We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Last Word Long Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Last Word Long Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

We picked to stay at the Long Beach on our return trip to South Africa, after staying at one of its sister hotels The Frannshoek in 2009.

Boy were we taken in by the Long Beach.............I could have happily spent my whole holiday there and it was a real wrench to move on!

From the moment we arrived we felt at home, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We were welcomed with a chilled bottle of Tanzanite Brut and a wonderful chocolate pudding, very apt considering we were looking to buy a Tanzanite Ring for my 40th Birthday!

The food was oustanding at breakfast there was plenty of choice and all cooked freshly to order. I think I would find it hard to find a better place to each breakfast , looking out across the sea towards Table Mountain and Chapmans Peak what more could you ask for. We also did eat in one night, which was intimate and cosy, and after a wonderful meal we went downstairs to our room only to find two more little puddings!

We had some great recommendations from Hayley for eating out, Rioja was fantastic and they made my pudding really personalised, along with the Food Barn which is great for foodies!

We also took the opportunity to do the Horse Riding across Noordhoek beach which was incredible..............

Hayley, Jenny, Zet, Joan and the rest of the staff were truly oustanding, and nothing was too much trouble. They even gave me a little present as we were leaving to remember them by, which proudly hangs in my bathroom.

Well done the Team, tell Joan she does not need to save her pennies so we can return.........we have already decided we are returning........its just a matter of when!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel53472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
150
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed at the Long Beach for 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday, and couldn't have chosen a more tranquil place to relax. We were welcomed with a cold drink on the terrace which overlooks the silver sand dunes of Kommetjie Bay, propped up by Table Mountain in the background, then shown to our room. The beautiful open-plan suite was spacious and airy, tastefully decorated in mellow colours that complimented the natural landscape, and the olive & honey cosmetics provided in the ample bathroom were lovely to use.

The staff we met (Haylee, Jennifer and Zel) could not have been more accommodating. They were attentive, friendly and very helpful with suggestions, routes and information about the Cape Peninsula. We chose to have breakfast (a leisurely affair) on the terrace watching seabirds and listening to the surf, but could have eaten in the laid-back dining room or been served in our suite. Wherever you take it, breakfast is well worth getting up for!

Although the hotel doesn't generally offer dinner, by prior arrangement they can organise a local chef to prepare a meal for you. We opted to eat in the first night, planning to eat out after that, but the food was so delicious that we ate at the Long Beach every night! Joan, our chef, who cooks like an angel, offered innovative top-quality cuisine and also introduced us to several traditional South African favourites. Each plate was perfectly cooked and presented - each plate went back to the kitchen clean; weight-watchers, beware!

I'd happily recommend the Long Beach to anyone: discreet friendly service, sumptious food, beautiful surroundings - total relaxation is guaranteed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen2Lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Just returned from an idyllic stay at the Long Beach and it was the most chilled and comfortable i've ever felt in such a small hotel. Fantastic service that was discreet and perfectly judged makes you feel so relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to all the staff for an amazing time and for helping to make the wedding such a great event.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and can honestly say it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot!). Our suites (one for us and one for our children) were both sumptious and the view of the beach, ocean and mountains beyond were breathtaking. When you added in the most fantastic attentiveness, care and thoughtfulness of the staff, this small boutique hotel without doubt exceeds its 5* rating. Help yourself to the bar, candles, rose petals and champagne in our room on the first night, booking of restaurants, playing cards with the children, fantastic breakfasts ..... simply wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie_stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

A fantasticly beautiful little gem of a hotel hidden away from the hustle and bustle. This is a stunning hotel set on the coast that just screams paradise to you. the staff were more than helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It could be classed as being in the middle of nowhere so having a car would be very useful as taxi's or the hotel chauffeur can be very expensive but the hotel itself is a gem. Stunning views of the beach from every room. We stayed here for the wedding of two dear friends and the whole setting was just perfect. Be wary of the very COLD sea though.
A stunning location with amazing staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank there4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Welcome to a little piece of paradise! The Last Word Long Beach is situated right on Long Beach and has absolutely breathtaking views of the beach stretching from Kommetjie and Noordhoek all the way to Chapman’s Peak and Hout Bay. This boutique hotel truly lives up to its 5 Stars and we could not have asked for more. On arrival we were warmly greeted and offered complimentary drinks all afternoon. My partner and I indulged in some delicious champagne cocktails whilst sitting on the deck and watching the surfers in the sea. It was the most relaxing afternoon. Once we were ready to retire to our room we were very impressed with the beautiful open-plan suite that was tastefully decorated in perfect harmony with its seaside location. The suite was spacious and modern and we had a large private balcony with a sea view. It really was spectacular. We had friends visit us to watch the game and they were too treated like royalty by the staff and made to feel very welcome. This is one of the most beautiful hotels I’ve stayed in with some of the best customer service to match. A big thanks to Hayley for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

I'd firstly like to say that I am in two minds about stating just how brilliant this place is because I would like to save it for myself !

What can I say. We (my partner and I) chose the Long Beach to tie the knot and a better place we could not have chosen.
From the organisation of the day, the service, the location, the meal, the wine and most of all the company and freindliness of the staff is second to none.
A different pudding on the bed every night was great for the soul but not too good for the waistline !
The Long Beach organised a post wedding meal for us and our guests with superb wine and fantastic food, we were in heaven.

I cannot rate this place highly enough.

There are only six rooms in this boutique hotel and this gives the change to experience how a hotel should be run. The staff (Haylee, Jen, Zet, David and all the rest of the staff) should feel very proud of themselves because they are the epitomy of hospitality.

The location is superb, far enough out of everything to be quiet and close enough to get everything should you want to. Its about 45 min drive from Cape Town centre and takes about 25-30 mins to drive to Simonstown, False bay, Cape point etc. We had an experience with a Baboon and all i can say is make sure your car doors are locked !

Theres a very laid back feeling here and it seems that nothing is too much trouble. Thats what you need when you are on holiday.

Anyway, we both loved it and will definately return and it is one of a handful of places which i would recommend to my best friend and thats saying something.


Well done all at The long beach. xx

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantona0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommetjie
12.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
13.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
12.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Long Beach

Property: The Last Word Long Beach
Address: 1 Kirsten Avenue, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Long Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach is situated in the picturesque lobster-fishing village of Kommetjie, a short thirty minute drive from Cape Town. It is truly a special place to stay, offering a rare and rewarding alternative, romantic hideaway. Facilities include a swimming pool, relaxing sun deck with ocean views and whale watching in season. There are six ultra luxurious suites all with stylishly comfortable interiors. Each spectacularly appointed room faces the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Last Word Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Long Beach Hotel Kommetjie
Long Beach Cape Town
The Last Word Long Beach Kommetjie, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing