We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Enough Circles...6+” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casas da Lapa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casas da Lapa
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not Enough Circles...6+”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I visited in late September 2012 as the first stop on a two week swing through northern Portugal and Galicia (Spain). Casas spoiled us right off the bat and set the bar incredibly high!

We arrived in the daylight (thank goodness), but rain. It is a challenge to find and I was thankful hubbie was at the wheel! But, once there, you don't want to leave due to the fabulous accommodations, the meals, the views, and the staff. Casas is a wonderful retreat to get away from the hectic pace of life and slow down in luxury and in nature. A glass of wine in front of a fire on a rainy evening set the tone for our visit.

We love, love, loved all the meals. Breakfast had the heavenly Serra cheese along with a full buffet -- fruits, meats, cheese, breads, cereals, yogurts, juices, coffees, teas. Dinners were like fine dining (without having to dress to the nines), including the linens and flowers on the tables. We had a beef entree, cod-fish cake, and pork entree, all delicious. The soups were divine and desserts a true treat. Food was fresh out of the garden -- so yummy. Kudos to all in the kitchen and to the servers!! Wine lovers-- try the Quinta da Bica red from the Dao Valley. It was one of the best we had on the entire trip.

Since it was cooling down, we did not use the pool. However, we did sit outside around the pool in the late afternoons for tea and sunshine. The grounds are immaculately maintained and pristine. But, a stone's throw in the distance you can walk through the village gardens and into the woods for more tangled beauty. It's well worth time exploring "the neighborhood."

The village is small and residential as noted in the reviews. For sights, we visited Seia, the Torre, the glacier valley of Manteigas, and over to Covilha. This gave us a good feel for the local life in the small cities. We were in town on a Sunday, and seeing the countryside is about the best option as many shops are closed. If you have time, drive the entire circuit of the Torre. One side is barren and filled with windswept views; the other is a forest of huge trees and the glacier valley/ river. You will run into the sheep and their keepers --a disappearing group unfortunately. The Torre has a museum in Portuguese only; but still informative for the English-only crowd. We were on top of the mountain covered in a heavy fog, so no great view that day, but the drive was fabulous. Manteigas and Covilha are known for wool textiles. Wool blankets and scarves are a good value for a memorable souvenir. I have used ours at home all winter and never fails to conjure up warm memories.

The staff were quite helpful and courteous. If the lanuguage was a barrier, we used Google Translator. But, overall top notch service. Rui had the water temperature adjusted for us the first night and it was a sign of great customer service throughout our stay.

I hope that we can return soon, perhaps in the warmer months to enjoy the pool. I would highly recommend Casas for couples/ adults and older children.

Room Tip: We were right outside the pool on the lower level. Divine room with plenty of living space. Excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jo'burg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

What an amazing spot. Beautifully done, with service to match. Enjoyed two great suppers there as well, and cannot fault much. I guess it loses one rating spot, because the village itself had very little to offer with respect to socialising, but hey, that's not their fault. Go, you'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drunkdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not much else to add which hasnt already been said. We travelled with 2 kids age 4 and 1 and found it perfect. We had the apartment which is a little way from the main hotel. Breakfast and dinner was delivered to our front door every day and was good value and definately recommend it if you have kids. We visited the local river - stunning, lots of paddling for the kids in a real river for once.Stunning vistas if you drive around. Loved the design aspect which was beatiful to look at well as functional. Nice touch with the selection of DVDs you can borrow for the evenings as the place is pretty quiet so as mentionned before not for you if you are looking for lively night life.

Room Tip: apartments for families are good but is a 5-10 minute walk from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank finlandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the appartments which was lovely. Fantastic decor and great outside space shared with other appartment. Amazing views and sunsets The village is beautiful but driving through it to get to hotel not for feint hearted. Make sure you stock up before you get there as you won't want to leave. Cleaning staff lovely but reception understaffed which made things a bit difficult at times. Breakfast ok but food left uncovered for long time. Evening meals varied but good value and excellent wine. Try the pumpkin jam with the local cheese. Amazing. The appartments are quite a way from the hotel and not really accessible by hire car. This means a steep 5-10 min walk up country track or through village. Picturesque but not much fun in heat. Receptionist called Rui(?) v helpful and suggested we visited Piodao - lovely, isolated slate village in mountains.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Very Nice staff, we had à wonderful time in this beautiful little hotel, perfect to explorer the region.
Fantastic olivebread at night!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank vcantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

As many reviewers have noted, this hotel is not easy to find. Be prepared for winding rounds and steep hills - however, your reward for making the trip is a stay in a lovely, resort hotel. The hotel is very modern and has been constructed right on the hillside. The views from the hotel are absolutely breathtaking and there's a natural spring river for swimming just 1km away. A delicious breakfast is prepared every morning with the highlight of local Serra cheeses! There is a beautiful pool, Turkish bath, sauna, gym, and mountain bikes free for you to use. The staff is friendly and helpful. This is a fantastic place to relax and truly get away from it all!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitzi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We arrived at Casas da Lapa after some hesitation if we were still on the road or not. The hotel is situated high up in a small village clinging to the mountain side. The road snakes higher and higher through the village with some pretty steep and narrow sections but as long as you don't drive a Cadillac '59 or a limousine you'll be fine.

Casas da Lapa is very carefully designed and fits perfectly into the surroundings. The reception is a cozy big room with a huge fireplace and lots of books,magazines and dvd movies to watch in your room. There is also a nespresso machine free to use all day and the friendly and very helpfull staff will get you a cup of tea and some cake with no extra charge anytime.

The rooms are also beautifully designed with modern furniture and got everything you need. This is a place for relaxing or hiking. The nice owner who grew up in the village took us for a 2 hour hike. This was great since we got to see some places we would never find on our own. We had dinner at the hotel both nights and got some great tradional food with the hotels own wine.

Overall this is a great place for relaxing and we would be happy to go back anytime!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapa dos Dinheiros
3.9 mi away
Abrigo da Montanha Hotel Rural & Spa
11.2 mi away
Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
10.9 mi away
Pousada da Serra da Estrela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
8.8 mi away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas da Lapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas da Lapa

Property: Casas da Lapa
Address: Rua Eira do Costa 10, Lapa dos Dinheiros 6270-651, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Guarda District > Lapa dos Dinheiros
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lapa dos Dinheiros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casas da Lapa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small design hotel in the highest mountains of Portugal. Hospitality, comfort and modernity in a typical mountain village. 8 Rooms, sitting room, dining room, sauna, jacuzzi, steam bath, swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Casas da Lapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas Da Lapa Portugal/Lapa Dos Dinheiros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing