We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Perfection”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sampieri, Scicli, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Renato F
1 review
“Idyllic Perfection”
Reviewed September 3, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We just returned, very reluctantly, from a week holiday at Villa Antica Aia and I really feel compelled to write this review in order to share our experience. An experience which was absolutely superb. The villa is true gem. Immaculately kept, meticulously maintained, it had everything we were expecting and more. The seven bedrooms are all spacious and very well appointed as are the kitchen, lounge, veranda, the bathrooms. The garden and pool area deserve a special mention because they are really extraordinary. The pool has a marine salt purification system without chlorine and as a result of that the water doesn't have that horrible public swimming pool tang and it doesn't irritate the skin or the eyes. The garden is verdant, indeed, luxuriant and a pleasure to the eye. All of the above would be enough to recommend this property many times over. But what tops it all is the impeccable courtesy and helpfulness of the owners, Oriana and Michele who offer a service superior, and I use the word advisedly, superior to a five star hotel. On our arrival day we were delayed by over 4 hours and ended up reaching the villa very late at night. Too late to do any shopping and too tired to do any cooking anyway but absolutely starving. Oriana arranged take away pizzas for us and when the restaurant informed her that even the pizzas would be delayed she and Michele drove to the restaurant themselves to collect our pizzas and deliver them to us in the shortest possible time. Oriana, has been always available, attentive and helpful, answering all our questions, requests and giving us suggestions. We felt at all times really very well looked after with a warmth and attention I honestly never found before. Last but not least, Oriana, twice turned up at the villa with trays heaped with homemade "cannoli", a local incredibly delicious pastry, and tiramisù. Everyone in our group agreed that this was our best holiday to date.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wander738...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 29, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The villa was perfect for our requirements of a family holiday. The pool area was like a little oasis, and many hours were spent in it. The owner was an exceptional hostess, always making herself available, from helping us to order pizzas and taxis to getting one of the grandchildren in to see a doctor. I would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking of a holiday with their family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect villa in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 20, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We were a group of 3 families, 8 teenagers (aged 13-18) and 6 adults. The villa was absolutely perfect for us..... It was spacious and very well laid out, the older teenagers could have their own in and outdoor space. The gardens and the pool were amazing and ideal for those of us who didn't want to do too much exploring. Our host, Oriana, was so welcoming and helpful. She was available to help with a range of needs from: where to order pizza; arranging wine tasting; advising on trips and even helping us out when we got a flat tyre!
A wonderful time had by all!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail S
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We loved our two week stay at this well situated, spacious rustic villa with modern amenities”
Reviewed December 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fourteen of us, including two children under the age of 10, rented this beautiful villa in the heart of the southern Sicilian countryside for two weeks in October. From the initial coorespondence and subsequent booking of the villa with the owner, Oriana, our experience was a very positive one.

Oriana was on hand to greet us when we arrived late on the first day of our stay in Sicily. She was the epitome of a great hostess - efficient, reliable and informative yet not intrusive. We also appreciated her willingness to correspond in English. To say the villa exceeded all of our expectations was an understatement. From the beautiful decor and modern touches to the rustic charm of the villa’s stone walls, the images
on the website are truly an actual reflection of its reality.

Each spacious bedroom had its own ensuite bathroom and the shared living areas of the living room and the well appointed kitchen more than met our needs. From fresh linens in every room, beach towels, a children’s play station, books on the sights and history of Sicily, the convenience of an onsite washing machine and the all important clothes iron, we were very comfortable. The only hiccup we had was the occasional blip in the wifi access, but Oriana told us that she would be changing it to provide a
stronger more reliable signal, and truth be told, we were over a dozen people who were all accessing wifi at various times throguhout the day.

Oriana spoiled us with her delicious desserts that she would drop off a few times throughout our stay and the incredible evening when she and a local chef prepared and served a traditional Sicilian meal for us, was a memory we will always treasure.

Villa Antica Aia was perfectly located in the foothills of Sampieri, close to the historical town of Scicli and only a few minutes drive from the beach in Donnalucata, a sleepy seaside town that boasted some of the best seafood restaurants we have ever tried. It is conveniently located close to a Crai, a decent supermarket that met our shopping needs. There is also a smaller grocery store in Donnalucata that has the most amazing owner, Dario, whose helfulness and consideration made us feel like we were old friends.

We would highly recommend this villa for a family vacation or for a large group of friends. The island is seeped in history and the villa is perfectly situated to accommodate exploring a large area of the southern coast of the island up into the core and further north for those who don’t mind a few hours drive. We rented two seven-seater vans to accommodate our large group and a GPS is a MUST!

We all fell in love with this incredible island and our stay at the well maintained Villa Antica Aia and Oriana’s hospitality made it that much better! Arrivaderchi Sicilia, we will definitely return to experience once again the beautiful scenery and history and the wonderfully kind and friendly Sicilian people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedrogrov...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, in a great area of Sicily!”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were are group of 6 couples who have been friends for many years. Having been to Sicily many times, I searched for an area that we had not been to before and found Villa Antica Aia, which seemed very suitable, we were not disappointed!

The villa, pool and gardens are super, set in a quiet secluded area, but not too far from the local town and beach. The 6 lovely, spacious, stylish on-suite bedrooms are all very comfortable.

The owner Oriana, kindly made us home made local dishes to start our holiday, and kept in contact throughout our stay in case we needed any help or advise.

Of course the weather in June was perfect!

Very very enjoyable, thanks very much Oriana!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It exceeded all expectations, great location and villa
Liked least: Our fault, but make sure you study the location well before arrival, we didn't and then found the villa difficult to locate, but our fault!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Many thanks to Andy and their friends for their kindness and friendly. They were a group of 12 people all quiet people. I was been very happy to help them enjoying their meeting since the first time he contacted me, through suggestions and other..
Andy will come back in Sicily together his wife and I hope to can accommmodate them again. Thanks a lot Andy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S1394NSsa...
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious villa with lovely garden.”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful week staying in this villa with ten friends. We particularly enjoyed lounging in the garden and around the pool. The bedrooms are all very comfortable and there are lovely areas to sit and relax both inside and outside. Oriana and Michele made us very welcome and were very helpful. The nearest town, Scicli, is beautiful and well worth a visit, as is Noto and if you're willing to travel a bit further the mosaics at the Roman villa in Piazza Armerina are stunning and well worth the 2 hour drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the pool.
Liked least: It was difficult to find the villa initially and the sign on the road is not big enough.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thanks to Andy and Sarah and their friends, they were been very kind and lovely guests. They enjoyed a lot the house and the garden together the swimming pool and we were happy for that! We hope to meet them again because they promised me to come back in Sicily in the future, maybe next April, I would be very happy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset_St...
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent, well appointed property ideal for a family holiday away from the holiday hot spots.”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed as a family group of 8 including 3 small children. The villa is well maintained and set in spacious gardens divided into 2 sections: one with a lawn and good sized swimming pool with diving board the other featuring swings and a small slide. A spacious covered veranda overlooks the lawn and pool with a purpose built BBQ to one side. There are 2 bedrooms and bathrooms at ground floor level and 4 bedrooms, 2 with en-suite and a separate bathroom.

The owners, Oriana and Michele, made us very welcome and were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. One highlight being a Scicilian meal that Oriana prepared for us and we ate with her and her family.

A car is essential as the villa is in a rural setting and there are no shops withiin walking distance. We ate very well buying meat and bread from a butcher and baker recommended by Oriana, fish from the fish market at Donnalucata and general suplies from the supermarket some 10 mins drive away. We visited the beaches at Sampieri,Cava D'Aliga and Pozzallo which were very nice and safe for children, but the garden and pool were really all we needed. Scicli with its Montalbano associations has plenty of restaurants and was only a 15 min drive away.

Oriana and Michele are in the process of installing solar panels and airconditioning and, as from mid-June, will be renting a second villa on the site with its own pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The mosquitoes that evaded the defences.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
Thanks to Mr. and Mrs. Richings and their family for their friendness and kindness. It was a pleasure for my husband and me to let accommodate such a lovely family. The children were very happy to enjoy the swimming pool and the garden, and we also were pleased about that.
It was really plesant to know Richings's family and now we have some new friends in England. They also invited my family and me to reach them there! Thanks a lot!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing