We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Relax”
Review of Auld Reekie Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gowganda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auld Reekie Lodge
Cedarville, Michigan
1 review
“A Great Place to Relax”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Brunner family go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. The atmosphere, the food, the lodging and hospitality are second to none. If your interested in ATV's find time to book a stay and explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from an awesome weekend with 13 other friends on an ATV trip.Urs, Diane, Shawna and Stephanie really made us feel welcome and part of their family with warm hospitality, Above excellent food(quantity/taste/and service) and great lunches packed for the trip.Our guide also took us on a mix of trails with a little of everything. Accomodations were also second to none with great swimming areas. We will definitely return for ATV weekends but also with our spouses and families. Keep up the excellent work gang..Till next year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Myself and 2 friends were on a snowmobile trip on March 3rd and a blizzard hit, the trail to Timmins had not been groomed for some time, so we decided to change direction and head to Gowganda. I called Auld Reekie Lodge Sat. morning at Diane got us in, which was fantastic.
The trail grooming was great coming into Gowganda, as Urs the owner ensures his section of trail is taken care of. Just a very welcoming environment when we arrived and had a drink in their comfortable bar. We had one of the condo type units for the night - clean, nice atmosphere, sat TV. They also have some very nice, newly renovated cabins for larger groups. We hit the beautiful outdoor hot tub prior to dinner in the main lodge. The food is incredible - Urs and Dianne must have some professional chef training. Their kids help out as well, which creates a nice, family atmosphere.
We had a great night, and Urs even got the groomer out through the night, so our 50km ride back to the main C trail was perfect Sunday morning. I have to say he was the only area that got the grooming done that fast after the big storm. We travelled through 2 other club areas on our way back to Sudbury, and nothing had been done yet.
Urs, Diane, and family run a fantastic business with reasonable prices. I recommend Auld Reekie Lodge for any time of year.
Steve

Room Tip: Ask about the cabins - they are very nice if you have a larger group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Myself and 3 friends arrived by snowmobile. We were immediately greeted at the gas pump by Urs. He even assisted me in changing a bent carbide on the sled.Cabins were great. View spectacular. Food was VERY good. Price was very reasonable. Urs, Dianne, their parents and even the kids all made our stay unforgettable and we hated to leave! I will defintely be back!
Thanks Brunner family!
Hans

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My father, brothers and now our son have gone to Auld Reekie since 1994. We go back for good reason. The place is great. The newest owners, Urs and Diane, do everything well. They truly understand the hospitality element of the business. Every year the food is great, the accommodations are great and the boats and fishing equipment are great. The place is clean. We thoroughly enjoy fishing not only the main lake but the many nearby lakes. Many of the other lodges provide boats for fishing the outer lakes. Auld Reekie, however, not only has boats at most of those lakes but also "know" each lake. I've stay at several lodges in Canada and the US. Auld Reekie is by far the best run, most accomodating of all of them.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking. Diane handles the bookings. She will help any way that she can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delaware-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I recently returned from a 5-day “all inclusive” fishing trip to Auld Reekie Lodge – I cannot wait to go back again! Urs and Diane Brunner are two of the most friendly, genuine people I have ever met. Their primary mission is to make you feel welcome, and to ensure you are completely comfortable. Within minutes of meeting them, you feel like you have known them for years.

Diane warmly greeted me when I arrived and promptly had me settled in my cottage. I met Urs a couple of hours later, when he was preparing the weekly fish fry under the pine trees. What a feast… do not miss it! (Just remind Diane to serve the tomatoes – otherwise you will see more tomatoes on next night’s salad than you have ever seen!)

I found the accommodations to be clean, comfortable, and more than adequate. The restaurant/lounge was very warm and inviting, the boats and motors were safe and reliable, and the meals were exceptional! Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were served in huge portions and were always delicious. Make sure you leave some room for Diane’s desserts! I also found the flexible seating times to be a bonus, compared to other lodges I have stayed at.

Sincere thanks, Urs and Diane, for being such fantastic hosts, and for an unforgettable five days in the splendor of the north country!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Berlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Went there with a friend to Bear Hunt... First Bear Hunt for both of us... Not knowing what to expect we were prepared for anything... "Anything" was not what we got... Upon arrival we were greeted by Diane and from there the trip just got better and better... Diane and Urs are two of the best people I have met in my 60 years living... I love them both... They live right at the lodge with their four GREAT kids... Even though I did not harvest a bear I had a great, great time... I will go back... I'm hoping to make the trip again next year... Gary

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auld Reekie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Reekie Lodge

Property: Auld Reekie Lodge
Address: 6 Auld Reekie Camp Road | Box 58, Gowganda, Ontario P0J 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Gowganda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gowganda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Reekie is “Your destination for year round recreation!” Located three hours north of Sudbury or North Bay, Ontario, Auld Reekie Lodge is a dream for any outdoor enthousiasts.The Lodge offers the finest in Fishing, Hunting, Snowmobiling & ATVing Packages. Within these packages you may choose from a Meal Plan, Modified Meal Plan or Housekeeping Plan. Fish species such as Walleye, N. Pike, Sm Bass, Perch, Lake Trout and more are offered from our Main Lake (Gowganda) as well as many of our portage lakes.When you're deciding on a vacation spot, we realize that many things are considered. These include surroundings, quality accommodations and other amenities. Of course the service and hospitality are at the top of your list. At Auld Reekie we feel we've got everything you're looking for and more. Our Lodge offers a wonderful escape from the stress of the city and a great place to experience the outdoors. Its picturesque Canadian beauty will relax the soul and bring you closer to nature.Auld Reekie Lodge earned a four star rating from Tourism Ontario. Year after year upgrading and improvements have helped make Auld Reekie the choice of many vacationers who have become loyal repeat guests and that says it all. Make Auld Reekie your vacation spot this year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auld Reekie Lodge Gowganda, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing