We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat!”
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ettington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Easily found in Ettington near Stratford-upon-Avon, The Chequers Inn is the ideal place to visit, with its perfect balance of good quality, affordable and delicious food along with a tasty drinks selection, and friendly service.Whilst the décor is stunning with subtle French undertones and beautiful tapestries, the comfy armchairs and relaxed, pleasant staff give the Chequers that welcoming, homely feel. Diners are presented with the choice of seating either in the relaxed setting of the bar or the well appointed restaurant. There is additional seating in the large garden, overlooking the chef’s herb and vegetable patches.The Chequers al a carte menu is a selection of modern European dishes along with some traditional English favourites.
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Essington Chase hotel and booked a table here for the Saturday night (after a disapponting Friday night meal at the hotel). What a great place to relax, catch up with friends and enjoy a good food. Menu choice is not massive but what it does do is good food which caters for all tastes. Service was excellent, we had booked at the last minute and were told they could fit us in at 1830 but needed the table by 2000. At no point were we rushed or given the impression they wanted the table, they allowed us plenty of time to enjoy our food and chat. A great place to eat, but do book to avoid disappointment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank StanNval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    118
    27
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

On the basis of 1 visit in a noisy group of 10 on a busy day I can only endorse other comments. Very interesting gastro pub menu. Service good by pleasant girls. Food met expectations. Good ales, altho perhaps less brands and more micro would be good.Will visit again. It probably won't be getting a Michelin anytime soon - meant in a good way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dazler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

During a few days away my wife and I popped into The Cheques Inn for a quiet drink before returning to our nearby hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the place gave off a good vibe. After a glance at the appealing menu and a read through the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to book a table for the following night, and were not disappointed. The food was superb and plentiful and was very reasonably priced. We would definitely return when in the area again and would highly recommend to anyone to visit for themselves.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craig866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just had to tell you had a super evening at The Chequers on Saturday evening. We picked The chequers from tripadvisor and I am pleased to say we were not disappointed.From the friendly staff to the surroundings and ambiance not to mention the fine cuisine it ticked all our boxes. We will certainly return again the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whilst on holiday in the Cotswolds last week my Wife and I decided to have dinner at the Chequers Inn after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.
I asked if we could take our Golden Retriever into the bar and was advised that this was fine.On arrival we were pleasantly surprised as the decor in the bar is almost as good as in the restaurant. The very pleasant waitress presented our dog with a chew and a bowl of water and unlike so many restaurants seemed genuinely happy to serve us.
Our meal was excellent and reasonably priced and it was a real pleasure to eat in such a welcoming environment.
Will definitely return when next in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philby101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Welford on Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing