We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
$41
$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ocean(Lahad Datu)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$523
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sipadan Inn(Semporna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Sipadan Inn 2(Semporna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
220
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bdanum valleyone nightplace to stayshared bathroomfantastic hostswelcome drinkstayed longerhome cookedlocal foodporridgehome madebarbecue dinnerlook no furtherrefreshing poolbeautiful gardenmabul island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 226 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in Lahad Datu for at couple of days, before going to Danum Valley september 2013. We were told that there wasn't much to see in Lahad Datu and therefore there aren't many accommodations recommended, beside the budget accommodations. Luckily we found Bike and Tours. Simon and Tisha are very nice people and they really takes good care of their guests! We stayed all together three nights, and we really enjoyed it! The food was amazing! The room is basic, but very cozy and we had some very good nights of sleep there!
We planned to go on one of their daytrips, but unfortunatly we didn't go because of illness, but the daytrip would have been perfekt for us, who just had to spend some time i Lahad Datu before going to Danum Valley. We however got to see the different markets in the city, which was a great experience, and Simon and Tisha were our guides.
We really enjoyed our stay at Simon and Tishas place, and we would definitely recommend it to others, who is passing by Lahad Datu.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBehrendtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

How could I describe my stay at Tisha and Simon guesthouse? In a nutshell, simply perfect, Honestly, before arriving at Lahad Datu and after having read about the town, was not expecting anything more than a quick one-night before heading to Tabin Reserve. Well, life always keeps some surprises and ex-post I definitively consider Simon and Tisha's guesthouse as one of the best accomednations I stayed in during my trip 4-week long trip to Sarawak and Sabah. Then, if I look at the price we paid, it's probably the best.

Everything is perfect. The guesthousee is located is a residential and quiet area of Lahad Datu, about 15 min walking from the city center. The room and the bathroom are spacious, wide, and tidy, off course the room is equipped with air-con.

But, i believe the real assets of the guesthouse are Simon and Tisha and the way the deal with their guests. They really made feel us like at home. Simon is very kind and professional, he provides valuable information about the town and the surroundings. We had a very nice conversation with him about living in Sabah.

Well, then Tisha's cooking skills deserve the gold medal. I would even recommend to visit this place only to taste Tisha's food. We had a wonderful barbecue dinner, which by the way was prepared at short-notice, as we had booked a "local" dinner and the we asked them if could try their barbecue (...and off course Tisha was so nice to say yes...). The dinner was simply amazing and at some point I literally had to ask Simon to stop cooking as it was too much for us...and I still regret we didn't taste that chicken that was asking only to be roasted...

At the end I only regret we stayed there only one night and we didn't have the chance the discover Lahad Datu's surroundings, that according to Simon are wild, nice and still largely untouched.

What else can I say? I can only recommend this place with a 5-star rating! Good luck to Tisha and Simon for their business and life together!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Salvo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tisha and Simon, who own and operate the guesthouse, are so hospitable and make you feel like old friends from the minute you arrive.

We were treated to welcome drinks and nibbles in their garden on arrival, which were delicious. This was a little insight into what was to come later for dinner... The 'Local Dinner' (which was a huge spread of various Malay/Indian curries and accompanying dishes) was by far the best meal we had in nearly three weeks in Borneo, even when compared to some high end places such as Gaya Island Resort and Borneo Rainforest Lodge. The quality of the food and the presentation were incredible and would exceed your expectations if you had been told that this was the best restaurant in town - we could go on and on about how good it was but it would not do it justice! Breakfast was another feast and again was delicious.

Although you will want to spend most of the evening in the garden, the room itself was lovely - very clean and spacious and extremely homely.

Lastly, we would like to thank Tisha and Simon for looking after us and taking the time to get to know us even though we were only staying for one night as a stopover before heading to Danum Valley. We left wishing that we had booked to stay longer and to travel with them on one of their tours around Sabah, which looked fantastic. We cannot recommend Bike and Tours Rooms enough to anyone visiting Lahad Datu.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you need a rest day, a haven, amazing food, I mean AMAZING FOOD, clean, comfortable friendly, and all of the other positive words you can think of, then you need to visit with Tisha and Simon. If you are travelling from Sandakan/Kinabantagan to Semporna, don't do it in one go, stop in Lahad Datau, they will pick you up from the bus, and treat you like royalty. Then continue your journey refreshed and loved!

If you're headed to Danum Valley, again, don't rush to get there. Pace yourself and stay the night in Lahad Datau. No, there's not much to do in this town, but who needs it when you have an AC room, great internet, and did I mention the most amazing food ever. Seriously I felt like royalty.

Actually there is TOO MUCH FOOD!

Tisha is a master of Malay and Indian food and Simon was a chef in a former life. Not only did I have beautifully prepared and presented local food crafted piece by piece by Tisha, I had what would have to be the best pasta in years, made by Simon, and topped off with hand picked basil from their lovely plant-filled courtyard.

Of course if you have your riding legs ready to go, then this would have to be the best (and probably) only place to do a cycle trek tour in these parts. I am a daily bike rider but didn't feel fit enough to do the tour, but I am planning to come back, with friends, and fitness, so I can do the tour.

I am also going to talk Tisha into running a private cooking lesson for me.

I really really really really suggest you make a point of staying at this place. A gem of a find.

The people I met there, (I am now on Mabul Island with them), and I haven't stopped talking about how amazing the (quite terrible) backpackers we are staying at now on Mabul would be if Tisha and Simon were running it. I think we will need to do some lobbying for them to open a resort - anyone want to crowd fund it with me!!

Meegan

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodbyeblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My stay at Bike and Tours was fantastic. If a couple dozen 5 star reviews don't convince you to stay here, here's another.

Simon and Tisha are great hosts. They picked me up from my incoming transit and dropped me off at the bus the next day. They will literally cater to your every need... they made me a delicious lunch upon arrival and an incredible dinner. They are very very good cooks. The evening of my single night there I spent a while talking with Simon over some drinks. Really a great place. Having stayed at a couple locations in Lahad Datu, I can safely say this is by far the best.

Room Tip: They only have two rooms but according to them they will make additional arrangements if families want to stay so be sure to inquire regardless even if you have a larger group.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews