We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Last Word Long Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Last Word Long Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
“Heaven on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the mosment we arrived, we felt like this was our home, Jen & Hayley & all the staff made our stay truly memorable, they even put on a birthday dinner for my brother & his family. The views from the balcony are stunning & the breakfast experience with the waves crashing on to the white sand beach & the sun streaming in the huge windows was bliss. Being able to lie in bed & watch the surfers riding the huge breakers is a memorable experience. The whole feel of the place is like a beach shack holiday with all the luxury thrown in. Yes it's not the cheapest place you could stay, but once you have paid, there are no hidden extra's, the bar is fully stocked in the rooms & in the lounge & you just help yourself.... perfect. Nothing was too much trouble, they even managed to find some huge crayfish for dinner one night, right at the begnning of the season. We would thoroughly recommend a few days or more at the Last Word.

Room Tip: For the best experience, specify one of the 2 rooms on the 1st floor for a clear view of the 180 deg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0ld5t4rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Long Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your extremely kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our concept of an Intimate Hotel. We hope to get a chance to look after you again in the near future.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
150
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The hotelo is located at a really beautiful spot. Official rating is 5 star, but actually it is a really good 3 star hotel. That's because 5 star is not just defined by the location, but also by service, ammenities, facilities, restaurant/food. Breakfast was ok - but choosing everthing in the evening is somehow stressful. A bit too expensive - although they are generous in terms of wines and soft drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CH_FreqTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Long Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks very much for the constructive advice, it's very helpful to us. We're sorry that you had to choose your breakfast the evening before, we assure you this is not our policy and we will be looking into this and correcting it immediately. If you're ever in our area again we'd love to have you back and exceed your expectations as we agree that a rating is not only about location, but service and hospitality too. Thanks again.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The most superb location, with jaw dropping views and the friendliest staff ever.
I will certainly have to go back!
Breakfast is the best ever.
Strolls on the beach are unforgettable.
Good base-camp for Cape Town. It's an easy and stunning 40 min drive to the city. But it's also a superb starting point to go to Cape Point or to Kalk Bay.

Room Tip: they are all superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedrodelisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Long Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review. All of us here are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you're right, it is one of the most beautiful scenic drives in the world. We hope to see you back soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Warm greeting as we walked through the door, followed by a truly restful stay. The attention to detail is superb (particularly the dessert left on our bed as part of the turn down:) )! Thanks to all the very kind and attentive hosts. We certainly hope to come back and try the other Last Word hotels!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Long Beach, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the turndown and look forward to surprising you with different and very special ones the next time you return to one of The Last Word Intimate Hotels.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed four nights at this wonderful place and wanted to stay longer. The location is superb and the hotel itself with their super attentive staff make it one of the finest places we have stayed.
You could not wish for more.

Room Tip: Rooms four and five are the stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Long Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks so much for your incredibly kind words and all of us at The Last Word are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had great expectations to this property and we were not disappointed. The location is fantastic as it's right on the beautiful beach. The surroundings are breathtaking with the turquoise sea and the mountains beyond. We stayed here in the spring but are planning to return for a summer break. The rooms aren't ultra luxurious but very nicely appointed and sparkling clean. Very comfy beds too. The hotel can arrange excursions and we did the wine tour which was fantastic! Highly recommend this. The food offers are limited, a choice of meat and fish for dinner, but tasty. The minibar is free which is a nice touch. For a great dinner I recommend the foodbarn. The staff arranged this for us including the transfer. The best thing about this place is the service. Its seemless but personal at the same time. Hence the homey feel. Really loved this place and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want uninterrupted sea views book on the second floor. For direct pool and beach access book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Long Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks so much for the review and we are thrilled to hear you loved your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the Summer to your home away from home.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited The L W Long Beach in October 2011 as we were staying at a sister hotel in Camps Bay. We said at the time that we'd love to stay and so a year later, here we are. A very warm welcome from the team, they are all so friendly. Great location right on the beach, so good to wake up to the sound of the waves. Great beach walks to the wreck one way and the lighthouse the other. Tasty breakfast each day to get you off to a good start and some good recommendations for local restaurants. Hayley, Jen, Joan, Leo and the team are great hosts. Thank you for a great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Long Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your great review and for coming back and letting us take care of you again at The Last Word. Long Beach really is a magical place and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay there and got to do some exploring in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back yet again.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommetjie
12.9 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
13.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
12.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Long Beach

Property: The Last Word Long Beach
Address: 1 Kirsten Avenue, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kommetjie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Long Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach is situated in the picturesque lobster-fishing village of Kommetjie, a short thirty minute drive from Cape Town. It is truly a special place to stay, offering a rare and rewarding alternative, romantic hideaway. Facilities include a swimming pool, relaxing sun deck with ocean views and whale watching in season. There are six ultra luxurious suites all with stylishly comfortable interiors. Each spectacularly appointed room faces the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Last Word Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Long Beach Hotel Kommetjie
Long Beach Cape Town
The Last Word Long Beach Kommetjie, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing