We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Ettington Chace Hotel over the May bank holiday weekend and we were very impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful an the hotel room was very clean and nicely presented. The gardens were beautiful and there was a peaceful ambience on entry.
We had the evening meal which was okay although the menu was very limited and the risotto was a bit like stodgy porridge. However, the breakfast was excellent and the service good.
This hotel was ideally placed for visiting Stratford upon Avon although a car or taxi would be needed.
There were 6 adults in our party and after dinner, we went down to the local White Hart pub, in Ettington village, where there was live music. What a good show by this rock singer! The atmosphere was great and everyone was singing along and dancing. The staff were very welcoming also. We had a great night.
I can highly recommend both the hotel and the pub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowie215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us at Ettington Chase. I hope you choose to visit us again in the near future and maybe travel in the opposite direction to Stratford Upon Avon and explore the Cotswolds?

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at ettington chase for the night may 25th. The food was excellent, and we had the use of the pool while we were there. We had a lovely time. The staff are lovely. The hotel and grounds are beautifull. I would recommend a stay and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 198bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Many thanks for such a positive review of Ettington Chase. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've stayed at the Ettington Chase Hotel, twice (it's a yearly thing, so far...). It's a typical hotel, but one we're happy to go back to. It's clean, comfortable beds and room sizes are adequate, with a Bar area that's spacious with a large TV. The Dining Room/Breakfast Room is of good size too. Breakfast itself is your typical Hotel breakie, Hot and Cold offerings with a good selection of each, along with Tea and Coffee and Fruit Juices.

The Gym is small but more than useable (if it's your thing) and the pool is nice enough to spend a good 30-45 minutes in it, especially hopping in and out of the Hot Tub.

They do host Weddings and Murder Mystery weekends, the latter we were fortunate enough to witness, which added some entertainment on our return from Stratford-Upon-Avon - Talking of which is about a £20 (each way) taxi journey to or a 15 minute car journey (if one of you is willing to be a designated driver).

If Ronseal did Hotel's this would be it, nothing overly amazing regarding it, but pleasant enough you'd use it again. Perfect for a few nights to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 346AlNew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your review of Ettington Chase. We hope you continue to visit us.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here one night in May 2013, with my mother, while touring the Cotswolds. Would recommend staying here as it is in a great location for the surrounding area. Hotel and grounds were beautiful. We didn't make use of the facilities or restaurant at the hotel as we drove into Stratford Upon Avon for dinner and sightseeing as it was a lovely evening. Breakfast the next morning was good but very busy as there was a seminar on so felt like we were being rushed to eat and move on so they could concentrate on the seminar attendees.

Room Tip: Don't unpack the car until you know where your room is... there are two entrances once you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McM_1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent visit. I hope you choose to stay at Ettington Chase again in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

After the disappointment of arriving and finding we were in a Travel Lodge type building next to the mansion (misleadingly shown in the pictures) we found that staff are nice and welcoming, the hotel was very clean and well maintained throughout, the location was decent for us and the food was excellent - though we chose not to have the overpriced breakfast.

Unfortunately all this will be overlooked by is due to the poor beds. I have never moaned about a bed before and always felt like i could sleep anywhere but I genuinely haven't attempted to sleep in a worse bed in my 30 year existence and get much better rest when camping on the floor of one of my festivals. The quality of the bed was so poor that my wife and I decided we had to check out early and so left at midnight for our 3 hour journey home. We had asked for a change after the first night, only to be told that 'over soft' was a feature of all their beds.

Overall then a lovely hotel ruined by their inability to supply its core product. A good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. Sorry to read you were dissatisfied with the quality of our beds. In regards to the price of breakfast we have some very competitive bed & breakfast rates available if booked prior to arrival through our website. You will also find on our website images of the entire building and not just the old Manor which houses our hotel reception and 9 executive bedrooms with the rest of our bedrooms located in the main hotel building.
I hope you choose to stay with PH hotels again in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just a 2 night stay for the wife and I resulted in mixed feelings about the place. First impressions were good. Lovely grounds and a friendly welcome soon evaporated after poor room directions and a rather offhand attitude by the head waiter as we, and the couple behind us, were Groupon voucher holders. The hotel staff all seemed to be doing 2 jobs at once as there was always a queue for entry to the dining room or a drink at the bar. I think that as there was a wedding that weekend the staff were a bit pushed. The hotel was plush and well appointed with a 60's theme in the decor which worked well. It was a 10min walk into Ettington which had 2 pubs both which served food. Rooms were small but comfortable and the hotel had a quiet atmosphere. Huge car park BTW. Food was good with smashing breakfast bangers!

Room Tip: Ask for a map as the place is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. Apologies that it appears on this occasion we did not deliver the level of service which we strive too. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart Fleming - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

4 friends booked two twin rooms for a 1 night stay which we wanted to be peaceful and refreshing, which is why we picked Ettington's location. On arrival on Sunday late afternoon, we found a wedding to be taking place. We were not warned that the twin rooms were very close to the room used for the evening reception which featured loud music until 1am. After that many of the guests arrived back at adjacent rooms making a lot of noise, banging doors and talking. We did not get the restful break we came for as when we raised this with the reception lady on check out, a weak apology was offered and nothing else. The breakfast room was not propely staffed and we had to wait for tea, toast, replensihment of the food and cutlery,which was disappointing. We would not stay again due to the above.

Room Tip: ask about weddings and where the room they are putting you in is located as you may be disturbed sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Sorry to read you did not enjoy the restful stay you were expecting following your recent visit. It is unusual for us to host weddings on Sundays but as this was a bank holiday the happy couple took this opportunity. Unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for the disturbance caused to by other guests although we do ask that our residents are considerate to others when returning to their bedrooms after 11pm.
I hope your experience does not deter you from staying with PH hotels again in the future.

Kind regards
Stuart - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,581 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#12 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,925 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,197 reviews
6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 29 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range: $72 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing