We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a reason why everyone gives this place 5 stars!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison de la porte fortifiee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison de la porte fortifiee
Ranked #1 of 2 Montesquiou B&B and Inns
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“There is a reason why everyone gives this place 5 stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

And that is because it is brilliant!

We've just come back from a trip of about 8 days through France and Spain and this is the place we all agreed we'd really love to come back to - but we'd love to be there for more than one evening!

Carstens is a wonderful and caring host, brilliantly helpful with any information etc. The rooms are gorgeous and the attention to detail, from the beautiful roses and other blooms in the vase in the bedroom, the nice toileteries, decent hairdryer.....the list goes on and on!

Plus, they're are a lot of public rooms which you can relax in - or as in our case, we headed straight out into the garden to enjoy the wonderful views. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the night of arrival (we knew this well in advance) and our wonderful host was not flummoxed at all by us arriving with bread and cheese etc. for a home made evening picnic - he very kindly got the glasses, plates etc out for us.

For those arriving by motorbike (as we did) we were able to park our bikes on the level just round the corner in front of the church (the lady who lives next to the church appears to be something of a motorbike enthusiast.....she certainly gave us the thumbs up!).....or there is a small car park just a little further back up the road.

The place is pretty safe......we think our friend left a travel wallet with his passports inadvertantly on his bike.....and it was still there when he returned in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in December and were thrilled to have found the place after trying a few other hotels around the region on previous visits. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious, clean and stylishly decorated - all the nice touches you'd expect from a high end hotel but very cozy. Carsten was a great host and is a mine of information about places to go and things to do in the area.The food was superb - some of the best we've had in the area. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LECYP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Travelling around France for 7 weeks we found many amazing people and places. Carston and his Maison stand out as being among the most memorable. We were blown away by his hospitapility, his willingness to spend time talking. We were also wowed by the fabulous dinner we had, overlooking the countryside and watching the beautiful sunset. One night was not enough...next time we will stay much longer!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had a fantastic stay for 3 nights in September. We were very lucky with the amazing weather, and the house is very pretty.

Great views from the hill-side, makes for a perfect dinner location with the sunset.

Very nice dinner, and perfect breakfasts - the table decorations almost as good as the food!

Nothing was too much, and very attentive care.

Thanks Carsten!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed for a week, would have liked to stay longer, and will be back. Carston gave us a warm welcome and during our stay, nothing was too much trouble for him. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated with genuine antiques, and the beds are comfortable. Montesquiou is a picturesque village time seems to have passed by, and there are other pretty villages and market towns in the area to explore. Book early because this is a lovely manor house with only a few rooms. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

There were 3 of us travelling through France when we called ahead to Maison de la Porte Fortifee and while there wasn't a room to accommodate 3 of us, Carsten our gracious host gave us 2 rooms, discounting the double that was used by a single person. We stated 2 nights and then extended for one more This was definitely one of the highlights of the trip. The town is picturesque but not terribly busy but if you are looking for a place to unwind and contemplate, look no further. You can sit in one of three courtyards and look out to the fields, enjoying Carsten's wide range of aperitifs before taking in the glorious sunsets that are famous in this part of France. Breakfast and dinner are an experience, not only is the food exquisite but so is the tablewear. Room decor is colour coordinated but carried out in the most tasteful way There is so much detail and attention put into everything that you know this is not only a great business but one that the owner is passionate about. Carsten is a wealth of information about historical sites and restaurants around that region and is always happy to help with any planning. I could easily stay here longer the next time! Heaven.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BluebirdFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montesquiou
12.8 mi away
Chateau Les Charmettes
3.1 mi away
Domaine d'Escapa
Domaine d'Escapa
#70 of 1,918 in Occitanie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lo Campestre
Lo Campestre
#1 of 1 in Lavardens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chateau le Haget
Chateau le Haget
#2 of 2 in Montesquiou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
16.1 mi away
Domaine le Castagne
8.0 mi away
Domaine a Marmande
Domaine a Marmande
#1 of 1 in Berdoues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison de la porte fortifiee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de la porte fortifiee

Property: Maison de la porte fortifiee
Address: rue Nationale | Au Village, 32320 Montesquiou, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gers > Montesquiou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montesquiou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming guesthouse is in a quiet location on the edge of the village of Montesquiou, in the continuation of the medieval defence wall, directly next to the monument protected fortified tower. 4 non-smoking guest-rooms (~20 m²) each with own en-suite bad- or shower-room Lovingly selected decorations and accessories complete the high-quality equipment in the rooms.A mixture of exquisite designer-furniture, antiques and modern art - combined with a high aesthetical value . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison de la porte fortifiee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing