We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce clean accomodation in a lovely part of England” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toghill House Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toghill House Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 Wick B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“NIce clean accomodation in a lovely part of England”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here when walking the Cotswold Way. The accommodation is lovely, breakfast was excellent and the hosts charming and helpful.
Our room was clean and well furnished with a very comfortable bed. The en-suite was nicely equipped with a good powerful shower. The location makes it more suitable for travellers with a car. The surrounding roads are busy and have no pedestrian access, plus if you want to go out in the evening you will need a taxi as the nearest pub/restaurant is some distance away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
22
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prairie City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Toghill House was our first B&B on our long planned trip to the UK. The room was a bit tight, but the ambiance was lovely. Hostess was charming and breakfast was good! We were fighting jet lag and slept like rocks for a full 10 hours. Good location to Avebury and Bath. Had a wonderful supper at the pub down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed for one night and expected good things as it's at the top end of B&B prices. Rooms adequate and clean, but previous occupants food still in kitchenette cupboard. However not even a tiny catering packet of biscuits to have with your tea...bit stingy for nearly £100. Main complaint was the noise. Don't stay here if you want a peaceful nights sleep. It sounded as if the upstairs occupant was coming to join us through the ceiling. I realise it's an old building with limited soundproofing, but don't put people upstairs if you have visitors downstairs. A shame as the owners were friendly and surroundings are beautiful. Pretty gardens too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely area fab surroundings we have a family room which our dog could stay in also!!! room was just right very comfy, wonderful welcome and a good tip for where we could eat that evening !!! would most defo go to stay there again, breakfast hearty and filling all well cooked .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having been walking the Cotswold Way, I turned up at the door absolutely drenched. The owner didn't turn a hair and welcomed me in, taking my shoes to dry on the aga. Although I hadn't booked an evening meal, she also offered to make me a sandwich if I wanted. The breakfast was excellent with good quality bacon and eggs. The major drawback if you are walking to the B&B is the pedestrian access which is non-existent. You are forced to walk in the road as there is no verge at all. On the lane outside when I encountered vans going both ways there wasn't space for me to move to safety and one of the vans had to back up! I would recommend that walkers consider choosing elsewhere for this reason. The owners did offer to drive me back to the Way in the morning but I would have had to wait till breakfast was over so didn't take them up on their offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JClare62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The room was small with little light. Water pressure from shower was a mere trickle. Breakfast was OK but do not order poached eggs (solid yolks) or expect other than instant coffee.
I like animals but not so keen on dogs mooching around for food in the dining room when I am eating.
Noise from family upstairs too kept me away both nights of our stay.

Room Tip: Probably ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishgranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We only wish we would have been there longer to appreciate the surroundings more. It has beautiful views, a fun farm area to walk around, farm animals to see (although petting was a little difficult due to the fear of getting shocked by the electric fence - be careful if you have little ones) and a relaxed atmosphere. We stayed in the family suite and found it very nice and comfortable with a large bed for the adults and a separate room with 2 twin beds for the kids and our own private bathroom. Breakfast was tasty and the host was open to serving at a different time to accommodate schedules. It was pricier than our usual accommodations (friends and hostels) but this was our splurge and it was worth it. I wish we would have booked 2 nights to relax a bit at the farm after exploring Bath. The atmosphere was very homey with dogs running around and people actually working on the farm which some people may find annoying if they are looking for a more tourist focused place, but I found that aspect charming. I would stay there again to remove myself from the hustle and bustle of Bath. However, I imagine it would be hard to access without a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura12332283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
1.0 mi away
Tracy Park Golf & Country Hotel
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
6.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brittons Farm
Brittons Farm
#1 of 1 in Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
6.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toghill House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toghill House Farm

Property: Toghill House Farm
Address: Tog Hill House Farm Freezing Hill, Wick BS30 5RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Wick
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Toghill House Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toghill House Farm Hotel Wick
Toghill House Farm Wick, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing