We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like a Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ettington Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just like a Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Firstly the hotel is in a great location, little village (Ettington) setting and hotel is set in the middle of big grounds. If you use it as a base for Stratford upon Avon then it's a 15 min drive.
When I booked the hotel, I thought it would be an older style hotel in the middle of nowhere. Certainly location was fine, very peaceful and not to be faulted. However the appearance of the reception building was old and just what we expected, it's a shame the rest of the hotel was basically a giant extension which didn't fit in and made it into a Holiday Inn.
We had a standard room on the ground floor, first room we swapped as it smelt a little funky- cant describe it, except maybe they were smoking rooms that have been turned to non smoking. Still the staff swapped us straight away with no issues.
The room was ok, nothing to write home about, just like a Premier Inn room. Tea and coffee in the room, a small flat screen tv and blinds that were not quite blackout, so let light in around the edges.
Spa and gym facilities were good, nice pool and jacuzzi and a sauna (accessed via changing rooms). You will need to get a towel from reception, a code for the changing room door and take a pound coin for the locker. Gym was small but had everything I'd expect to find in a hotel gym.
Restaurant was full the first night when we arrived and the menu was good, so we booked for the second night (Sunday) and were the only booking with a different menu, not so good, so we left and went out for dinner.
The Chequers Inn is in Ettington and apparently very good, it was fully booked and didn't open Sunday evenings, so book early if you want to eat there.
We did eat at another nearby pub called Houndshill inn, which was excellent and good value.
Cleaning staff were ok, room was clean but didn't expect them to knock at 9am on a Sunday- so put the sign up if you want to lay in.
Basically the hotel was more of a conferencing centre than a 4 star hotel in the middle of nowhere. I'm sure if your there on business it will be excellent but if your looking for a nice quiet hotel with character, this is not it.
Basically I can only describe it as a Holiday Inn or Premier Inn. A very average 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBM141011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    489
    352
    122
    69
See reviews for
135
742
17
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

 I stayed here for a conference. It is set in lovely grounds. The main hotel is an old manor style house with modern block attached with the bedroom blocks. I booked an excellent rate for B&B and I thought the room was great.
Really nice looking pool and sauna, with small gym.

Buffet breakfast mediocre but for the price was fine!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jdx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and have always been very happy with the service but this time things were not so good. The room, when we arrived, was lovely, good sized, clean and comfortable. The following day after the room had been serviced things went downhill, the bed looked as though the covers had been thrown on, the coffee and milk had not been replaced and neither had the shower gels etc. The restaurant was a real disappointment - dinner on the first evening I asked for pear cider to which I was told they didn't stock pear cider (funny how I got one at the bar later on), I ordered the cajun chicken breast gormet burger with seasoned wedges and coleslaw, I got a plain chicken breast burger, chips and no coleslaw. Asked about this and asked for mayonaise and ketchup, nothing arrived. Waiter did apologise when he came to ask if we wanted desert. The food the following evening was a buffet at the function, very bland and boring. Breakfast wasn't much better - untoasted toast, having to find someone to ask for coffee, cold plates for the cooked breakfast buffet, not that it mattered because the bacon and sausage were barely warm. All in all not an experience I would like to repeat which is a great shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappycoupleBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for business on a Monday night, en route to a meeting from Kent to the Midlands and the hotel was great. Arrived late, so didn't see a lot of it, but well staffed desk, very nice bedrooms, good breakfast and a nice building and grounds.

Room Tip: stayed in 212 and theres no view from the window, but it is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petesaysblimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was booked for 2 nights when I went to a nearby course.

I always find this chain to be very comfortable. clean, modern and very suitable to the professional person.

The room was very nice, large bed in a good sized room. The shower could have been better but overall the room was lovely.

The restaurant had lovely filling food which although the desserts looked nice, I could not quite make it! The bar was very open and theer was a tv there with comfortable settees.

The swimming pool is a lovely warm pool and was big enough for a good swim especially when empty as you can swim the perimeter. It is shaped and has 3 sides. There is also a hot tub and a sauna available for use as well as a fitness room.

I will definately be rebooking for my next course in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiegldrinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having been booked into a "Family Room for 3" containing a double bed plus a single bed, it is only natural that any reasonable person would expect the room to accommodate 3 occupants. The website described its occupancy as "2 adults, 0 children" - which we assumed to be a mistake as it makes little/no sense.

Upon arrival, we were/felt interrogated by the check-in staff about the room, saying that "Family Room for 3" was merely the name for the room and not an indication of its occupancy, and that if we should have notified the hotel beforehand that we, as a family of 3 (and not 2), were to stay in the room. Ridiculous!

After a lot of faff regarding the room name, we were eventually checked in. The loo seat had very questionable stains... little droplets of dark stains circling most of the seat. The telly was missing its remote control. The beds, bed linen and pillows were comfortable. However, the single bed is location against the room's large radiator - so not for sleepers who don't like heat!

We had trouble using the phone and was unable to ring any outside numbers. The "Restaurant" button on the room phone was connected to the Reception instead of the restaurant. Eventually, we managed to order room service (arrived within a reasonable amount of time). The chips were nice, but avoid the fishcakes at all cost!

There was a wedding taking place at the hotel, which we didn't mind as it was a weekend in a country hotel so it was to be expected. In fact, the wedding reception room looked beautiful with all its fairy lights draping across the ceiling.

We were provided with a copy of our newspaper of choice in the morning, which they placed on the step of our room door. There was a wait to be seated for breakfast, which we didn't mind as it must have been busy with overnight guests from the wedding on the previous night. However, we were seated on a dirty table which had barely been cleaned. There were still bits of food/crumbs on the table AND chairs, and some of the cutlery had smear marks on them. We weren't sure if they were dirty or just badly cleaned, but stayed clear of them just to be safe. There were other clean tables around, so we weren't sure why we were seated on this particular one.

The breakfast itself was decent and had a variety of hot options, cereals, pastries, cold meats and juices. Our waiter at breakfast was a young chap, he was lovely and made a real effort. Toast was only available upon request, and ours never arrived!

The check-out was smooth. The two girls at reception were the same girls who also worked the previous evening; they were lovely and checked us out efficiently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thanks you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay with us. I will investigate the issues you raised with the connection of your telephone, cleanliness of the bathroom and service at Sunday Breakfast. Even if we are busy there is no excuse for dirty tables or cutlery.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Have been to conference here a couple of times and standards have definately dropped. Evening meal was not brilliant, public toilets were not cleaned often enough. I even drew a line in the dust and it was still there the next day!! Breakfast was a joke - cooked food was luke warm, no glasses for orange juice, cutlery missing from tables, no offer of coffee, i had to ask twice. Very scarce staff. Food ran out at lunchtime and again scarce staff! Not impresssed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettington C, General Manager at Ettington Chase Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Sorry you feel our standards on your recent visit did not meet those you have previously experienced. Because of the style of service at breakfast and lunch for conference delegates on occasions food and other items can run out but we always endeavour to replenish these as swiftly as possible. Should you with to discuss these issues further then I would be more than happy to do so. My email address is stuart.fleming@principal-hayley.com shoudl you wish to contact me.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
5.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing