We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A gem in beautiful Shropshire”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dick Turpin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Main room
Main room with log fire
The view
Local landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pauline W
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in beautiful Shropshire”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Dick Turpin cottage is lovely and located in a most beautiful part of Shropshire, we look forward to returning later in the year. Roger is a perfect host and has thought of everything to make his guests feel welcome and very comfortable. Christmas morning we walked through the woods at the back of the cottage and came back to a cosy fire and a glass of Cockford aperitif - thank you Roger, it was delicious! We played music through the very clever sound system (that can be heard in every room if you wish) before watching a film in the afternoon while toasting our toes - bliss! The village of Clun is only about a mile away and although we didn't get chance during this visit to try out the local pub, we can certainly recommend the florist/greengrocer shop and butcher, everyone was so friendly, produce was fresh and locally sourced. See you in a few months Roger when we hope to stay again. PS A big thank you for going to so much bother with the Christmas tree and garlands - it was all so lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing The Dick Turpin Cottage for your Christmas break. I look forward to welcoming you back when hopefully the weather will be kinder and you can enjoy the beautiful South Shropshire countryside. Best wishes Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham H
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect place to unwind”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage exceeded our expectations by a mile. The location is fantastic and the peace is remarkable, no road noise, just the sounds of the birds, the sheep and the babbling brook. The decor is beautiful, full of imagination and flair with so many interesting things to capture your attention. Everywhere is spotlessly clean with vases of fresh flowers to add to the welcome. The welcome pack is very generous and just when we thought we had found everything, we found a large chocolate cake! Roger and Burkhard have thought of everything and are certainly the perfect hosts. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A cottage that was full of character, cosy and clean
Liked least: We loved everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2016
Thank you for your review; it certainly makes our work worthwhile when we hear from happy guests. It is good that you also enjoyed the location which is so very special. Please visit us again soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnweave...
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, luxurious retreat”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage fully deserves its 5-star rating. It is beautifully appointed, full of interesting artifacts and in a glorious location. A 'welcome hamper' greets the guests on arrival, containing milk, butter, eggs etc. but also champagne! The owner is next door, and nothing is too much trouble for him. The views from the terrace are superb, as are the walks in the woods above the terrace. If it's cold and rainy, you either click on the central heating or light the wood-burning stove. The kitchen has every appliance you may need. On the other hand, that area has some excellent eating places, some with Michelin stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review it means a lot to me when guests enjoy the cottage and this beautiful part of England. Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
552willia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A totally wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our fourth stay at Dick Turpin cottage in two years and was as magical as our first visit.
The cottage is well appointed and comfortably furnished in an 'eclectic' way. The extensive grounds are available for guests to ramble at will, or one can just relax and enjoy the views of the Shropshire hills.
The village of Clun is close by and is served by two very good pubs. The White Horse in particular serves very good food.
Above all Roger ( the owner and neighbour ) is the most perfect host.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2016
Thank you for your review I am pleased that you love this beautiful part
of England nearly as much as me ! Do please visit again soon to see all
the small but important improvements we make each month. Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monian11
1 review
“An amazing cottage with amazing hosts”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned home from a week at this beautiful cottage and once again have had an amazing time. Roger and Burkhard have been such fantastic hosts and even gave us an Easter egg (along with lots of other lovely treats, including an Easter tree and gardens). Once again we were able to relax in this beautiful part of the world and we can't wait to come back again soon to this beautiful cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
Thank you for choosing to visit the beautiful village of Clun ,it remote
location in the rolling hills of South Shropshire is so special.
We do always try to make the welcome hamper and flowers appropriate
for the time of year. Please come again soon ...........
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnbC460...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful , relaxing stay with added treats.”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A fantastic cottage, peaceful and enchanting. We could not have asked for a more relaxing stay. This was our third visit and will definitely not be our last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments your continued support is very much appreciated Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latics09
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic weekend away in a most gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed December 18, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Wow what can I say! Myself and my partner stayed here for three nights at the begining of December and it was the most perfect weekend spent in an extra special cottage in Clun, Shropshire. The owner Roger has tastefully designed a home from home with everything and anything you can think of! From the latest tv to speakers from the Bose stereo in every room. A hamper awaits you upon arrival including champagne. The cottage is in an area of outstanding natural beauty and is well worth it's five star rating. Bath robes and towels also provided for guests in the beautifuly decorated bathroom which also provided various assortments of beauty products. Do not hesitate to book the cottage. We will be back and indeed we will be making an annual visit to this little peace of heaven.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2015
What pleasure it is to know hear how much you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful part of England. Do please let me know when you are able to return so I can try to make sure we get everything 100% right for your visit. Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;