We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Was worried abotu what to expect after reading reviews on here but wasnt disappointed. Booked a 2 night B&B deal with Superior room on last minute for excellent price of £105.

Room was newly refurbished and good standard, everything you expect (flat screen TV, coffee making facilities). Breakfast was good and nothing to complain about there.

Used the pool and jacuzi which was very quiet, nice relaxing experience there.

Staff were very helpful and did everything to help when car wouldnt start- they found some jump leads and one of the reception staff went to far as to offer us her car to jump start our car. Couldnt fault the whole experience.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Richajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,459 - 1,465 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2010

Ettington Chase is very pleasant. Rooms are spacious, exceptionally comfortable and well appointed. There were some minor maintenance issues in the bathroom but typical of a well-used hotel. The grounds are enormous. It's a short drive from Stratford, so a car is essential. The actual manorhouse is only a small part of the hotel. Modern soul-less wings radiate outward and give the appearance of a nursing home, rather out of character from the Victorian central building. However, inside the blend from old to new has been done well. It is a large venue with several conference/dining rooms. You can expect to share the facilities with business functions and weddings. Don't expect anything quaint and cosy. Staff were exceptionally helpful. When we arrived, there was no hot water. I've been in hotels where this happens and no one wants to take responsibility. But this time, no excuses. The situation was explained and we were updated when it took longer than planned. The manager apologised profusely to us and then gave us our drink orders free of charge as a way of saying sorry. In the end, we understood they were doing their best and apart from the frustration we all felt, no one complained. If only all hotel managers could adopt this level of courtesy and generosity. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and congratulate the staff on responding so professionally. I will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onward64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

After booking this hotel for one night as a treat for my wife I was a little worried by some of the previous reviews. I paid £70 for one Saturday night with full English breakfast (very good) which was, in comparison to most 4* hotels very good value for money . The main picture on most websites does show the old house where the reception is, but if you expect to stay in there for your money then you will be disappointed as the majority of rooms are in the newer extension. The rooms are clean, tidy and modern all the staff were very friendly and helpful and tea and coffee were free all day and night. I did not eat an evening meal at the hotel but booked in at the local pub "the chequers" and I have to say the food and service was excellent and all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is only 5 to 6 miles from Stratford and was ideal for a short break. I would definitely book this hotel again and am not sure what people expect to get for their money. The pool, sauna and jacuzzi are not big but clean and well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saint1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night with a group of friends, between us we had five rooms. We booked as part of a dinner/room/breakfast deal which was unbelievable value for money.
The rooms were well presented, clean andmodern. Nothing special but nice decor, although they did get a little warm even with the window open.
Dinner was nice, although I felt the quoted prices were high for what you got, but as ours was included in the package it was a good deal. Breakfast was buffet style, full english and some continental options.
There is a large car park, swimming pool and gym, but don't be mislead by the fact they name it a spa, there is no actual spa facilities. The hotel is about a 15/20 minute drive from Stratford and taxi's in are about £15-£20 so if you don't drive it could add to the costs.
The staff were lovely and so helpful at all times. (Unlike at the Mercure Shakespear hotel where we went for an afternoon tea)
Overall, I think it lives up to its four star rating and if you are looking for a nice, quiet place to stay and have a car this is the ideal spot.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigbyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

stayed 17 and 18 april. on first morning hotel was catering for wedding guests that had stayed over from previous day as well as other guests. the restaurant service was exceptional and food was great. We had booked last minute so could only get twin standard bedroom. the room was spotless and modernly furnished. fantastic shower in bathroom. we used the restauarant on both nights. the 3 course table d'hote menus changed each night and food was beautifully cooked and presented. the staff were extremely friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. one guest asked for a particular dish that wasn't on the menu which the chef prepared willingly. downside is no room service and breakfast is only until 9.00 on week days.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trisha11edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I was worried after reading the bad reviews - our experiance was not bad compared to others. As others have mentioned this hotel is very much geared to conferences - do not let the hotel offcial picture fool you - it is not romantic . We stayed 1 night for a nearby wedding - arrived about 7p,m. No problem at check in - there is a note that they now charge £2.50 if paying by credit card - as i had pre-paid , made a point of paying cash for my morning paper ....

Room - 116 was fine - slightly better than a Travel Lodge - although not enough towels and only 1 pillow each.

Breakfast - did not have to wait, but breakfast room was very quiet. Poor buffet selection and food was definanlty not top quality - think Tescos value brand food !

There is a pool and sauna but did not get a chance to use.

Would I stay again - not if I could afford the much nicer Ettington Park hotel a few miles away !

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buncey47_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We were hugely disappointed by our experience at Ettington Chase Hotel and this was largely due to the standard of the rooms, breakfast facilities and attitude of the staff . The rooms were generally comfortable however there was mould apparent in the bathroom. We were turned away from the dining room when we attended for breakfast (between the set times) the next morning, as were countless other guests who had been queueing outside for some time. We were asked to wait in the hallway outside until our room number was called (approximate 40 minute wait) and there was insufficient seating for the number of people who had to wait. Breakfast was poorly presented in buffet style. There was food spillage over the counters and the handles of the serving spoons were sticky where they had been dropped. I discovered an insect in my breakfast and staff did not offer us a fresh breakfast when the offending insect was shown to them in the food. Tea and coffee was also not offered, despite being included within the service. There had been a wedding in the hotel the previous day and clearly the hotel did not have the resources to cope with the volume of people staying at the hotel. In the future I would recommend staying at one of the other hotels in the area rather than repeat this experience again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,569 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,188 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,112 reviews
6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range: $69 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing