We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need to know about the Adonis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Equemauville
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is despite many comments a great hotel and I would recommend it and go back again, although you should be aware of the following:

Cleanliness:
To us the room was not very clean and we spent a good hour cleaning with bleach and anti-bac. Luckily we read the reviews and were prepared. My thoughts are its a cheap place and we can afford an hour to clean up. The rooms are modern but cleanliness attention to detail is not quite there if you are picky like us. There was a very bad smell when we got in the room. The cleaner had left a dirty bucket and brushes in the wardrobe which we chucked out and then fumigated.

Location:
Great but it is about 1 mile from Honfleur. Close to a great supermarket and brilliant bread shop. No bars or pubs near until you get to Honfleur. The hotel has no alcohol.
Honfleur is superb, picture perfect and some nice places to eat but if you dont speak any French you could struggle a bit as the menus are in French and the French here are not always keen to speak English. Prices for food are average and the supermarket is cheap. Don't expect clubs and lively bars but a pleasant evening. Everything seems to close up between 9-12pm. There are only 3 taxis in the entire of the Honfleur area and are not cheap. Deauville is a must visit too, about 8-10 km's away and has lots of swimming pools and a superb beach. There are Casino's here, we did not stay late but I guess there probably is some later night entertainment.

Staff:
Reception staff are very polite and helpful, can't fault them except she would not accept I paid extra for an apartment.

Breakfast:
Didn't try it as we had a kitchenette and we bought some good food in from the supermarket.

Room:
Small, Ikea modern, great shower with a bath. Nice but very small patio area. No kettle but a coffee machine. No cutlery, two bowls but no plates, no mugs or glasses, one frying pan and one medium pan. Fridge works very well. The bed is super comfortable and is made of memory foam. We took our own bedding and pillows and were glad.

Pool:
Clean and nice, hardly any sunbeds though. Supposedly heated to 21C but felt colder.

Parking:
Plenty and free at the hotel. All pay and park in Honfleur (if you can find a space) and all pay parking at Deauville too.

Conclusion:
Very much worth every penny at what we paid and a great area too. Its a shame there is a lack of attention to detail in the rooms but we would visit again.

Room Tip: Ask not to be next to the road although it is not noisy the other side is more picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Responsablemarneur, Assistante de direction at Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for your long e mail regarding our establishment to explain everithing about the residence and the surroundings!

I am happy to see that you think that our hotel is "a great hotel" and that you "would recommend us and come back again"

Regarding your remarks:

- I am awfully sorry that you found a room not really cleaned when you came. You say that we are a "cheap place" but the cleanlness must be everywhere, then I am sorry that your room was not at your convenience. Did you come to the reception to say that? If we knew that we could come back again to check with you what you did not like and arrange what was wrong with you. Next time do not be affraid to come to see us we will do our best to satisfy you.

- For the location, we are not far from Honfleur because at 5 minutes by car and you can go to the supermarket in the counstyside which is at 15 minuts by foot or 2 minuts by car
That's true that the shops are closing quiet early unfortunatly but to go out you can go easily to Honfleur or Deauville that you liked a lot. It is very nice places to go and not far from the residence. About the casino, you have to know that I made a partnership with Deauville and Trouville then when you are coming we are offering you tickets to have free drinks there! Do not forget to come back to see us!

- Thank you for the staff, we will be very happy to welcome you again....

- Breakfast, you should try next time :) The french pastries are very nice, one of the best in the region!

- For the rooms they are very spacious then it is very nice to come in couple or family. We have all the sizes for all your needs!

- For the pool I look personnaly every day if it does not miss anything that's why we are keeping it still cleaned. It is very important and nice to have a swimming pool with everybody in it, to hear the children play in it!

- The parking is free, there is one car park per room


I would see you again with a great pleasure.

Do not hesitate to call us to make a reservation

Have a great day,

Yours faithfully,

Céline Marneur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 415 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised to come across the Hauts de Honfleur (eventually - God knows why they don't put a sign on the road!). Having spent the rest of our tour of Normandy/Brittany confined to hotel rooms, we found the accomodation spacious and practical and really enjoyed the flexibility of having the kitchen facilities and outside space to eat. I would imagine the grassed area would also be appreciated by families with children. It is what it is, nothing fancy probably the equivalent of a Travel Lodge, but the price reflects this. We found it clean, comfortable, quiet and very convenient for visiting Honfleur and nearby towns. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crabby061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Responsablemarneur, Assistante de direction at Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for your pleasant E mail.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your staying with us and that you appreciate our spacious rooms and kitchens which are full equiped.

Now you can come back because we have signs on the road!! :)

As you saw when you came every rooms have balcony or terrasse which are very nice. Then, if you want to eat outside or just enjoy to take the sun you can...

Our apartments are for couples and families because we have at your disposal 143 apartments where you can have a stay from two to six persons...

I would be very happy if you could stay again in our residence.

I stay at your disposal if you want to make a reservation.

Yours faithfully,

Céline Marneur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Arrived in pouring rain and desperate to get the kids bathed and into bed. The reception is a bit of a walk from the apartments so left the car running (for warmth) and went in. 35 minutes later, I had the room keys (my parents were with us). There was no queue, it just seems incredible to them, that despite having my reservation, that I may actually require a room after all. (perhaps they thought I was not turning up). Nothing nearby, 1 restaurant, hairdresser. A fair distance from Honfleur (despite the misleading name!)

When arrived at room, no sheets on beds. We make the beds ourselves. Actually no cot (as requested via the booking) and had to trundle back in the rain to get one.

The large glass shower door was unattached to the bath / shower and was propped up in the bathroom and my son ran into it (aged 3) nearly decapitating himself in the process. Luckily, it did not break. I mentioned to reception who didn't offer another room but asked me to lift it to the receptionists car. I did so and it did not fit, so we left it in the toilet overnight and made sure the kids didn't go in there unattended.

Took me 40 minutes to check out.

We had a lovely trip to France. This was the only downside. I am easily pleased. And this place didn't please me or my family. Go to to the Etap down the road towards honfleur.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickeyd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed here for two nights with two children aged 7 & 11, we booked a two room apartment, when we checked in we were sent to the wrong building, the hotel is still a building site with the residue mud and dust covering all the communal areas, paths and stairways, dotted around the car park were maids trolleys and cleaning equipment left overnight, a builders safety hat was lying amongst the roughly cut grass and builders waste. The room we got looked as though it had not been used before so was very clean inside, the bed linen was folded and left for us to make up the beds ourselves, not great after a long journey! The lounge/ kitchen room was small and over furnished, there was no hanging space/wardrobe for clothes, the sofa bed was inadequate for two children let alone two adults, very low quality and uncomfortable, the main bed was OK comfort wise but not enough pillows one small pillow each for 4 people and no way of getting any more , TV had very limited range of channels despite advertised as Satellite TV, no telephone in room in case of emergency, the room was not cleaned in the mornings and therefore toilet tissue, soap, etc was not replenished, at night after 9pm there is no staff present on the site despite there being a large number of rooms occupied, if there was a problem/emergency it was not clear what might happen, the location is OK a few minutes drive from Honfleur, we have stayed at similar apartment hotels and they have been great, and always suitable for families but this was awful!!

Room Tip: The best tip would be to find another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundae10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This hotel rather difficult to find is great value for your money. It is fairly new so there is no sign posted and was difficult to find. Large room with all the conveniences and bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for three nights while touring the Normandy/Calvados area. The modern complex offered a selection of rooms and apartments (double room, studio, one bedroom apartment etc). We booked a two room apartment for four which was the only way to have a double bed in the bedroom and a separate sofa bed in the living area - the sofa bed was extremely easy to fold away during the day without having to remove the bedding. There was a well-equipped kitchenette area in the living with a fridge, a two-ring ceramic hob and microwave and had sufficient utensils, crockery and cutlery. The apartment was clean, modern, warm and sound-proofed but it should be noted it was unserviced - this was not clearly indicated when we booked. For example, although bed linen and towels were provided, the beds were unmade upon arrival, towels were not changed and no additional toilet paper provided during the stay (when we asked for additional rolls we were informed we were to purchase it ourselves). There was free parking outside each apartment. Wifi was available in the reception area only, not in the hotel rooms. Breakfast could be ordered in a room off reception for 7.50 euros per person - it looked satisfactory but we did not have it. There was also an outdoor swimming pool for the summer period.

The complex was not clearly indicated and could be difficult to find. There were various shops (bakers, small supermarket) in the area and it was a short drive to Honfleur which had a good variety of restaurants, cafes and shops. The complex was in an excellent location for touring this beautiful part of France.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

i would recommend these apartments if you want quite basic good value accomodation, they are very well fitted, with a really good kitcehn with everything you could want and a nice tv, we also had a balcony with a nice view and a big comfy bed. the shower was good too!
there isnt much to do in the village, but there is a big supermarket and a really good tradtional french restaurant opposite the supermarket, and honfluer is a short drive or a quite long walk away. honfleur is really pretty and has some great bars and really good restaurants.
the staff are friendly but the whole place felt a bit empty i imagine it would have a really good atmosphere in summer when the pool is open. I wouldnt go back because i feel i have seen everything i want to in that area, but i would recommend it for a place to stay if you are in the area

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Equemauville
2.7 mi away
La Closerie Honfleur
La Closerie Honfleur
#20 of 33 in Honfleur
384 reviews
3.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Honfleur
B&B Hotel Honfleur
#1 of 2 in La Riviere-Saint-Sauveur
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Honfleur
Ibis Honfleur
#7 of 33 in Honfleur
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Honfleur
Ibis Budget Honfleur
#14 of 33 in Honfleur
992 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Clos Deauville Saint Gatien
Le Clos Deauville Saint Gatien
#1 of 1 in Saint-Gatien-des-Bois
302 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Le Cheval Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur

Address: RD 579 | Avenue le Jumel, 14600 Equemauville, Honfleur, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Honfleur > Equemauville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Equemauville
Price Range: $56 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adonis Les Hauts de Honfleur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Les Hauts De Honfleur Equemauville, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing