We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quietest place in Clun”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dick Turpin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Main room
Main room with log fire
The view
Local landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yarnowalc...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quietest place in Clun”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Dick Turpin cottage is just the best place to stay if you are looking for total peace and quiet and relaxation. Roger and Burkhard are the loveliest hosts, supplying a welcome hamper that beats the best! We felt very much at home and enjoyed our breakfasts looking over the stunning Clun valley. In a word.....perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments it was the peace and quiet allied to the incredible views that made me choose this wonderful location as my home
It is great to be able to share it with our guests in The Dick Turpin. I am so
pleased you had a good week Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
552willia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Dick Turpin resisted”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have been visiting Shropshire regularly for the past three years and have stayed at the Dick Turpin cottage every time.
The cottage is first class in every way the grounds are extensive and guests are free to roam at will.
The small town of Clun is close by and is served by a Butcher and a general dealers/post office as well as two very good pubs.
Most importantly the owner ( Roger ) is always very welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thanks for your kind review, and for choosing The Dick Turpin .
It is the detailed comments from our regular guests that
keep me up to scratch when things need replacing or renewing. Your
loyalty is much appreciated Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuartgra...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Glorious in every respect.”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Situated in a beautiful, tranquil part of South Shropshire with stunning views over the rolling hills,the only sounds are bird song and the occasional bleating of sheep calling for their lambs. The cottage is fabulously presented, immaculately maintained and guests are greeted with fresh flowers and plants throughout. Once here, you will not want to leave.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Hello very many thanks for your kind review.
As you know we do try to add additional items specific to each guest.
Glad that you like the new Miele Tumble Dryer we always aim for the best we can
Looking forward to welcoming you in 2018 Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuhu21
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Back to 'our' Dick Turpin Cottage”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our third visit to the wonderful Dick Turpin Cottage.
A warm welcome awaited us, the cottage was full of beautiful fresh flowers, the fridge was well stocked with cheese, eggs & champagne, fresh bread & a cake were in the kitchen as well as wine. Tea & coffee plus all the extras were also there. Chocolates by the bed & plenty of bathroom necessities were also supplied. More than a home from home!
The grounds were perfect, well worth the climb (sturdy footwear & a head for heights needed) to the top of the woods for the view & solitude it offers.
There is plenty to do in the area, we visited Acton Victorian farm, the Long Mynd, Carding Mill Valley, Much Wenlock Priory, Knighton (for Offers Dyke) Welshpool Steam railway & Powis Castle, all within a 30 mile radius. (If you don't want to wonder about, it is just as good to chill 'at home').
Clun village has a very good pub (The White Horse) serving excellent food. Clun castle is worth walking around (we didn't do that this time).
We hope to return many more times

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuhu2015
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Every thing one could possibly want in the cottage. Quiet and Peaceful.”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Dick Turpin Cottage. Shropshire. Beautiful cottage and surroundings. Many attractions near by. Several National Trust properties. Powis Castle about 45 miles
Blists Victorian Town not fa from Iron Bridge and many more

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, the comfort and space of the cottage does seem to suit many of our regulars. However as you found the location is also very special. Such a remote and beautiful part of
England. Looking forward to making sure your next visit is a success! Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vintagela...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at this great cottage. Wonderful surroundings with open views over the valley. Everything you could possibly need for a relaxing break was available in the cottage. Champagne, butter, cheese, milk, bread, jam, sponge cake, red wine - all provided by our gracious hosts. This cottage is ideal for anyone wishing a comfortable relaxing break yet within easy travelling distance of all that Shropshire has to offer. Cannot recommend highly enough. We were sorry to leave a day early but had family commitments. PS - great log burner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to welcome
guests who appreciate the wonderful thing s that south shropshire has to offer. It was good that you found a range of locally sourced food both in the local shops and cafes but also in the Michelin starred restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline W
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in beautiful Shropshire”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Dick Turpin cottage is lovely and located in a most beautiful part of Shropshire, we look forward to returning later in the year. Roger is a perfect host and has thought of everything to make his guests feel welcome and very comfortable. Christmas morning we walked through the woods at the back of the cottage and came back to a cosy fire and a glass of Cockford aperitif - thank you Roger, it was delicious! We played music through the very clever sound system (that can be heard in every room if you wish) before watching a film in the afternoon while toasting our toes - bliss! The village of Clun is only about a mile away and although we didn't get chance during this visit to try out the local pub, we can certainly recommend the florist/greengrocer shop and butcher, everyone was so friendly, produce was fresh and locally sourced. See you in a few months Roger when we hope to stay again. PS A big thank you for going to so much bother with the Christmas tree and garlands - it was all so lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing The Dick Turpin Cottage for your Christmas break. I look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully the weather will be kinder and you can enjoy the beautiful South Shropshire countryside. Best wishes Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing