We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific place to visit - even if war memorabilia doesn't interest you.”

Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Centre is home to Lancaster NX611 and a museum based on a WWII airfield with original control tower, Escaping Society museum, Home Front exhibition, Hampden restoration project, memorial chapel and many memorabilia exhibitions. The Centre is open Mon-Sat. Closed Sundays. During the Summer the Lancaster performs taxy runs usually once a week. It is possible to have a taxy ride on the Lancaster, booking is essential as rides get booked up months in advance.
Eastern England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific place to visit - even if war memorabilia doesn't interest you.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fascinating museum created by a family in memory of their brother and the thousands of Bomber Command. Seeing the Lancaster is breathtaking and the hangar is full of equipment, photos, anecdotes, newspaper articles etc, including sections for particular crew e.g. Polish airmen. There is loads to see - allow several hours - the chapel has a poignant atmosphere, and the Control Tower is incredibly spooky. Round off your visit with a meal or snack in the Naafi, and there is a gift shop for souvenirs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Polestar46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    95
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way imaginable.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The expression "unique" is somewhat over used these days, however this is a unique, wonderful, magical and emotional experience.

Nowhere (at least in England) can you be taken back to the 1940's on a Lancaster bomber, literally taken, on a taxi ride around the airfield. The whole experience is overwhelmingly brilliant, the care and hospitality of the family staff is outstanding, the airfield at East Kirkby is eerily nostalgic, and sitting in a Lanc with all 4 Merlins running is breathtaking.

So go there - experience it all, be amazed. I'm guessing the people who rated it less than a 5 went there when it was closed or they have no soul.

And, the food is just awesome. Great shop, great team, great family, superb.

Ian and Janet.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IJCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for WWII enthusiasts”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Set in the heart of Lincolnshire, the Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre is a family run museum which has become a living memorial to the 55,000 men of Bomber Command who sadly lost their lives during the second world war.

If you are a Lancaster or WWII enthusiast then a trip to the Lincolnshire Aviation Centre is a must, most of the ex airfield has been left as it would have been during WWII making the experience very realistic especially when you can see the Lancaster bomber 'Just Jane' doing taxy runs. Even though the plane currently is not able to fly just seeing this amazing beast travelling on the runway and being so close to it is an amazing sight. Of course should you wish to do so you can also book to be a passenger on one of the taxy runs - current cost £260 (Sept 2013).

The museum which is set in different buildings on the airfield such as the control tower or the hangar is full of fascinating artifacts including items which belonged to personnel stationed at the base during WWII.

If you can time your visit to coincide with one of the events held, then I would thoroughly recommend it. On our recent visit on the August bank holiday Monday, the Props and Pistons event was taking place, the entry cost £10 rather than the usual £7 but it was well worth it to see all the different cars which were also on display as well the BBMF fly past from nearby RAF Conningsby.

The NAAFI has plenty of traditional home cooked food on offer should you be feeling hungry at reasonably prices, the locally sourced sausage rolls and Piper's crisps are delicious.

Well worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank badger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“chance of a lifetime!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have always wanted to see/hear a lancaster bomber! and boy i was in luck as the day of our visit not only was i going to see one they were doing the "taxy ride" when the lanc is fired up and several lucky so and so's get to ride in it on a perimeter airfield tour... twice on the same day!.
Its fairly costly and booked in advance, but as a red letter type day !!
Anyway the rest of us got to be within a few yards of the lanc firing up all 4 merlins (wow what a sweet racket!) and wath her taxy away and soon back in when the pilot really gunned up a couple of engines to high revs.. awesome.
The rest of the centre is packed with memorabilia of bomber command, several old vehicles and many static/interactive displays of life here and in occupied territory during WWII, and the work of the aircraft recovery trust. Only one other plane, a dakota in the hanger, but you only need the lancaster!
origional nafi cafe with good food and a good gift shop.
I would ring in advance to see when the lanc is running as without that the day would have been a bit more run of the mill.
Entrance fee was worth every penny, a day i will never forget!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last minute decision”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Arrived at LAHC mid afternoon, as a spur of the moment decision. It was cold and rainy and we had two soggy retrievers tagging along...none of it was a problem. The dogs were welcomed in everywhere other than the museum and NAAFI for obvious reasons. We thought it would be a quick look round then home to dry off, but there was so much to see and so many interesting sights to take in that we were there quite a while. Unfortunately we didnt get to see the Lancaster taxi but we had seen a fly past a couple of days prior by one of the few still flying and were so impressed we made a detour to East Kirkby to find out the history behind such a magnificent feat of engineering. So much to see and read that we will need to return to really get the full benefit...luckily this jewel is just on our doorstep.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing