We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold weather warm people!”
Review of Auld Reekie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auld Reekie Lodge
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Thanks to Urse and Diane for the excellent food and great hospitality. Nice to see a well run family businesses doing well in this day in age! Cabin was neat and clean and the food and service were top notch. Thanks Again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 79 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Lots of great tasting food - drinks and the hospitality of home. Clean warm Cabins with all the amenities. We had a great 3 days and would have liked to stay longer. Snowmobiling was great with easy access to the trails. Can't wait until next year and Thank you to the Brunner family!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wow what a lovely spot> After sledding for too many hours in the -33 temps it was such a treat to show up and be welcomed at Auld Reeki. We had a great 2 bedroom cottage with tv and full kicthen, but didnt need the kitchen as they fed us so much we barely were able to slip into our swim suits and soak away the long day of riding in the clean and huge hot tub.
We were so thankful they had gas as we were on empty when we pulled in.
Having previoulsy owned a resort I know how much work it is, and they did it seamlessly and always with a smile
Thanks for a wonderful time
Michael Barker Barrie On

Room Tip: All cottages have a great view and are less than 2 minutes to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb007BarrieOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here at ARL before. Hearing others talk about the food. " where can you get a steak like this, in the bush". Makes me feel like I'm not in the wilderness, wondering where all food is coming from. Doesn't end there!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudette18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Feb 6 2013 Great place to stay, food was great, rooms very clean, People were very friendly. Would recommend this place all day long.
OFSC get this guy a new groomer that works for the type of terrain he is grooming for us!!!

Room Tip: all roome great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Had a great time at Auld Reekie. We were 7 girls. We ate like kings and slept like queens. We would of enjoyed having an option for dinner but steak was It. And it was big enough to feed 2 of us. So portion wasn't the issue, just would of liked to have an alternate choice. The staff was super friendly and accommodating.. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantalbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We travelled to Auld Reekie Lodge where we were met at the door by Urs and Diane with a smile and a warm welcome. We stayed in a cabin as we were three couples on a snowmobiling and the accommodations were second to none. The meals that were included with our accommodations were served in the dining room and were spectacular. This Lodge is very much a Family run business and even the children were gracious hosts and Waitresses.

The Snowmobile trails were filled with beautiful scenery and wildlife. We are avid snowmobilers and have been going to different places fo years now and find it hard to beat the service and hospitality that we received at the Auld Reekie Lodge. They even worked until after 1:00 AM to get the hottub ready for us to use the next day.

Thanks Again Urs and Diane and you Kids for being such good hosts.

Tracy & Chantal Tessier

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auld Reekie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Lodge

Address: 6 Auld Reekie Camp Road | Box 58, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range: $79 - $932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Reekie is “Your destination for year round recreation!” Located three hours north of Sudbury or North Bay, Ontario, Auld Reekie Lodge is a dream for any outdoor enthousiasts.The Lodge offers the finest in Fishing, Hunting, Snowmobiling & ATVing Packages. Within these packages you may choose from a Meal Plan, Modified Meal Plan or Housekeeping Plan. Fish species such as Walleye, N. Pike, Sm Bass, Perch, Lake Trout and more are offered from our Main Lake (Gowganda) as well as many of our portage lakes.When you're deciding on a vacation spot, we realize that many things are considered. These include surroundings, quality accommodations and other amenities. Of course the service and hospitality are at the top of your list. At Auld Reekie we feel we've got everything you're looking for and more. Our Lodge offers a wonderful escape from the stress of the city and a great place to experience the outdoors. Its picturesque Canadian beauty will relax the soul and bring you closer to nature.Auld Reekie Lodge earned a four star rating from Tourism Ontario. Year after year upgrading and improvements have helped make Auld Reekie the choice of many vacationers who have become loyal repeat guests and that says it all. Make Auld Reekie your vacation spot this year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Lodge Gowganda, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing