We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for a treat for my 60th birthday for myself and my husband, no deals etc., chosen by me. Dissapointed oh yes. Booked for 3 nights Mon, Tues, Wed. Purely set up for conferences, we felt like fish out of the water, booked for the pool and jacuzzi guess what pool closed for 2 days reopened on the weds evening we were going home on the thursday no one told us it had reopened. Breakfast (Tues) on the first morning no problems, weds and thurs shocking, it was cold and the eggs were like rubber, one lady was complaining about the same problem but was told by one the staff that she had taken the cold plates instead of the warm ones??? Insulting ones intelligence. The drive up to the main building is in poor repair with big potholes, and lighting needs sorting out, you couldnt walk at night. Hotel food expensive found a pub 3 minutes away called the White Horse, 2 courses £9.95 superb. Maybe different at weekends I wont be finding out, I wont be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Sorry to read you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. I apologise that the breakfast was not up to standard on two of the three days you stayed with us. We were very busy with conference guests during the week you stayed so you would have found the majority of your fellow residents were involved with these meetings, at weekends we are predominantly a leisure destination. I'm afraid I must disagree with your description of the length of time the swimming pool was closed to the public. We had to carry out emergency repairs to the facility and this took place from 10pm on Tuesday evening and was completed by 2pm on Wednesday. Effectively the pool was only closed for 7 operational hours and not the 2 days stayed in your review. Unfortunately the harsh winter has caused some damage to our car park and entrance driveway and this will be repaired as soon as the weather allows.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    489
    352
    122
    69
See reviews for
135
742
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The photo of the hotel shown on all advertising material is of the reception building around which the hotel is based and is a little misleading because basically, the majority of the hotel facilities are in large modern annexe connected to it and little Victorian character remains. This is primarily a conference centre, so there were a lot of men in grey suits around during our stay. It was in a quiet setting, very clean and in good decorative order. I loved the spa with a very warm unusual (octagonal?) swimming pool with jacuzzi and a sauna off of the changing rooms, which had very powerful showers. Having to collect a towel from reception is a nuisance if you are forgetful as I am and have to dry off in the sauna! Our standard room was spacious with above-average quality furniture. The bed was too soft for me as like a large percentage of the population, I have back problems. Of course, this is a matter of taste. We had to put the mattress on the floor the second night. Astonishingly, the bathroom had no heating - not even a towel rail, which seems extraordinary given our climate!
Personally, I don't much like breakfast buffets, as inevitably something will be cold and scrambled eggs are always overcooked. I would have preferred fresh to tinned fruit, otherwise it was fairly typical/average. We very much appreciated the complimentary coffee machine, snacks and home-made cakes available at the self-service bar in the bar area (hope these were not meant just for conference guests! A great idea if the hotel wants to stand out from others of its type).
All in all, great value with pleasant surroundings as well as very handy for Stratford.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footsoreinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments following your recent stay with us. I'll be sure to share them with the rest of the team here at Ettington.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this as a Groupon deal - so went with an open mind. We were a bit concerned having read some of the negative comments - but decided to go with the flow considering the price we paid. I agree the entrance/reception area is a bit of a facade and the building itself is modern as opposed to the expected stately home type of building. Having said that, the hotel is enormous! Huge public areas and geared towards conferences and weddings. There was a wedding going on when we arrived - but that was the last we saw of the party. We received an extremely warm and pleasing welcome, and the busy receptionist explained the facilities in detail.

As part of our Groupon deal, we had free hot chocolate & marshmallows on arrival, which was a nice gesture following a long drive. We also had a small box of chocolates and a free bottle of bubbly which could be taken in the bar, restaurant or room.

The room was a spacious double (No: 316) with an ample seating area, dressing table with large mirror, enclosed tea and coffee making facilities, ironing board, hair dryer etc. There were also added extras such as bathrobes and slippers.

There was no view from this particular room -but we didn't mind as we were there to enjoy the facilities.

Guests also have access to the leisure club - and it was a shame that we did not do our homework in advance as these were open until 10pm - so there would have been more than enough time to enjoy this facility.

A two course dinner was included in our deal offering four or five choices for each course. It was very well presented and was excellent value for money taking the deal into consideration. The South African gentleman maitre'd was charming and helpful as were the rest of the young team of staff. Breakfast was taken in the same restaurant and was served until,11am on Sunday morning.

We really cannot fault this hotel and would definately recommend to anyone looking for a base near Stratford.

Room Tip: Pack your leisure clothes and swimwear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay and for taking the time to post a positive review. I'll be sure to share your comments with the team here at Ettington and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during a visit to Cheltenham Horse Racing Festival, the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was ok, limited choice of hot food, mushrooms and hash browns rather than fried potatoes would have been nice. The service was good and all the staff friendly and helpful. Had an evening meal one night, the choice of food was limited and quite expensive. The rooms were of a good size, only critisim is that the shower could not be angled to avoid water spraying on the floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay. I hope you had a successful time at Cheltenham races and you choose to stay with us for next years meeting.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely time at the hotel. We were staying as part of a groupon deal and so we had bathrobes and slippers and hot chocolate sachets in our rooms. It also meant we got a bottle of wine and a two course meal on the first night. I thought the hotel was very clean and the food was beautiful. The room was a nice size and bathroom nice too with plenty of shampoo etc available. Breakfast was nice although I was a little disappointed there were no mushrooms or black pudding available :( we made full use of the small gym and pool and enjoyed using the sauna. On the whole we were pleased but there were a few niggles. Service at dinner was a little slow but the food came out fast. Staff just seemed a little disorganised about which tables they were serving and we waited quite a while to have our order taken. It was the same when wanting tea and toast in the morning. Other than that I can't complain. All of The staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. It's also a great spot to drive in to Stratford from and I feel we got a really good deal. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope to choose to visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
357 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights when on a work conference. The pictures of the place look great and on the whole it's a nice hotel.

The gym is in a broom cupboard. Too much equipment in a small room. It could
Be better planned. The pool
Is nice, a bit of a weird shape but nice.

Disappointed by the bar staff. Serving soft drinks when the gas had gone. Then telling us it had been sorted when it hadnt. Not having some of the wine on the wine list. To their credit they did offer an alternative and didn't charge anymore for it.

Food was nice. All of the group commented
On the quality.

Phone reception in the area was terrible (on O2) but obviously this isn't the hotels
Fault. We were provided with free wifi throughout our stay which was good but the coverage varied throughout the venue.

Disappointed by the room. Very basic. Small tv. Radiator didn't work. So was freezing in the night. Others in the group had the opposite and had to leave their window open all night as their radiator was on full. Some tv channels are available but not an amazing choice available.

Maybe the room Quality was the budget option but was still below what I would call a "premier inn" standard.

Overall the facilities etc are ok.
Room was ok.
Food was great.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Would have been disappointed if I had paid for this myself.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. Sorry to read that we let ourselves down in several areas but pleased that on the whole you had a pleasant experience.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here on a recent groupon deal and paid the extra and upgraded our room. The hotel is easy to find and very handy for visiting Stratford. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely decorated with everything you would need, including a full size iron and board. The bed was very comfy and i slept better than usual. The pool area is lovely and changing rooms are clean. However, the hotel is very corporate and this does over rule any atmosphere. Also, the hotel restaurant is quite expensive. The food was nice, but could have been nicer. The best part of the hotel was breakfast! Absolutely gorgeous. Loads of choice, help yourself buffet style, nice and hot and very tasty!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday09England_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay. I'll be sure to share them with the team here at Ettington.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing