We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Podium finish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Podium finish”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here in July as a base for attending the British grand prix at Silverstone. As noted by others the hotel buidling itself is stunning and very well maintained. Reception were very friendly and our room was excellent, the complimentary bottle of wine did not go amiss. Rooms very nicely decorated and bathroom was well fitted. Whilst visiting we throughly enjoyed the use of the snooker table which was an added bonus. One point of note is that the hotel did seem set up more for coneferences and business, something which was not an issue for us as we were hardly there but for a couple could be somewhat off putting. All in all though a top weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffHardy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we hope to welcome you back to Ettington Chase for the Grand Prix this year

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    511
    364
    127
    71
See reviews for
144
774
18
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here during Jan 2013 as part of a Joy Swift Murder Weekend and the hotel was great. Lovely big conference rooms, good break out areas, rooms were spacious and clean if a little tired looking in places. The staff were lovely and the food and service were excellent. The swimming pool and sauna were good and the gym was small but perfectly functionable.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments following your recent stay, I'll be sure to share them with the rest of our team and I hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for one night only on business so probably a different experience than if staying for a personal/holiday stay.
Quiet, rural location.
Overall the hotel is fine, staff friendly and accommodating.
Communal areas pleasant from what I saw and experienced.
Food was fine although nothing amazing, but certainly more than acceptable.
My room felt dated and the bathroom definitely needed a deep clean and update.
Nothing to complain about specifically. Overall ok experience, but nothing really wow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idolexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are currently looking into how we can improve our bedroom specification so hopefully on your next visit you will experience the positive changes we make.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed last weekend when the snow was really bad, yes the driveway was covered in snow but so was everywhere else! Our room was lovely, clean and tastfully decorated. The evening meal was slightly dissapointing, as menu was more like a lunchtime menu, although the food it's self was good. Staff really friendly and helpful. Swimming pool clean and warm with good showers, gym was well equipped. Would definately use this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annesmith129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. You'll be pleased to hear that we launch a new menu in early February and i hope you'll return soon to sample it.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose the hotel for our civil ceremony and wedding celebration. The two wedding co-ordinators Nicola and Natalie were organised, highly experienced, professional and couldn't have been more helpful. We hired the library for the event, a room with character, which looked beautiful. Ollie helped with planning the table for our wedding breakfast and the end result was stunning. Thank you to the staff with whose help we had a memorable day.
We had booked 7 bedrooms in the old part of the hotel, all of which are lovely, with modern stylish bathrooms, and the younger guests enjoyed the leisure centre. The honeymoon suite was stunning too!
We would thoroughly recommend the Ettington Chase if you are planning a wedding or event.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I'm so happy to read that your wedding was such a memorable day and our team went someway to contributing to it.
I'll be sure to pass your positive comments onto them.
Please accept my best wishes for long and happy future together.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Driving along snow cleared roads to get here, I expected the hotel drive and car park to be the height of readiness for guests only to find a treachous experience both parking my car and to get into the hotel. No grit, no ploughed areas and no one in the hotel seemed to care or be the slightest bit interested. On departure I raised the issue as conditions had worsened since my arrival to be tools, "it's fine, it snow with Tarmac underneath." Not the kind of first or last impression I was hoping for. Seemed very average as a conference venue, from guests that were staying. My TV didn't work properly and was freezing cold in all the communal areas. Definitely not a wedding venue, though on the plus side I did find the food ok and some staff were very helpful. Apathy in abundance here in every way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun-Seeker-Sun-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Sorry to read you felt that there was a generally apathy amongst our staff but please be assured that our maintenace team did their best to clear snow from the drive and pathways which they carried out on a continual basis during last week. Unfortunately we do not have either the resources or equipment to completely clear a 250 space car park of snow so the focus was placed on ensuring safe access to the hotel from the car park and keeping the entrance/exit drive clear and gritted which we achieved. To my knowledge all conference organisers were told that the hotel staff would offer any assistance required to their delegates to get them safely to and from their vehicles including a valet parking service. Indeed one member of our maintenance team took it upon himself to clear the snow which had accumulated overnight from all the guests vehicles on our car park to save them from doing this before departing the hotel. Our internal heating system has been operating constantly during the recent cold spell so there is little more we could've done to combat the freezing conditions.
I appreciate you taking the time to post your response.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

First things first when we arrived nobody had bothered to collect payment for our stay even though all account details had been given at least a week before, because this was an all expense paid for stay for my 21st the reception staff then went on to take our account details if they did not get a payment soon. However eventually it was confirmed that they did have all the details they needed for this payment in the first place!
Following this we were sent up to the top floor of the hotel only to find that we had been given the wrong card key, my partner then went down to main reception to get the correct card key only to be given one that didn't even fit in the door!
We were eventually given the correct card key after 30 minutes of waiting outside our PAID FOR ROOM and were deeply disappointed with what we saw. This room was not at all at the standard that it was made out to be.
Also the room could have been cleaner and better maintained. Such as toilet and towel rail (which had rust on it).
Restaurant had very little choice and no prices on the menu.
Last but not least it is advertised to be stratford but would cost at least a £40 round taxi fare just to get there and back.
Overall very poor would not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Katie P,
I would very much like to discuss the issues you raised in your review with you so would you please contact me on stuart.fleming@principal-hayley.com so we can resolve them?
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ettington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing