We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Lookout Point Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lookout Point Camp
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been going to Lookout Point Camp for several years now and have always enjoyed our time their. Your host Larry and Vicki treat you like family. The cottages are spacious and clean with all the comforts of home. The grounds are immaculate with a sand beech and terrific docking vacilities. If you are looking for a quiet vacation away from the normal hustle of city life Lookout Point Camp is a terrific get away.

Mike J - Oshawa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DANrJ1R15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

How could life get any better when you are vacationing at the Lookout Point Camp in Gowganda . Well it just couldn't . This Camp has everything you want or need and is always immaculate. Vicki and Larry go far beyond your imagination to make sure this is your trip of a lifetime. I can't say enough about the two only thanks for the memories and to future adventures. Did I mention about the one reason we were vacationing ? Fishing and it was awesome. Caught lots and ate till our bellies were full. If you get a chance make sure you go to their back lakes for a day. You'll never forget it.......

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank refereeashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been going to Lookout Point Camp in Gowganda for over twenty years. Before I had kids, I used to go with a group of friends every year around Labour Day. To this day, my friends still say that Lookout Point Camp is the best place they have ever rented a cottage. When I started to have kids, the focus changed to more "family friendly" vacations. Our family gathers at Lookout Point Camp every August with some members coming from Peterborough, Toronto, Hamilton and Ottawa and like everyone says no matter how far you have to drive.....it's well worth it! No matter what type of vacation you are looking for.....this is the place for it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My family and I have been going to Lookout Point Camp for many years now and we have loved it every time and can't wait to go back! The property is absolutely beautiful and it is a great place for fishing or just to relax with your family and friends.The cabins are beautiful and very clean and have all the amenities that you could possibly ask for. They range from 2 bedroom cabins to a 6 bedroom cabin, so no matter what you do or who you are with, there is something for everyone. The owners, Vicki and Larry, go above and beyond to make sure that you have everything you need to make your stay an enjoyable and unforgettable one. Make your next family trip one to remember and go to Lookout Point Camp. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been going to Lookout Point Camp for 10 years now and will continue. Vicki and Larry look after everything we need, and then some! We've always had a great time fishing and there's only been a few times we came back empty handed. The cabins are very clean and if you are missing, Vicki is happy to provide it. Larry is there to look after anything else you need to have done. What a great experience we've had and we look forward to getting up again this year.

One word of caution though - be careful if Vicki asks if you play poker or euchre. Larry and Vicki are sure to get you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 69hurst69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LookoutPointCamp, Owner at Lookout Point Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Very cute, and thanks! I sent an e-mail out there asking if any of our much cherished guests would like to do a review for us, and we've become overwhelmed with the response and with what we're hearing. Always so nice to hear good things!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Lookout Point Camp for 10 years and stay for two weeks at a time. It is our best vacation of the year - every year! The owners, Vicki and Larry, provide ultra-clean cabins, all the amenities you could ask for, and great equipment (boats and motors). The fishing is great, we have always caught fish, any time day or night. Larry & Vicki will always tell you where the fish have been biting, whether on Gowganda Lake or any of the surrounding lakes. It is the vacation we look forward to every year thanks to great owners who are on site every day!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been going to stay witl Vicki and Larry for about 6 years now. Have always had great fishing in their lake as well as the surrounding lakes and rivers. Love the cottage, modern and has all the ammenities we are looking for
With 6 guys and lots of gear, one of our favourites is the additional room for storage and cooler. The second fridge helps aswell.
Looking forward to going again this year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lookout Point Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Point Camp

Address: 1 Auld Reekie Road, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range: $95 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, pine constructed lakefront cabins. Cozy, comfortable, and immaculately maintained. We have adopted a 'guest for life' approach, so our guests really do come first! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lookout Point Camp Gowganda, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing