We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed her for 1 night as part of a Groupon deal so a 2 course dinner for 2 and a bottle of wine was included. Very spacious hotel with a good size spa room. Unfortunately I didn't take my gear prepared for the pool but I'll certainly take advantage of it next time.
Our room was clean and spacious which overlooked a courtyard. Unfortunately our curtain pole collapsed and we had immediate attention from a friendly handyman who deduced that it couldn't repaired. Reception staff were apologetic and offered us an alternative room downstairs which had been adapted for someone with a physical disability. We decided against that and luckily it didn't affect our sleep being without the curtains.
The restaurant was quite busy and so it took longer than usual for us to get served. The wine was a house wine as expected and not the best quality. There was limited choice for the main meal i.e. salmon or chicken and after opting for the salmon we both regretted not having gone for the chicken as the fish was rather bland. Nevertheless the desert made up for it and the breakfast the following morning saw us through until mid afternoon as there was so much to choose from and nicely cooked.
The atmosphere at the hotel was good with lots going on and people seemingly mingling and enjoying themselves.
I would recommend this place and would use it again. Ample parking and 10 minutes or so from the town centre and other tourists sites.
Stratford is also a nice place to visit when the weather is fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cariad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us at Ettington Chase. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    501
    359
    125
    69
See reviews for
140
764
17
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked a deal on line, £156 for 2 nights B&B with one nights dinner, which these days is a bargain!! Ordered a bottle of champagne to be in our room on arrival. We arrived. No champers. Checked at reception and had been charged to our room, just not delivered. Not a good start. Surprise ruined.

We were given a room furthest away from the reception, bar and restaurant. A couple who reserved with Groupon were in the room next door to us, so we think the bargain hunters were put together.

Went for a swim in the pool, which was nice enough, although the hair dryer was broken in the gents. Not a problem for me though.

Dinner was great, although wine expensive. Restaurant was really quiet, as a result service was a bit too quick, getting served our courses a little to quickly.

The room itself was basic, but practical enough. Had more of a functional travel lodge feel to it.

All in all, not too bad, but probably would look a another hotel if we were going back to the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichardChubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Sorry to read that we didn't meet your expectations following your recent stay with us. I apologise that we didn't deliver our normal high levels of service and hope you will choose to stay with us again when next you visit this area so we can demonstrate this to you.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice hotel but the bottles of wine in the restaurant were expensive. Cheapest was £21. 50. Everyone one seemed to go out either to drink or eat as it was cheaper in the village, which was only a short walk away. We stayed for two days and got a good deal for thoses days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEEJ866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review following your recent stay with us. We do offer seasonal deals on wine and other drinks in our Tempus bar so I can recommend you try these when next you stay with us.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

What a great hotel. We stayed for 1 night for a family break with friends and were totally impressed. The check in was seamless, the room lovely and the facilities were fab.

Our breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the restaurant was lovely and modern.
All of the staff that we met were friendly and professional.

We will certainly look to return when we can!

The hotel is just outside Stratford-upon-Avon but it was easy to drive in and easy to park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review following your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We have returned to Ettington and received the same service and comfort levels as previously experienced. The difference this time was hotel was very busy with conference people. (this is primarily a conference hotel). This did not hamper the staff in the execution of their duties. Breakfast was superb,a buffet style selection and always topped up. Goodness knows how many eggs go into that scrambled egg! Downside this time were the reception staff. Besides a missing smile or two there was information missing as well. I attempted to book another Principal Hayley hotel as we were to travel to Mansfield. I was told that besides no discount being available for existing guests, there was no readily available system to book ahead. Strange for a business person oriented hotel. We ended up staying another night to experience noisy plumbing from an adjacent room. Let us hope this is s one off.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkTortworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review following your recent stay with us at Ettington Chase. We have recently introduced a promotion for our customers to receive a 20% discount off the room rate of their next stay with PH hotels, please contact us for further details.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ettington Chase in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days. It was a good little place, staff are willing to help. Was somewhat noisy after various parties. Swimming pool was cosy. Enjoyed the stay. Breakfast plentiful and food to order was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank her_maj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review following your recent stay with us at Ettington Chase. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I lived here for a month becuase a water pipe burst in my house and the insurance company put us up hear.

To be Honest you can't go wrong really. Good fascilities and great location. Food is a good standard and service is very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments following your prolonged stay with us. I hope now everything is sorted with your own home you choose to stay with PH Hotels or Ettington Chase again in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing