We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good service, but lousy catering ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Leon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahad Datu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Leon
Ranked #5 of 9 Lahad Datu B&B and Inns
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good service, but lousy catering ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

As what's subject title mentioned, this is among the best hotel in lahad datu. Located in centre of lahad datu old town, walking distance to shopping mall,ahotlot and banks.
Room is clean, tidy, spacious, modern, water heater is hot.
Staffs very polite and good service.

Only drawback, the kitchen. Breakfast included, but U will have nothing to eat if come for breakfast later than 8am. You maybe lucky if u still can see some mee/fried rice. Never ever feel satisfied for their food and kitchen.

If you wish to have a clean and comfortable room to sleep and rest but not really care about the food.
This is the best hotel in lahad datu.

3 stars for everything, except food & kitchen.


Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kevinfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    15
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

They offers:
1-Spacious Room,
2-High Speed In-room Internet Connection,
3-Very Cozy Atmosphere,
4-Walking distance to 'Old' City Centre and Eating Places (after 6pm).

They do not offer:
1-Fitness Centre/Gym,

Tips:
'Old' Lahad Datu more quiet as compare to 'new' Lahad Datu (Seri Perdana). However, if your visit is for business, journey from seri perdana to city centre (4km) during rush hours, will cost you 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Avoid room facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maswali1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Staying overnight for the first time in Lahad Datu, I had no idea of the type of hotel available here. I was recommended to try this hotel. I did not expect much but hope that the room is comfortable and clean. Checking in was a breeze. There was a problem of the door key which failed to open the door. After reporting the problem to the counter, I was given a key to open the door manually since the electronic key failed to function. Keeping the lights on was also a problem as the card slot could not switch on the lights properly. As a result I had to resort to plugging the card slot with other items to keep the electricity connected. The room is okay and the bed comfortable. The tv shows a few channels with blur images. Room facilities are okay except for the stained cup which was not properly washed. It is located near a new shopping complex, restaurants and banks. It is only a few minutes away from the airport. Breakfast is very basic. For a three-star hotel, more is expected from the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Hotel have a great view of the sea.
The room is spacious, clean & comfy. Interior- from lobby to the room is simple rich modern design. Worth the stay as they provide a very comfy bed. After long hours on the road and you are lazy to walk far for dinner, there is a great restaurant located behind the hotel. Less then 2 min walk. The hotel is really convenient as it is located beside the town but it is quiet. You could sleep soundly as possible with no interruptions.

Downside-need to improve on the water floor trap for the toilet. While you are taking your shower, you are creating a pool of water at your feet.
-mini fridge does nt keep things cold after hours of leaving it inside. Instead we put it on the table to allow the air conditioning to keep it cool.

Room Tip: Convenient to town and 2 min to great seafood restaurant for muslim and non muslim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kickaflink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is a converted shop lot type. Only 2 floors. The room is consider clean but you might not get a good sleep. Those room that facing main road will get the noisy motorbike sound at night. Some times there are a group of people hanging around the main road to have a party with huge car speakers volume and rock music playing. If you happen to get those room at the end of the hotel which face the restaurants, I am pretty sure you will not get your sleep. The breakfast food is super lousy and not much variety.

However there are some good points of this hotel. It's just a walking distance to restaurants where you can have various type of food. Convenient store is also at a walking distance.

Room Tip: If you travel for business only, make sure you choose those rooms that face the sea or in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeTravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lahad Datu hotels

UAE
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Learn some of the local dialect if you wish to converse with the receptionist . Bring your own food and water and wine (your going to need at least 2 out of the 3 )
The chefs done a runner today , luckily enough we found a supermarket close by you can buy water and tinned peaches and coke ( no fruit) that should suffice for breakfast .
Our reservation that was emailed twice and we spoke to the hotel direct had still been messed up , resulting in the wrong room type being offered .
We could not stay in the hot fusty smelling executive suite.
The manager was very obliging / sweet and offered an upgrade to one of the 2 main suites . If you really have to stay in this town then this suite is good . On route to the Borneo rainforest lodge , would suggest to anyone doing the same , stay in KK and take the early morning flight .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne_In_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Perhaps it was staying in the month leading up to Hari Raya: at another timke they may be better organised. But anyway, the hotel is located in the centre of the town, a newish 2-storey building with a half built row of shops on one side (i.e. a building site) and a car park on the other. More about the car park in a minute. Catering issues included no room service (at all). Be warned that the coffee shop closes at 8pm; the breakfast buffet is fairly dismal but in any case cold by 8am (heaters etc get turned off - even the tea is cold). Best to walk out and eat at the nearby seafood restaurants or hawker stalls.

Whilst the suite was spacious, the hotel wouldn't entertain any discount on the rack rate of RM388, which makes it expensive for Malaysia: with a corporate rate you could stay at a 5 star in KL for that price. Poor designs included a very gloomy bathroom with no power points. Very low, almost almost non existent hot water pressure: you may have to settle for a cold shower. The bed room aircon barely worked at the lowest temperature and highest fan setting. Just the thought of the difficult conversation with reception to explain the problem put me off calling: it was way easier to leave the bedroom door open to the lounge (where the air con did work). Bedroom TV didn't work at all and just two international channels available on the main room TV. Poor fuzzy reception on the three domestic channels provided. I'd recommend bringing a book, especially as the Maxis 3G roaming was actually faster than the complimentary wifi.

Have to say I wasn't impressed getting back to the room on the 2nd day to find that housekeeping had forgotten to make up the room. I know it can happen on occasion at any hotel, but considering the place seemed almost empty, it was a tad surprising. The hotel provides three free sachets of coffee: after that you pay. No mini bar, but there was a fridge (empty of course) and four free bottles of water were provided.

Outside at night was noisy until about midnight/1am. The local boy racers bring their cars to the back of the car park and compete to see who has the noisiest engine and/or biggest and loudest car stereo speakers. I think the winner was the guy with the souped up Mitsubishi Lancer. You may know the type: oversized tyres, go faster stripes, almost black windows that would do justice to a certain type of karaoke bar and rear spoilers to make sure the 1.3 litre engine doesn't cause the car to lift off. If loud, howling Malay rock music into the early hours is your thing, a room overlooking the car park will be perfect.

There's probably more, but I recommend reading my 'good room tips' below.

Room Tip: If your in business for Lahad Datu for a just a day, stay in KK and catch the early morning MAS Wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostnfnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahad Datu hotels
2.3 mi away
My Inn Hotel Lahad Datu
My Inn Hotel Lahad Datu
#1 of 4 in Lahad Datu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kingston Hotel
#3 of 4 in Lahad Datu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bike and Tours Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silam Dynasty Hotel
Silam Dynasty Hotel
#6 of 9 in Lahad Datu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
16.6 mi away
Tabin Wildlife Resort
Tabin Wildlife Resort
#1 of 7 in Lahad Datu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
MB Hotel Lahad Datu
MB Hotel Lahad Datu
#2 of 4 in Lahad Datu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Leon

Property: Hotel de Leon
Address: Lot 1-6 Block L | MDLD 6893-6898, Darvel Bay Commercial Centre, Kawasan Bandar, Kg. Panji,, Lahad Datu 91100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Lahad Datu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lahad Datu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing