We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snowmobile trip”
Review of Auld Reekie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auld Reekie Lodge
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hosts (including their kids) were awesome The wood fired sauna was fired up when we arrived to warm us up and the hot tub was big enough for all of us when it was time to wind down
The food was truley amazing and the helpings were unbelievable
The cabin was big enough for 6 men and our gear. It was warm, comfortable, and clean
Cant wait for our next visit

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sledderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 79 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my first time here on a snowmobiling trip this winter. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home from Dianne and Urs. The are great hosts and always willing to help whenever they can. They took time out to sit with us and plan some of the best trails to go on. The meals were fantastic and all of the staff were very friendly. We will definitely be going back again this winter and will try and get up there this summer for some fishing. Just a fantastic time all around!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GB1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just finished our last Spring tour and had the pleasure of staying at the Auld Reekie!! With such a warm welcome, great food and Compfortable accommodations this place is definatly on the tour for next year!! Thank you Urs and Dianne.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Remaxdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

You won't find a nicer place to stay we dropped in on a snowmobile trip for a night and were truly impressed Urs and Diane are the most friendly hosts we had many laughs with them and they cook fabulous meals

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nijss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Urs and Dianne anlong with their family are some of the kindest hosts you will ever meet. The whole family works theor tails off to make anybodys stay over the top.
Many have made great comments on the food, you have to try it to believe it.
They only thing they don't offer is a ride back to your room after supper, I was to full to move, walking hurt.
Urs and Dianne have many small but nice touch upgrades they are planning to do to the lodge/cabins/suites and can't wait to see what it looks like next year.
As Arnie says "I'LL BE BACK"

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

During our annual snowmobile trip, we enjoyed excellent groomed trails, a comfortable warm place to stay with awesome food. The hot tub was clean, spacious, HOT and in working order! The hospitality was exceptional. All amenities including premium fuel. We will be back!

Daniel Langlois

Room Tip: The cottages and the two bedroom chalets are both ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Fun for the whole family!! Been there twice and always planning for the next visit!! First winters stay my father (Doug) was looking for a snowmobile get away. I had been interested in trying our northern districts for some time and wanted to get a change of scenery. We ended up settling on Auld Reekie Lodge after a nice phone call with Diane. Mom (Cheri) and my better half Jaime said as long as they had running water and a shower they were all game! As soon as we got there we knew it was a gem. The cabin was clean and tidy full of all the amenities. Urs, Diane and family were great! The food is exceptional and you always have that feel of home! After a long days ride you can relax in the hot tub and keep enjoying the endless scenery that our beautiful country offers!! This year I was on a sled trip with a good friend and two others from work. We were riding south from Timmins and I wouldn't settle on anything else but Auld Reekie. The guys thought I was crazy but I said our bellies would be full and there’s a beautiful Bar to sit by...When we arrived we were greeted with the same friendly hospitality as I mentioned above. Everyone in the group was very pleased with their stay as we were well rested, full of food/fuel and onto our next destination. If you have been you most definitely will be back and if you’re planning a vacation stay I just might see you along your travels!!! Thanks again Urs, Diane and FAM! (There’s talk of a fishing trip!!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IM-ON-A-BOOAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auld Reekie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Lodge

Address: 6 Auld Reekie Camp Road | Box 58, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range: $79 - $932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Reekie is “Your destination for year round recreation!” Located three hours north of Sudbury or North Bay, Ontario, Auld Reekie Lodge is a dream for any outdoor enthousiasts.The Lodge offers the finest in Fishing, Hunting, Snowmobiling & ATVing Packages. Within these packages you may choose from a Meal Plan, Modified Meal Plan or Housekeeping Plan. Fish species such as Walleye, N. Pike, Sm Bass, Perch, Lake Trout and more are offered from our Main Lake (Gowganda) as well as many of our portage lakes.When you're deciding on a vacation spot, we realize that many things are considered. These include surroundings, quality accommodations and other amenities. Of course the service and hospitality are at the top of your list. At Auld Reekie we feel we've got everything you're looking for and more. Our Lodge offers a wonderful escape from the stress of the city and a great place to experience the outdoors. Its picturesque Canadian beauty will relax the soul and bring you closer to nature.Auld Reekie Lodge earned a four star rating from Tourism Ontario. Year after year upgrading and improvements have helped make Auld Reekie the choice of many vacationers who have become loyal repeat guests and that says it all. Make Auld Reekie your vacation spot this year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Lodge Gowganda, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing