We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back!”
Review of Lookout Point Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lookout Point Camp
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We've been coming to Lookout Point Camp since it opened many years ago - we always have a great time! The scenery is gorgeous, the cabins are large and immaculate, Vicki & Larry are wonderful hosts - always willing to show us the best fishing spots, giving us tips and providing service over and above what is required. We usually go in July or August (3 couples) and have so much fun we look forward to it all year long. Can't wait til next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rgoldman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Lookout Point Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2010

You won't find cleaner accomodations anywhere. Beautiful lakes, setting and great host and hostess. There is so much to offer - fishing, hunting or just laid back relaxation.
Cabins are pristine, comfortable and have all the ammenities of home. Rates are reasonable and affordable.
Alan and Susan Garshon

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

Vicki and Larry are awesome hosts. The cabins are immaculate. We've been annual guests at Lookout Point Camp for nine years now enjoying the moose hunting and the "gettaway" and we were lucky this year with a bull moose. I challenge anyone to find nicer, cleaner,more affordable accomodations anywhere, especially with this kind of hospitality. The boys in my hunt group will never look or go anywhere else. The place is beautiful.

sincerley.........Brooker and the Boys from Arnprior.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brookerArnprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

As long as I can remember, I've been going to Canada in search of great fishing and amazing people. With Lookout Point Camp, the search is over because you get both and so much more. Their cabins are extremely clean and very spacious. It seems every year they keep updating them too. With the different meal plans and accommodations there is a package deal for any group of people. Vicki and Larry are great people and fantastic hosts. They are more than just good people, they are family.

Once you leave the cabin, the adventures begin. Gowganda Lake has some of the best small mouth bass fishing I've ever experienced. My family and I enjoy catching the abundance of walleye and pike that the lake has to offer, but it's the "smallies" that keep us coming back year after year. As we often call them, the "little footballs" put up a great fight and taste amazing.

Overall, Lookout Point Camp is the complete package deal for the best fishing and accommodations in the Ontario region. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjbirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I've been to MANY lodges in my years of fishing. It's rare to find such an incredible value for one's vacation dollar. My Dad and a group of friends have made Lookout Point Camp our fishing trip destination for over ten years. It's rare to find a place with such fantastic fishing that combines accommodations that are truly immaculate. Let's face it. Aren't the accommodations at so many fishing lodges a disappointment... not what you expected from the web site or brochure? Lookout Point Camp is even better. Pride of ownership screams in every detail. The fishing... well, all of my personal record walleye and smallmouth bass have been caught here -- true monsters. Docking is fantastic. Amenities are unbeatable. The grounds pristine. Sure, you can spend $5,000 per week for a fly in to northern Manitoba or some such place for an elite trip. Lookout Point Camp is TRULY affordable for families or a gang of fishermen or hunters.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobcaygeon_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Point Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Point Camp

Address: 1 Auld Reekie Road, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range: $98 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, pine constructed lakefront cabins. Cozy, comfortable, and immaculately maintained. We have adopted a 'guest for life' approach, so our guests really do come first! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lookout Point Camp Gowganda, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing