We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tabin Wildlife Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Ocean(Lahad Datu)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Kingston Hotel(Lahad Datu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sipadan Inn(Semporna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Seafest Hotel(Semporna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
63
51
27
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
51
27
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmud volcanoleopard catsthe riverhill lodgewellington bootsstayed nightsrubber bootsfoot soakgreat guidethe reservehour driveflying squirrellovely lodgemeal timesdifferent speciesprivate guidetea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 157 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We actually liked this more than the more commercial establishment in Danum Valley. We certainly saw more wildlife here, and we either seemed to go out with just our guide or our guide another couple, and their guide. Whether this would be so in high season I do not know. Great guiding during morning walks and night time safari's meant we saw the two things we wanted to see most namely flying squirrels and Leopard Cat. We stayed 2 nights which wasn't enough. Comfy rooms with air con. Food fine. Don't expect luxury and you will be pleasantly surprised. Only downside was the very bumpy journey for an hour and a half to get there.

Room Tip: Suggest going for the river rooms if you do not like climbing stairs. There are lots of them going to the hillside rooms and they are quite steep.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MittensMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Whilst we didn't expect much since our travel agent told us it was "simple" we also didn't think it would be anywhere near as bad as it was. It consists of a dozen rudimentary cabins along the muddy riverfront all with twin beds. If you want a double you push them together but still have separate mattresses and sheets. For some inexplicable reason the double bed cabins are up on the hill away from the river. The whole place is just tired and run down and desperately in need of serious updating. The bathroom is the worst part - we could only get barely tepid water in the shower, the sink had numerous cracks, there are no amenities at all just one single liquid soap dispenser between the shower and sink and threadbare towels. Oh yes and there are ants everywhere. The cabins have a tin roof so that when it rains, which it does constantly and torrentially, it sounds like someone beating a drum over your head. Good luck for sleeping.
But by far the worst were the meals which were easily the worst food we have ever had in all our travels in terms of selection and quality with the sole exemption of the afternoon tea when the fried bananas and cookies were great. To add insult to injury the SUV they used to take us on the four hour drive to the airport at Tawau did not have working air conditioning so even the driver was sweating. In fact on one of our game drives the SUV broke down also. To be fair the staff were doing the best they could given the rotten stuff they have to work with. Normally we would not be so critical if the wildlife viewing was really good but even this was quite poor so take my advice and go to Abai Jungle Lodge for the wildlife and Borneo Rainforest Lodge for wildlife and luxury.

Room Tip: There aren't any.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Despite the bumpy road into the park you never really feel that far from civilization here as you are right next to an oil palm plantation and there are a few buildings scattered around. Despite this we did see lots of birds, snakes, flying squirrels, gibbons, silver leaf monkeys, wild pigs, monkeys, otters leopard cats, civets etc. The guides were excellent and had amazing eye sight. However despite the activities being excellent the accommodation was pretty poor standard. The rooms need to be refurbished, lack light (natural or artificial) and need a very deep clean (the blinds in particular were filthy)!!! However the worst part was the food which was awful. There was a distinct lack of choice and the quality was very poor indeed. The Kingabatagan river is far far better in terms of experience and hotel quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FBrown1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After a bumpy road, arrived at the TWR. What a place! We were secretly hoping for a river lodge, but we got hill lodge n. 6, that meant 143 stairs up. The view from the room is exquisite, at this point the river lodge was forgotten. Rooms are clean, shower is basic, but it works.
Food was not superb, but we were never hungry.
The walks, trips with the jeep were much fun, and we saw quite some animals. This was definitely a stay to remember. It was like our own little paradise in the jungle.
The white crowned hornbills were a treat, sitting so close to our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1xTravelTheWorldx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I did the 3 day 2 night trip to Tabin, i had a nice time but it's very over priced for what you get. The lodge set up is lovely, nice location, and my room was really nice set up in the jungle with great views. The trip is expensive and therefore I'd expect them to fill my time when there. I arrived by 10am but my first activity wasn't until 3pm despite advertising that if you check in before 11am there is a guided activity! Whilst it's lovely to hang around the lodge I'd prefer a guided event, especially when paying that much money. On the first day we walked to the mud volcano and it was really disappointing, we hardly saw anything, I appreciate it's not a zoo and you can't guarantee what we do see but it was disappointing. That night my night drive was cancelled due to the rain, that I accept but there was no offer to take me out the following night instead, so I missed out on one activity. The following day was more active and successful but again there was a time when after a drive I was given the option to take myself off for a small walk but the guide didn't accompany me so I didn't spot anything. I found the people really friendly and nice food and service but they do need to lower their prices and improve the itinerary. A the current price and itinerary I personally feel there are better options out there.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews