We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel isn't awful......if it was marketing itself as a 3 star hotel. But it's not, it's dressing itself up as a 4 star and failing miserably. The standard rooms are on a par with premier inn in terms of space and quality of fittings, the restaurant (food) is frankly a disgrace, and the staff clearly are being given no leadership, training or reason to feel proud of the work they do. General word of advise to anyone thinking of booking, go to Walton Hall down the road, it's much better (I don't work for puma hotel group by the way).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SR1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Sorry to read that you were not impressed with you recent stay. As you can see from many previous reviews shared on this forum your fellow guests have praised the service and food delivered by the team here so I am surprised by your comments.
I hope you choose to stay with PH hotels again in the future.

Best regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    501
    359
    125
    69
See reviews for
140
764
17
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed in one of the junior suites for a birthday celebration this week. I booked directly through the hotel and got a brilliant deal for bed and breakfast. The suite was out of this world. It had a stand alone bath and double shower in a bathroom that had a stunning view of Stratford. The staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. We used the leisure facilities which we had to ourselves for an hour! Breakfast was just as good with an all you can eat hot buffet that included hash browns much to our excitement!! Will definitely be going back.. Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morty93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Met up with a friend here last Sunday and was disappointed to learn that a large number of people were booked in for a Caravan club conference- which we were not warned about upon booking with the Hotel. All the public areas were blocked by large numbers of loud people and the bar was impossible to get anywhere near in the evening. Although I was aware that this hotel is used as a conference centre I didn't expect it to be on a Sunday. Speeches and clapping went on until late.
The location of this hotel is a good 15 mins drive from the centre of Stratford upon Avon and is somewhat remote. The staff were extremely friendly, but decor tired.
Not certain I would return- definitely not during a conference.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Sorry to read that your enjoyment was impacted by another group staying in the hotel at the same time, it is unusual for us to be so busy with this type of business on a weekend but not unheard of. I was pleased to read that the friendless of the staff impressed you nad would advise that should choose to stay with us again that you enquire as to any other business we may have in the venue before booking.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a friends Birthday and the service was nothing short of outstanding.

Often in Hotels you will get one member of staff who isn't particularly great which can damage the whole experience. Every single member of this Hotel's team were nothing short of amazing. From the greeting at reception, waiting staff, housekeepers even the gardeners were happy to say hello!

One special mention must go to Matt Thomas he was exceptional and made our stay truly memorable.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase. I was pleased to read that the team were able to contribute to making your weekend so memorable.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

As a treat for a friend we booked to stay at The Ettington Chase Hotel. From the moment we booked with Rachel we knew that the night was going to be one to remember. Rachel made the booking easy and was very helpful and friendly. Upon arrival the Birthday girl felt very special with a notice on the door saying “Happy Birthday” and staff all wishing her well, at one point she thought she had become famous from the attention.

We had booked a room at the side of reception to have Afternoon Tea and sparkling wine; everything was perfect the food was tasty and plentiful and we were introduced to Matt who was looking after us and nothing was too much for him. The hotel had allowed us to put up some Balloons and Banner and another member of staff had popped by to wish Sophie a Happy birthday and took a few pictures for us.

After Afternoon tea we went for a swim and sauna, the facilities are very clean all public areas of the hotel are immaculate with staff all smiling and very polite.

When we went down to dinner the team had moved some of the Balloons and Banners into the restaurant which was a really nice touch along with a Birthday Card for Sophie; Matt and the team again were excellent. The service was perfect along with food quality. Not once did we feel pressured to move after we had finished eating and during dinner the team was attentive but not at all intrusive.

It was a perfect day and the team really did make it that extra special with the little touches.
We stayed overnight and the rooms we had were all clean and tidy with all the things required for a comfy night’s sleep. The following morning Breakfast was served as a buffet, with the food hot and tasty again nothing was too much trouble! A perfect night away!

Overall there is nothing I could complain about… it really felt like the team at Ettington Chase wanted us to have a great time even if we weren’t spending 1000’s of pounds.

Thanks to everyone and sorry I couldn’t name you all.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for an upgraded room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRobson049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for posting a positive review following your recent stay at Ettington Chase. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the relevant team members and I'm glad that they were able to contribute to making your weekend so special.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Being at a loose end at New Year owing to circumstances beyond my control, I booked us into a Murder Mystery break at Ettington Chase Hotel. We didn't catch the murderer (or even have a clue who it was) although everyone who sat next to my partner for dinner got murdered which was a bit worrying as I was sitting on the other side. The hotel was superb, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, lovely bar area, nice breakfast area, good food throughout 3 day stay. Who cares about the odd murderer lurking in the background? New Year's Eve was fantastic - several parties took place that looked great fun, dress was fantasy or fantastical, very animated atmosphere and the staff worked so hard to make it a great evening for all. Would definitely recommend a break at this hotel, with or without a murder or two. Village and local Church very pretty for a meander to get some fresh air and recover. From the New Year celebration of course!
nice looking pubs in village but didn't go in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppalackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your unusual New Year break with us.
I hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at this hotel,breakfast was lovely with helpful staff.leisure facilities good.we didn't eat main meals at hotel but enjoyed wonderful food at the white horse just a short walk away.the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and only a short drive from stratford town centre.would definitely recommend to hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review of Ettington Chase following your recent stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing