We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in beautiful countryside.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Llanhedric House

Llanhedric House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Llanhedric House
The Kitchen The Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Llanhedric House
The Kitchen
The Dining Room
Childrens play area and view from the bedroom
King Bedroom
The Games Room with Table Football, Table Tennis and Darts
Double & Single Bedroom
The BBQ Area
The Landing
The Welcome Hamper
Bathroom
The Attic Room
Twin Bedroom
Garden View
The Snug
Garden games, inc a badminton set, croquet and cricket
The Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bod456
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just had a fantastic weekend stay. House very spacious for large adult party, games room, large dining room and cosy log burners. Lovely Autumn cross country walk to Clun, via Clun castle, and a stop for tea and cakes in the Maltings cafe before retuning back to the cosy house.

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineO...
Châteauneuf, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed house”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious, well laid out house, perfect for a large group as we were. It was spotlessly clean on arrival with a welcome basket containing home made cake and fresh eggs. The large farm kitchen with a table to seat at least 8 (additional dining room seats 16) became the hub of the house as our family all caught up with each other's news over the weekend. The two games rooms (one with Pool Table and another with Table Tennis) were a real bonus, as was the beautiful garden with seating areas and manicured lawn. An extra bathroom, or at least a separate toilet would have been a welcome addition, but it's just ok for 15 people. It is in quite a remote location, which great for walks straight from the front door and makes for stunning views but means it's a bit of a drive to buy food. We came with ample supplies - recommended!

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen R
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual Family Gathering”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our group comprised seven adults and four young granddaughters.The house was ideal in size and facilities with extensive gardens where the granddaughters could expend their energy. The fixed BBQ was well used. The local shops in Clun were two miles away but the Senior Citizen managed to cycle each day for his papers in the Spar shop ( they take Telegraph vouchers and have a free ATM ) but the final short hill on the way back is a struggle. A lovely walk through fields to Clun Castle, a paddle in the picturesque river followed by a cream tea at the local tea shop. We even ventured further afield to Ludlow, with its wonderful castle, quaint shops and riverside, which on weekends had live light music. Lots a places to visit. A good base.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A range of room locations on three floors made hide-and-seek great fun
Liked least: Slightly hilly area for soft senior citizens
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwichro...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family get together”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 10 adults (oldest in their mid seventies and not very mobile) and 5 children (youngest was 2) had the perfect family get together to celebrate two big birthdays at Llanhedric house. The house has the most breathtaking views across the valley and we enjoyed several marvellous walks from the doorstep. The house is spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the log burners were an easy and cosy way to keep the less mobile people warm, and we all just about fitted around the big dining table for meals together. Having a bedroom and shower on the ground floor was ideal for the grandparents and the secure garden with swings and slide was hugely popular with the younger children, while the oldest one loved exploring the nearby stream. We were all very happy with our stay and will certainly be back.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and walking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidP197
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing house and setting.”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For a large family or group get together, there can be few better places to stay than Llanhedric House. We enjoyed an extended weekend for a special birthday including 9 adults and 5 children and everyone was impressed and amazed by the location, comfort, accommodation, facilities and warm welcome. The children particularly liked the garden, games room and 'space to play'. There are plenty of opportunities for quiet country country walks and unique charm of local towns and villages to explore. We would hope to return and the owner is very helpful, friendly and the welcome hamper of local produce was the best we have experienced.
Many thanks.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and house
Liked least: Play room 2 a bit dark and cold.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're really glad you enjoyed the House and its location and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie153...
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect! The whole family had a wonderful time.”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was simply the perfect venue for our family gathering to celebrate a 60th birthday. The ages ranged from 1 year to 81 years and the accommodation truly had something to suit everyone: quiet space, large bedrooms, log fires, games rooms (it was hard to get the children out of those!), beautiful large dining room in addition to the superb large kitchen with its' extensive cooking facilities. The house is fabulous and has so much character - we all loved it. It gave us the space to be together but not on top of each other too. Set in such fabulous countryside with so many lovely places to visit nearby - everywhere we went the local people were also welcoming and friendly. The local pub does great food too.
Elaine has thought of everything from the welcome right down to the fireguard for the baby. The welcome was so warm and friendly - we would definitely recommend staying here.
We had two wonderful ladies, Wendy and Jane, who came in and catered a meal for us all on the Saturday night and it was divine! So reasonable and so tasty! Well worth the treat.
The plan had been for all the family to have along weekend together and for my husband and I to then have a few days on our own................everyone loved it so much most ended up staying the whole week!
Thank-you Elaine, it was exactly what we wanted and needed.
Bernie & John x

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you Bernie and John for your fantastic feedback. We're really pleased you had such a good stay. All the best Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The house was perfect for our family celebration.”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A weekend spent at Llanhedric House was not enough as we all wished we could have stayed for longer. Our party ranged in age from 7 to 80 and there was something for everyone at this lovely house. The weather was not great but we still got out for a country walk to nearby Clun. The wood burning stove was a much enjoyed feature and very well used, one good reason for a winter stay at the house. There is lots of space in the house to spread out and we even got my mum playing pool for the first time ever at the age of 80. We would all love to visit again one day, definitely recommended.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2016
Thank you Pam this this lovely review. We're really pleased you all enjoyed the stay and that your mum might have found herself a new hobby!! Hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing