We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dundeesheila - fantastic time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sponars Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sponars Chalet
1 review
“Dundeesheila - fantastic time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time here and could not fault it. The rooms are a wee bit sad but the friendly team made up for that small criticism. The atmosphere at night is superb - real home from home. Peter, Steve and Andrew are very welcoming and friendly. Dinner menu changed on a daily basis which is a bonus if you are staying for a few nights. I will definitely stay here again. Thanks again for the hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundeesheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We usually stay at Sponars during the shoulder season - it's pretty good value and it's great to be so close to Perisher without having to pay an arm and a leg. There are no TVs in the bedrooms but that just forces you to go mingle in the living room with the other guests and sit by the fire, which is always lovely after a long day on the mountain. Sponars has a really family friendly, cosy atmosphere. It's not fancy or glamorous but it doesn't claim to be - it's clean and tidy and it's comfortable and run professionally, so what more do you need? Breakfast is just what you need to get you started and their dinners are always nice too. We always like staying here and look forward to coming back each year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaoh11596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the end of 2012 ski season in a family room on the 3rd floor.

It was basic, but adequate size for a couple of days. The cleanliness wasn't up to scratch and the small open wardrobe would be inadequate for a longer stay, but the real negative was that we had the impression that the management seldom bother to check the rooms.

The bedside tables and lamps were full of dust and grit and one light didn't work. Yuk, but we can survive that - what was a greater problem for survival was the flow of freezing air from the window, which did not shut properly. It was minus 8 degrees that night. My husband got a bad head cold from it (his head was nearest the window) so that was the end of his enjoyment of the trip. The next night we stuffed towels and the curtain around the window and a towel under the door, which had a large gap at the bottom, to stop the air flow. I was very glad we had not booked for longer.

Management were advised about the maintenance issues on our last day, but somehow I doubt it was fixed in a hurry, as we couldn't possibly have been the first people to complain about it (I have noted another review mentions this chill on the third floor despite the heater at full blast).

We found management rather blase and did not inform us of anything, eg. the fact that there were two sittings for dinner - our kids were starving and ready to go to bed by 7.30pm, the time we were told dinner was served. I was very annoyed to come down at about 7.15pm to find lots of people with kids finishing their meals. The next night we went to the early sitting, but it was very rushed.

The location is good if you have your own vehicle and don't mind paying the Park entry fee ( be early up the mountain, though, or you will miss out on a parking spot).The ski hire would be handy for those who require it.

I would not stay there again, not unless they spruced the place up significantly. For the same price I would rather stay somewhere really nice in Jindabyne and catch the skitube.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny A, Owner at Sponars Chalet, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to respond on 3 issues.
We have a wonderful, live in maintenance man, Will, who would have been more than happy to have fixed your window as soon as you saw the problem with it not shutting. Our cedar casement windows are over 60 years old and the wood swells in wet/snowy weather. We have routine maintenance on them but also rely on guests to tell us if their window won't open or shut.
Secondly, only 2 ticks for value? During the week end that you stayed our room rate for 4 people was (and still is) $280 which includes parking and continental breakfast, that compares very well to any accommodation in the area.
Lastly, we don't have dinner sittings in our off peak season. The dining room is open from 6pm to 7.30 pm, information that is available in the foyer, at reception and on the board in the dining room.
For any lack of cleanliness I do apologise, we try hard with our lovely old lodge but from time to time we do slip up.
Wishing you a happy ski trip this season
Penny Abbott
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent the last week of the snow season at Sponars. There was plenty of snow and not many people. We had a great time and the people at Sponars played a big part in that. They went the extra mile to make sure we were able to enjoy the excellent spring ski conditions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterdeLuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very conveniently located near to snow - no need to leave our car at the ski tube station as you would if you stay at Perisher, but its only a couple of minutes drive to Smiggins. Very friendly helpful staff. Food was good, and appropriate for dinner after a day of skiing. The historic photos and info about the chalet made it all the more interesting. Only downside was the ensuite was very cramped, but we would stay there again because it was good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatswood, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a great weekend at Perisher with 4 friends. We stayed at Sponars and overall everything was fantastic. I especially loved the ski lodge atmosphere in the lounge and the staff were all very friendly. Transport to the lifts was very convenient too.
the only negatives were:
- our room on the first floor had a pipe going through it so everytime our neighbours upstairs used the bathroom it sounded like water gushing through the room
- no wireless or mobile phone reception
- a bar bill was added to our bill on checkout even though we had paid cash for all of our purchases (this was quickly rectified)
- Dinner on Saturday night was very rushed. My companions were hurredly served dessert while I was still on my main course.
- the drying room was a bit smelly

It would have been nice to have some evening entertainment after dinner instead of one of the staff (or guests?) trying to play the piano (and not really doing a very good job).

Accomodation is very basic however the price you pay is in line with what you get.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor so that you don't have the water pipes disturbing you during the night. (b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally37S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Only stayed a few days and had a great time. heaps of good healthy food. friendly staff and a well stocked bar at very reasonable prices with happy hour creating a friendly environment between fellow guests before the evening meal.began .a warm room (27) with comfortable beds allowed us to have a restfull sleep .pete penny and steve gave us good advise on the local terain .coming back again next winter holiday for sure

Room Tip: room 27 has good views from both windows and the bathroom is roomy however the stairs are a struggl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kosciuszko National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Man from Snowy River Hotel
#4 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
9.3 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marritz Hotel
Marritz Hotel
#6 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundeck Hotel
Sundeck Hotel
#5 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sponars Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sponars Chalet

Property: Sponars Chalet
Address: Kosciuszko Road | Diggers Creek, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Kosciuszko National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sponars Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sponars Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing