We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems , very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No problems , very good value for money”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here as it was very convenient for visiting Stratford, found a good deal and was very pleased with the outcome. General accommodation spacious enough, well equipped and of a good standard. Had an evening meal on the first night of our stay (part of the deal) and although the choice wasn't extensive it was good quality and enjoyable. Breakfast menu was as you would expect, plenty on offer and overall service was efficient. On a general note - it is always nice when staff exchange hello's and good morning greetings without you having to make the first move. This makes a difference. This is a conference hotel, but despite there being at least 4-5 business groups in the hotel you hardly noticed their presence. Overall found the hotel a good base to visit places from, with at least two pubs, a village store and a Post Office within easy walking distance in Ettington itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openmindedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    517
    366
    127
    71
See reviews for
146
780
18
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel had everything going for it. Setting was lovely and close to Stratford therefor location perfect. It was anything but. The staff are poorly trained, the food, when it eventually came, 1 hour wait for starters!! it was terrible. The manager did his best by persuading us to "give them another chance" which we did and repeated the same the following night, making us miss desert and have to rush to the theatre. All rooms are set for single occupancy and you have to phone to request 2 towels etc. Even the second day when housekeeper should have known better, 2 towels taken away and only 1 returned etc. Iron covered in black sticky subsatance so shirt ruined, replacement blew-up. Ironing board broken so had to use floor. I could go on but I am boring myself!! 16 people each year would have re-booked, not a small number, we will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: I believe the main house is better, we were in the annexe and the windows were very small and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanceDrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This has mixed reviews with some people complaining that it's only the Reception area that is in a period building, that it might be but the rooms which are in new premises attached to the old building are clean, well equipped and spotlessly clean.
The evening meal was very good but not excellent & the choice not fantastic. Wine by the glass & bottle was quite expensive but not extortionate.
Breakfast was not so good as the service was slow and the buffet often ran out of standard items such as egg & bacon!
There is a good pub just past the entrance called the Chequers where we had our 2nd night meal which was quite expensive but great quality.
For what I paid it was good value & in fact I have booked to go back again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

for £79.00 We had room only so cant comment on food /bar,But we used the pool and sauna in the leisure part it was satisfactory but nothing special.The hotel is 10-15 mins from town centre of Stratford upon Avon so really you need a car.Nice countryside location, was very busy with 2 weddings and another large party when we checked in at 9pm on Sat night but it was very quiet upstairs and through the night.The beds and pillows are very comfy,rooms well decorated,very clean a well planned hotel in general, we would stay again. .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1samantha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed with friends at this hotel in March for a two night stay. I certainly don't agree with some of the negative reviews that I've read on this site - we found the hotel to be very good.

The hotel is large and is obviously set up primarily for Conferences - but that shouldn't put off couples or families. We found the staff to be very friendly with our reception at the hotel being dealt with professionally and with a smile.

Our rooms (good size) were clean, tidy and well appointed being typical of this type of establishment - with a modern, good sized bathroom.

The TV service (commented on by one other reviewer) was fine with no reception problems.

We had dinner on the first night and an excellent meal it was too; we also had lunch in the bar during our stay and that, too, was very good and excellent value.

Our friends had brought a bottle of champagne with them and the bar staff kept it in the fridge for us and even served it with flutes when we were ready for it - and with no corkage charge. There is a pleasant bar and whilst drinks were not "Weatherspoon cheap" neither were they exorbitant.

It is true that the hotel has very little in the way of cultivated gardens (even thought the hotel sits in pretty extensive grounds) but that did not detract from the overall feel of the place. Pool etc was very good. The car park is big - no problems finding a space.

Stratford-upon-Avon [much smaller than we expected] is about 15 minutes away by car.

One thing to watch out for are the special deals that the hotel offers (dinner provided as part of the deal for a two night stay at less than £150 total).

We would certainly stay at this hotel again (and we are pretty choosy when it comes to places to stay). Indeed, we have recently recommended it to some friends who will be staying there later in August.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. You get the feeling of a well-run hotel that is used to dealing with large corporate groups, or well-seasoned travellers. We are neither but to be fair I didn't mind being left to my own devises to find my room, the restaurant or the leisure facilities and as I'm not particularly a sporty person, not finding the tennis courts until our last evening wasn't much a problem either. And when they forgot to order my morning paper I laughed it off with the receptionist, after all we only wanted somewhere to use as a base so we could explore the surrounding area and let’s face it I could buy a newspaper anywhere.
However what really let them down was the restaurant! We were taken to our table by a friendly Maitre'd who left us to peruse the menu. The waitress arrived to take our order and I asked for a couple of minutes so we could choose a bottle of wine. She returned approx 20 minutes later with a platter that had bread and an empty bowl on it, with this she placed a bottle of olive oil and a bottle of balsamic vinegar (this had a dead fly floating in it!) and no instructions. OK I knew what this was about but there were other diners who didn't until we explained it to them. The waitress took our food & wine order and our starter turned up in a timely fashion but the wine had failed to materialise. After we finished our soup (which was delicious by the way) I called the waitress over who was very apologetic and went to look in to it. She came back 5 minutes later asking which wine we had ordered. 10 minutes after this our wine turned up. Then Approx. 45 minutes after that our main course turned up, unfortunately the table hadn't been cleared of our soup bowls or excess cutlery and glasses so after a flurry of activity we settled down to eat. I have to admit my food was excellent but my wife, after a couple of bites decided she was passed eating. I explained all this to the restaurant manager who apologised and took the cost of the wine off our bill.
So if you plan to stay here I suggest eating at the Chequers Inn, which is within walking distance and serves superb food and where the service is excellent!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwescott2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Very functional hotel but of high standard. Staff very friendly and helpful. Liked the way the rooms were set apart from main area so noise did not impact too much. Plenty of parking. Drinks pricey but food excellent. Would recommend if you need to visit Banbury, Stratford area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyidris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettington
1.7 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,446 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,847 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,176 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,731 reviews
9.5 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ettington Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettington Chase Hotel

Property: Ettington Chase Hotel
Address: Banbury Rd, Ettington, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon > Ettington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ettington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ettington Chase Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Ettington Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ettington Chase
Ettington Chase Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing