We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing house, super nice hosts and beatiful nature”
Review of Eco Wave Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eco Wave Lodge
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We booked a double room with ensuite bathroom for one night and stayed for a full week instead. The room was amazing, with private terasse, a super luxury bathroom with 3 (!) showers, one of them outside in the little private garden and a bathtub. this place gave us a combination of a 4-star hotel luxury private room with a hostel feeling with a supernice shared area, billard, a huge kitchen and terasse and the owner hosting barbecues each Friday. The whole area of Kommetjie is also great, it takes a 3(!) minutes walk to get to the amazing beach and the same time to reach the "center" of Kommetjie with a supermarket, a surf shop, a pharmacie, a few restaurants, a coffee-place and a deli wiith a great selection of wine and croissants. In addition, the house is beautifully designed and the owner is super helpful and made us feel like home. Kommetjie is a great place if you want to relax and just spend a couple of days in the beautiful nature close to Cape Town and Muizenberg for surfing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouasoiaoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 49 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

To say in advance: This place is not for people who search for big party or stuff like that. Eco Wave is a nice place if you want to relax, spent time at the beach and watch the surfer, go for a walk or drive to cape point and stuff like that. Of course you can go to the two pubs located in Kommetjie or to one of the small restaurants in the evening. Or just sit in the living room or do a braai and talk to the other guests or Katrin, the really nice owner. I met some really nice people here and would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigi_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Had a very pleasant stay here. The house has a very nice architecture with lots of light and space, the whole atmosphere is spacy and light-flooded. There is a big deck to chill (when there is no wind;-) and you can have a look directly out to the shore from there. Also, there is a nice garden area with the obligatory Braai place. The rooms are simple but spotless and the beds have good matresses. Very fast WiFi not to forget. Overall this place has a very nice vibe to it and even a touch of luxury with its nice dining area and the huge bath with rainforest showers. The laid-back host feels more like a friend than some B&B landlord. Please dont spoil this place, live along its relaxed, friendly and easy going but still privacy respecting ways and enjoy it. Hardcore party goers please look elsewhere. But most probably these people are not considering Kommetije a worthy place to visit anyhow.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garantiertgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Our family had a very pleasant stay in the lodge, which is only 2 minutes away from the beach. My husband is a very passionate surfer, who always found a good wave nearby, while the rest of the family spent the day with excursions or just relaxing. All the well-known places of interest are also very close - such as African Penguin Colonie - which the kids loved, or good wineyards for us..... The area is very safe, so the kids could play outside while I spend some time with the host - Katrin - who is a very nice lady and very helpful with everything. The lodge is very stilish and clean. Very good value for money. We have already booked our next holiday in 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

"The Eco Wave Lodge" is by far the best backpackers in south africa that I have been to during my holidays. the house is very modern, stylish and clean. service is absolutely great as well. the beach is truly just a few metres away from the house and the views are incredible. awesome!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranzisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Kommetjie is situated so close to Cape Town and yet it's a world of its own. I always enjoyed staying in the City itsself but knowing about eco wave lodge, this is going to be my future getaway destination. It's a perfect starting point to discover the whole cape town area, Cape of Good Hope and False bay.

Katrin is a very pleasant hostess, you can tell she stayed in lodges all over the world herself and thus combines all her positive experiences. The whole house and the bathrooms are very modern! The rooms are colourful and clean and I had the most relaxing and revitalising sleep there!!

What I liked best is the relaxed atmosphere in Kommetjie, it almost feels like the whole town is on vacation when you see all those young families at the beach enjoying a walk and taking their chances to spot a seal or whale. And then there's all these surfers, runners, cyclists...And at the end of the day we had a great time in the local pubs! And afterwards you get to hear the ocean when you lie in bed!

What I liked least is that after a few nights we had to get back to reality and leave beautiful Kommetjie and eco wave lodge...I reckon it's about time to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lukas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommetjie
6.8 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guinea Fowl House
Guinea Fowl House
#1 of 11 in Kommetjie
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
House of Braganza
#2 of 11 in Kommetjie
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Somerset Place
#3 of 8 in Kommetjie
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Arum Cottages
Little Arum Cottages
#4 of 8 in Kommetjie
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Wave Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Wave Lodge

Address: 11 Gladiola Way, Kommetjie 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Kommetjie
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kommetjie
Price Range: $34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Wave Long Beach offers affordable budget accommodation in a modern and stylish two-story mansion in the heart of Kommetjie, a mere stones through from the beach. Whether you are back-packing across South Africa, in search of that perfect wave, or just want to relax on a budget in one of Cape Town ‘s most beautiful areas, Eco Wave House is the place to stay. Apart from that quaint restaurants and pubs, a surf shop and a grocery store are all within a short stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Eco Wave Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Wave Lodge Kommetjie, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing