We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Lahad Datu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Tisha and Simon are the most generous and thoughtful hosts. My husband and I had 1 night's stay in their home prior to heading off on a three day cycling tour. After settling into our very comfortable and very clean bedroom and bathroom we were completely won over by an amazing evening meal. Every element was exceptional (I am begging for recipes) and definitely the best dining experience in our entire 10 day Sabah trip. We had the most delicious curries and condiments finished off with a beautiful fruit based dessert. We were both ready at this stage to quit the cycling tour and just stay for 3 days with Tisha and Simon eating gourmet meals.
We loved our stay in their home and were made to feel very comfortable. By the end of our holiday we felt like old friends. We had access to everything we needed and were extremely well prepared with their Bike and Tours cycling trip to Danum Valley (see Attraction review - Lahad Datu) including all the equipment we would need for our adventure. Icing on the cake was our brilliant breakfast the next morning - perfect carb loading to help us get through our 30km ride! This would have to be absolutely the best homestay experience we have ever had in any country.
Why stay at a hotel when you can enjoy true local Malaysian hospitality? Highly recommended for your tour and accommodation needs in Lahad Datu and Sabah in general.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebetika7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Bike & Tours for two nights on the way to and from Danum Valley Field Centre and from the moment Tisha picked us up at the bus station, we knew we were in good hands. Tisha was such an open, friendly and generous host: she gave us great tips on Danum Valley, lent us leech socks and water-proof gear, washed our clothes and helped organise our onward transport to Semporna. She went out of her way to make each of us feel at home -- everything from sourcing a haircut to trips into town for odds and ends -- nothing was too much trouble. And then there is Tisha's cooking and attention to detail: the sumptuous dinner of mackerel marinated in star anise, fresh turmeric and ginger flowers served with curries -- omg. Staying at Tisha's was a truly memorable travel encounter in such an unlikely place! My husband's only regret was he didn't get to do one of their bike tours. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vagabonds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I came across "Bike and Tours" on Trip Advisor while looking for a place for 1 night before heading to Danum Valley. One quick email, followed by a Skype conversation with Simon and Tisha and things started working out perfectly. We secured our night stay (not very big but comfortable rooms, looking much better then on photos on tripadvisor!, wifi, air con, shared bathroom) and even more. We had an extremely lovely diner and equivalently great breakfast! They helped us as well with booking with Danum Valley Field Center. And as it was Sunday and there was no DVFC transport available, we got it arranged with Simon who drove us there and showed us a beautiful lake on the way to the DVFC. After the Danum Valley, we visited as well a Palm Oil plantation - a thing to see once in life and understand how the things are done! and as most of Malaysia and quite some part of Sabah, are concerned by palm plantations, it's an important factor to understand the local economics. Last but not least, Tisha and Simon are great hosts and organizers! I hope to have an opportunity to return to Borneo and discover more with them!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank wewura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was attracted by "Bike" and Tours, and then decided to head to Lahad Datu for my vacation few weeks ago. Tisha & Simon provided me many helpful information via email. I always had the rich and healthy breakfast before out every morning. Thank Tisha for supplying water unlimited every day. It was really important for me to suppliement water any time in summer time. It was a good start to know LDU when Tisha took me to downtown on the first night of arrival. Thank Simon for preparing the suitable MTB as my partner. I knew some good people and had a great time in LDU even though I did not go to Danum Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leechesports-Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been one of those people that shamefully use tripadvisor but never write reviews. Bike and Tours have prompted me to change my ways - accommodation this good should be talked about!

My husband and I stayed for 2 x 1 night stays around our trip to the Danum Valley based solely on tripadvisor reviews, and we were so pleased to have done so. Tisha and Simon run a seamless operation, from advice on getting to Lahad Datu overland from Sipadan before we left the UK (note none of the Sipadan hotels seemed able to do this), to picking us up from the bus station, from providing comfortable and uber-clean accommodation to feeding us some of the best food we had in Borneo (no-one other than these guys could have persuaded me to eat durian, and they managed it...). I don't think I've ever experienced such good service anywhere, and they work really hard not just on their own tours, but also on knowing and understanding what's available externally, meaning their recommendations on where to go and what else to do in the area are well researched and very reliable.

The only slight downside for us was not having enough time to do one of their tours, if we go back, we'd certainly spend more time in Lahad Datu. Tisha and Simon have the ability to put this little town on the map - whatever the guidebooks say!

Thanks guys for everything and we wish you every success.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PK_UK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent a lovely night at Tisha and Simon's place before cycling off to Danum Valley. Tisha is a fantastic cook and the couple are extremely friendly and fun to hang out with. Our room was very comfy, spacious and cool.

We wished we could have spent more time with them and couldn't recommend Bike and Tours Rents Rooms more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HM251286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in Lahad Datu for at couple of days, before going to Danum Valley september 2013. We were told that there wasn't much to see in Lahad Datu and therefore there aren't many accommodations recommended, beside the budget accommodations. Luckily we found Bike and Tours. Simon and Tisha are very nice people and they really takes good care of their guests! We stayed all together three nights, and we really enjoyed it! The food was amazing! The room is basic, but very cozy and we had some very good nights of sleep there!
We planned to go on one of their daytrips, but unfortunatly we didn't go because of illness, but the daytrip would have been perfekt for us, who just had to spend some time i Lahad Datu before going to Danum Valley. We however got to see the different markets in the city, which was a great experience, and Simon and Tisha were our guides.
We really enjoyed our stay at Simon and Tishas place, and we would definitely recommend it to others, who is passing by Lahad Datu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBehrendtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahad Datu hotels
1.6 mi away
My Inn Hotel Lahad Datu
My Inn Hotel Lahad Datu
#1 of 4 in Lahad Datu
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
MB Hotel Lahad Datu
MB Hotel Lahad Datu
#2 of 4 in Lahad Datu
5 reviews
16.6 mi away
Tabin Wildlife Resort
Tabin Wildlife Resort
#1 of 8 in Lahad Datu
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tabin Lodge
Tabin Lodge
#2 of 9 in Lahad Datu
2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silam Dynasty Hotel
Silam Dynasty Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lahad Datu
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
House 11 - Borneo Home
House 11 - Borneo Home
#3 of 8 in Lahad Datu
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lot 62 Taman Happ Heng | Jalan Segama, Lahad Datu 91100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Lahad Datu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lahad Datu
Price Range: $36 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Besides conducting outdoor tours and crafting your travel itinerary in Sabah, Bike and Tours creates the convenience for its guests to stay at their home whilst in Lahad Datu (the gateway to National Parks such as Danum Valley, Tabin, Kinabatangan and Islands in Semporna). If you are looking for clean and cozy place to stay, Bike and Tours offers our rooms at affordable prices. We have taken the time to decorate and set up necessary items in the rooms and our home itself to make your stay a comfortable stay here. The five comfortable rooms - 3 double rooms, 1 single room and 1 family room is fully furnished with air conditioner and equipped with love just waiting for you to stay. Fresh linen and towels are of course provided. We offer complimentary delicious hearty breakfast and free flow of selected coffee and tea. In addition to that we make it convenient for you by providing complimentary airport pick up or pick up from the bus station Lahad Datu. Laundry service is provided at an extra charge. We could prepare local dinner during your stay with us at additional charge. Our aim is to deliver quality in both the food we serve and ambience. Please let us know upon your booking if you wish for us to prepare dinner during your stay. Book early to avoid dissapointments. Please note that our place is not in town. Which means it is away from the hustle and bustle of the city. However, It takes about 15 to 20 minutes walk to town or we can arrange to call for a taxi service. We are close to the airport and national park main offices such as Danum Valley and Tabin. We take pride at entertaining our guests and in line with our main tour business we would be happy to provide travel advice on Sabah during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing