We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison de la porte fortifiee
Ranked #1 of 2 Montesquiou B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent three nights here in the autumn of 2013. The house and garden are beautiful and we were very well looked after. Carsten is very hospitable, and spent lots of time making sure we were comfortable, and Klaus is an excellent cook. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 4 days with Carsten and Klaus in this beautifully decorated and homely Gite! Our hosts were friendly, hospitable and ensured that we felt welcome during our stay. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and clean - serviced by none other than the committed owner Carsten himself! Not to mention the effort that Carsten put into planning a few sightseeing routes when we asked for his advice! Klaus is an amazing talented chef and prepared the most delectable dishes that still make our mouths water when we think back of the spread that we were served!We can unreservedly recommend this venue to any discerning traveller! We arrived at Maison de la porte fortefiee as strangers, and left as friends! Merci bien Carsten and Klaus! A l'annee prochaine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What does the following add up to ? A medieval fortified hilltop village, extensive views of glorious Gascony (and, on the days when the heat haze backs off, the Pyrenees as well), the cleanest bathroom we've ever encountered, well conceived modern decor applied to rooms that still allow their history a voice, a terrace under a fading sun with fine food fine wine and just bats and the sounds of the village below for company, a terrace under a rising sun glinting on the silver service breakfast, a whole countryside full of great food, great wine, great architecture, great everything. And tension, evaporating...gone..gone.

Well, this was the two days we spent in Gascony a couple of weeks back and, on reflection, it's even better remembered than it seemed at the time. Carsten and Klaus didn't furnish all of these things, obviously, but the things they did provide and care (and in all probability slaved over) at the Maison de la porte fortifiee made our short visit to this fantastic area of France just perfect. This place enjoys only 5 star reviews and not without reason. It's not the cheapest Chambre d'hote, but it is just plain excellent value for money. Staying here really does make you wonder how so many places get it wrong. Go on, treat yourself. You know you want to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having just returned from three days in Montesquiou, and Gascony in general, I can hardly find words to describe the experience. Just go there. Stay with Carsten and Klaus at Maison de la Port Fortifee. You will be happy you did. You will tell all of your friends, but you will worry that maybe you should keep it a secret. If your friends know they can have incredible food, first rate service, beautiful surroundings, and an exquisite experience in a 13th century village - and that it is affordable - maybe you won't be able to get a room when you want to return. But tell your friends anyway. Carsten and Klaus deserve it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DwNitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow, 37 reviews and all of them 5 stars. Well, make that 38, because it is hard to imagine a more perfect stay. From the friendly greeting by Carsten to the lovely property, ideal location in a quiet village, memorable dinner and amazing hospitality, there is absolutely nothing to fault.
My room (Abricot) was spacious, meticulously clean, tastefully furnished and just plain gorgeous. If you like an old building creatively adapted to the 21st century, this is the place for you. It's clear that converting these old structures into a comfortable inn was a labor of love.
There was a lot of love in the dinner, too, brilliantly accomplished by Klaus. The amuse of local specialties, the salad of beets, local lentils and ham, and the creatively presented parmentier of duck, potatoes and lentils were both delicious and satisfying. The chocolate dessert was scrumptious.
Carsten is eager to point out the scenic riches of this corner of the Gers, and my only regret is not being able to stay longer. I'm eager to plan a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Discuss your options with Carsten by email to see which rooms works best for you. All are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent the better part of a week with Carsten (only glimpsing Klaus now and then) while attending a family reunion nearby. Our multi-lingual host provided a truly memorable eperience in a beautiful setting - delightful in every way. We do not hesitate to grant the Maison de la Porte Fortifiée five stars, and I would recommend it to anyone who is planning on traveling in southwestern France.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip-504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Our experience was excellent and we would highly recommend either a brief stay or a more relaxing week of indulgence. Our hosts could not do enough to make us welcome to ensure we really enjoyed our stay.
We had a really large room, beautifully appointed with a good size bathroom and lots of small luxurious touches. The house was beautiful and guests were able to sit on the terrace enjoying expansive views or inside in a private sitting room.
Breakfast was included and you could also enjoy dinner prepared with great attention and thought by the hosts. Dinner was a multi course restaurant quality meal showcasing local wines and produce. An excellent touch was the provision of privacy for each group of guests. On leaving our hosts voluntarily prepared an excellent picnic lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Creativejourneymen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montesquiou
9.4 mi away
La Villa Toscane
La Villa Toscane
#1 of 2 in Marciac
56 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Robinson
Hotel Robinson
#1 of 7 in Auch
96 reviews
11.1 mi away
Au Chateau Juillac
Au Chateau Juillac
#1 of 2 in Juillac
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau le Haget
Chateau le Haget
#2 of 2 in Montesquiou
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Ferme des Grisettes
La Ferme des Grisettes
#1 of 2 in Montesquiou
14 reviews
24.1 mi away
Maison d'hotes Les Bruhasses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de la porte fortifiee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la porte fortifiee

Address: rue Nationale | Au Village, 32320 Montesquiou, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gers > Montesquiou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montesquiou
Price Range: $110 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming guesthouse is in a quiet location on the edge of the village of Montesquiou, in the continuation of the medieval defence wall, directly next to the monument protected fortified tower. 4 non-smoking guest-rooms (~20 m²) each with own en-suite bad- or shower-room Lovingly selected decorations and accessories complete the high-quality equipment in the rooms.A mixture of exquisite designer-furniture, antiques and modern art - combined with a high aesthetical value . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison de la porte fortifiee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing