just to the back of the manor house in lovely stone buildings single and double story in a courtyard style, very different and quaint and all well kept.
The reception area and enterance to the manor house is set close to the rooms. We arrived several hours before check in just to have a look at the hotel, our room was already ready.
The room/suite was a great size with a seperate lounge, large bedroom and large bathroom.The suite had two huge tv'S, tea/coffee, fridge and loads of storage. Most important great air-con. Very clean with good quality furniture. Bed VERY comfy.
Breakfast served in the manor house resturant great buffet offering usual variety, pleasing staff with good service.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Lovely golf course surrounds this peaceful hotel. Loads of free parking.
Had two taxis to and from the centre of Bath, about six miles costing between £13 and £15 each way.
Only problem with this hotel was the noise from the room above ours, likely as old building, which was a shame however this problem was recitified with the hotel.
We would love to stay again.in a different room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

After reading one review nearly cancelled glad we didn't. Very friendly staff, excellent service, food great, lovely room and fantastic golf. Will definitely go back don't be put off by other reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfers051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

1:Location= Not far from Bath. You will need a car. 2:Building= A beautiful building! 3:Welcome= I was welcomed by a very nice german girl. I should have asked her name... 4:Room= Very very nice! 5:Bathroom= Above average! 6:Dinner= This was the highlight of my stay 7: Summary= Iwill definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed for a wedding ...
I can see this place working for an active golfer on an off-season weekend but for me as a disabled guest it was a veritable obstacle course and mostly off limits. Not a single ramp or lift just endless stairs and one disabled toilet in the whole building.
Very interesting historical context to the decor but shabby and disjointed with so much more potential than realisation. The interior seems half finished and reminded me of roped off sections of dusty national trust properties.
Food was above average especially the hearty and honest breakfast buffet although the staff seemed inexperienced they were keen to please.
The rooms can be small ( eg 14 ) or adequate ( 20 or 3 ) - comfortable but ill-lit and the proximity to the gravel pathways would probably have driven me to distraction if I wasn't happily refreshed and in bed at 3am with the window shut. A summer's night would have been different.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orbit500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
4.6 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
12.9 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,549 reviews
4.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
4.1 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel

Property: Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
Address: Tracy Park Cottage Bath Road | Nr Bath, Wick BS30 5RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Georgian mansion surrounded by two championship golf courses. Beautifully restored, classically styled and hugely inviting. The bedrooms, are set within the charming converted stables are decorated in a chic, contemporary style along with free Wifi and flat screen TVs, some even have ipod docks. The award winning Oakwood Restaurant is in a wonderful stone-vaulted Masonic lodge. Make the most of the golf courses or take the 4-mile trip into Bath - a beautiful World Heritage city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tracy Park Hotel And Country Club
Park Hotel Bath
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel Wick, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing