We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Last Word Long Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We loved it !!”
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I'd firstly like to say that I am in two minds about stating just how brilliant this place is because I would like to save it for myself !

What can I say. We (my partner and I) chose the Long Beach to tie the knot and a better place we could not have chosen.
From the organisation of the day, the service, the location, the meal, the wine and most of all the company and freindliness of the staff is second to none.
A different pudding on the bed every night was great for the soul but not too good for the waistline !
The Long Beach organised a post wedding meal for us and our guests with superb wine and fantastic food, we were in heaven.

I cannot rate this place highly enough.

There are only six rooms in this boutique hotel and this gives the change to experience how a hotel should be run. The staff (Haylee, Jen, Zet, David and all the rest of the staff) should feel very proud of themselves because they are the epitomy of hospitality.

The location is superb, far enough out of everything to be quiet and close enough to get everything should you want to. Its about 45 min drive from Cape Town centre and takes about 25-30 mins to drive to Simonstown, False bay, Cape point etc. We had an experience with a Baboon and all i can say is make sure your car doors are locked !

Theres a very laid back feeling here and it seems that nothing is too much trouble. Thats what you need when you are on holiday.

Anyway, we both loved it and will definately return and it is one of a handful of places which i would recommend to my best friend and thats saying something.


Well done all at The long beach. xx

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantona0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
155
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester Vt
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is absolutely lovely quiet hotel with 6 suites with unbelievable views; lovely breakfast, unlimted drinks and snacks. The service was outstanding. I was hiding presents for my son's 21 birthday and the manager actually wrapped them for me! Would return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vttraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Thank you to Haylee,Zet and Elvis and the others for making our stay so fantastic.Nothing was too much trouble -even food in a power cut.The location is just fantastic, on the beach and if you're lucky with a view of Table Mountain.Local bistro is wonderful too so there is no real need to stray so far from "home".The extra touches as mentioned before all make the stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Everything about this place is great. When we arrived Elvis and David greeted us at the door and insisted that we sit and enjoy a cold beverage. We sat with our drinks after a long drive and took it all in. The place sits on the beach and the main room and all the guest rooms have a balcony overlooking the ocean. When we got to our room we were overwhelmed. It was a beautful room with a patio leading to green grass, a pool, and a pathway to the beach. On top of all this there were rose petals everywhere and I mean everwhere in the room. We never wanted to leave. We slept with the back door open every night and took in the sounds of the ocean. The staff organized a seafood braai (bbq) one night that included crayfish, calamari, prawns, kingclip, and salad. It was delicious and it was topped off with a traditional dessert called malva pudding, that was awesome. When we got back to our room the staff had transformed our room into a magical romantic haven. The lights were dim, lit candles were scattered throughout the room, our bed was covered in even more rose petals, and a bottle of champage was on ice. A nice treat that we thoroughly enjoyed.The staff made awesome recommendations for our other meals and made sure we never went thirsty when just hanging out. We loved our first floor room by the pool, but will ask for a room on second floor when we go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerz7851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

One word can sum up this marvellous property - Wow! After many trips to South Africa & over 18 different hotels, we finally stumbled across The Long Beach. The setting is simply stunning, so much so that all our plans of exploring the city & the Cape were put on hold to simply sit & stare at the amazing view.

We have often had fantastic service at famous hotels worldwide but for a small hotel, The Long Beach is right up there with the very best. Jennifer, Hayley, Zet & all the staff make a perfect team & are truly wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble & the attention to detail is meticulous. It is obvious from the website that this is a stunning house - but it is all the little extras that make The Long Beach so special. The management tries to offer little surprises to all the guests such as the night we returned to our room to find a petal-filled bath, burning candles & chilled champagne & the most delicious pots of Creme brulee on the pillow. I think the little extras must change regularly as we loved the complimentary jelly beans & biltong strips, only to have them replaced by nougat on our last day. The room fridge has jugs of fresh milk so no need to make trips to the kitchen or use horrible little cartons of UHT if you want to make tea or coffee. Bath robes & slippers are de rigeur in boutique hotels these days but beach bags & sun hats were an added bonus.

It feels much more like a private house party than a hotel. We got on very well with the other guests whilst we were there so Jennifer arranged a wonderful seafood dinner for us all one night but it would be equally good for people wanting to be on their own as Jennifer & Hayley adjust the mood to suit the guests.

We were so glad that we chose to be out of the city as, as much as we love Cape Town, it was so special to return to our wonderful home on the beach after a long day's sightseeing. We would definitely return but this time we would opt for one of the 2 upstairs suites. Our room downstairs was beautifully decorated but the views from the upstairs suites are well worth the extra charge.

Breakfast was excellent - freshly baked bread as well as the all the usual choices - all absolutely delicious, as were all the complimentary wines (although we had previously been over-indulging in Franschhoek so we were trying to go easy).

We arrived as guests but by the time we left we felt that all the staff had become our friends & we are extremely grateful to Jenny, Hayley & Zet for making our stay there so pleasurable. It certainly deserves its title of Best Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

A stunningly beautiful spot , right on the beach, made even nicer by the kindness and personal service of the people who work there. So many unexpected and wonderful touches, a selection of complimentary beverages always available in the room and the dining room, heated floors, fresh flowers, slippers and robe, and always smiles and great advice on what to see in the area. Hayley suggested that we have lunch at a lovely winery (Chamonix) which was wonderful. They gave us a tour of the winery even though they did not have any tours scheduled for the day we went, and the food at the restaurant was very good.

Do plan to have dinner at the Long Beach when it is available. We had an excellent curry and a wonderful evening with the other guests who were there. It was such a nice, much more personal experience than staying in a large hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheleaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

It couldnt really be as beautiful as it is on the web/in the brochure is what we were thinking as we were travelling to our first destination in South Africa, The Long Beach...but guess what....it was!

A truly remarkable setting, standing on the terrace looking out towards the ocean with Table Mountain etc in the distance we were stunned. We arrived quite early (9am) and the room wasnt quite ready but this didnt matter in the slightest as Hayley and her team were there to offer us tea, breakfast and information about the area. Shortly after we were in our room and that was beautiful. The attention to detail was lovely. The room was big and the bed so comfy. It was our honeymoon and on the first night they lit candles around the room which was such a nice gesture. On our final night they did the same and left us a chilled bottle of bubbly to enjoy.

The food was also lovely. Evening meals are not always available but they can arrange this if they have enough notice (to buy ingredients and arrange staff) but they are more than happy to arrange reservations elsewhere and taxis. We ate at the harbour house in Kalk Bay at their recommendation and it was fabulous. We ate at The Long Beach on 2 of the nights and the food was gorgeous....the wine was also pretty good!!!

I guess the only downside is that there isnt much in Kommetjie itself so you cant wander anywhere for a meal but the likes of Kalk Bay etc are about 10-15mins in a car.

In summary, we had a truly wonderful time, we were totally spoiled by Hayley, Jennifer and team and we wished we could have stayed longer (or had it as our last destination so we didnt compare everything else to it!!!!!).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommetjie
13.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
12.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,095 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
5.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Long Beach

Property: The Last Word Long Beach
Address: 1 Kirsten Avenue, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Long Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach is situated in the picturesque lobster-fishing village of Kommetjie, a short thirty minute drive from Cape Town. It is truly a special place to stay, offering a rare and rewarding alternative, romantic hideaway. Facilities include a swimming pool, relaxing sun deck with ocean views and whale watching in season. There are six ultra luxurious suites all with stylishly comfortable interiors. Each spectacularly appointed room faces the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Last Word Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Long Beach Hotel Kommetjie
Long Beach Cape Town
The Last Word Long Beach Kommetjie, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing