We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect! The whole family had a...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Llanhedric House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kitchen The Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The Kitchen
The Dining Room
Childrens play area and view from the bedroom
King Bedroom
Llanhedric House
Double & Single Bedroom
The Games Room with Table Football, Table Tennis and Darts
The BBQ Area
The Landing
Bathroom
The Attic Room
Childrens Play Area
Twin Bedroom
Garden View
The Snug
Garden games, inc a badminton set, croquet and cricket
The Welcome Hamper
The Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bernie153...
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect! The whole family had a wonderful time.”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was simply the perfect venue for our family gathering to celebrate a 60th birthday. The ages ranged from 1 year to 81 years and the accommodation truly had something to suit everyone: quiet space, large bedrooms, log fires, games rooms (it was hard to get the children out of those!), beautiful large dining room in addition to the superb large kitchen with its' extensive cooking facilities. The house is fabulous and has so much character - we all loved it. It gave us the space to be together but not on top of each other too. Set in such fabulous countryside with so many lovely places to visit nearby - everywhere we went the local people were also welcoming and friendly. The local pub does great food too.
Elaine has thought of everything from the welcome right down to the fireguard for the baby. The welcome was so warm and friendly - we would definitely recommend staying here.
We had two wonderful ladies, Wendy and Jane, who came in and catered a meal for us all on the Saturday night and it was divine! So reasonable and so tasty! Well worth the treat.
The plan had been for all the family to have along weekend together and for my husband and I to then have a few days on our own................everyone loved it so much most ended up staying the whole week!
Thank-you Elaine, it was exactly what we wanted and needed.
Bernie & John x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you Bernie and John for your fantastic feedback. We're really pleased you had such a good stay. All the best Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The house was perfect for our family celebration.”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A weekend spent at Llanhedric House was not enough as we all wished we could have stayed for longer. Our party ranged in age from 7 to 80 and there was something for everyone at this lovely house. The weather was not great but we still got out for a country walk to nearby Clun. The wood burning stove was a much enjoyed feature and very well used, one good reason for a winter stay at the house. There is lots of space in the house to spread out and we even got my mum playing pool for the first time ever at the age of 80. We would all love to visit again one day, definitely recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2016
Thank you Pam this this lovely review. We're really pleased you all enjoyed the stay and that your mum might have found herself a new hobby!! Hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances H
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for family celebrations”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were so pleased in our choice of renting Llanhedric House for my father's 80th birthday celebration. The house is spacious but cozy with its log burners in the lounge and dining room. The downstairs bedroom and bathroom were ideal for my parents as my mum is disabled and the games room with the pool table, table tennis table and table football were ideal entertainment for the young adults in the party. The owner, Elaine was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
As we were doing all the catering ourselves during the weekend, the large, well equipped kitchen meant cooking for 14 each day was effortless.
We were all delighted with the accommodation and although the weather was poor, the location was so quiet and peaceful and we would love to return Ito explore this area. We will definitely recommend Llanhedric House to friends.
Although there were only 3 bathrooms, as we were all family, this was not a problem for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of property
Liked least: Lack of bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
Thank you Frances, I'm really glad you enjoyed the weekend and your dad had a great birthday celebration. Hopefully see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis L
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best venue yet by far for our family get-togethers.”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We felt at home as soon as we arrived. The house was warm and cosy and beautifully decorated for Christmas - the mulled wine & mince pies particularly delicious & welcome!
A very friendly welcome from Elaine and we were very grateful for her dealing with provisions delivery. The games facilities are really good and great to have when weather is not good enough to walk etc The family kitchen, dining room and lounge are all very comfortable and spacious. The bedrooms are well appointed, though It would be good to have another bath/ shower room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Thanks Lis for your kind words. We're really pleased you enjoyed it and wish you all a very Happy Christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invarac
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The house exceeded our expectations, plenty of room to hold 8 adults and 7 grandchildren and still enjoy your own space. Lots of activities both inside and a large safe garden to occupy us all. We also enjoyed the walks that started from the gate.
The big bonus was the dining room, the long table allowed all of us to sit together and enjoy each others company.
The grandchildren Aged from 21 months to 15 years said they would to come again.
The owner made us feel at home, thanks E.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Thanks so much for your comments, we're really glad you enjoyed the House and that you had a great anniversary celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing house in a beauiful location”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a lovely family holiday at Llanhedric house at the end of August. The house is well presented,extremely comfortable and very homely. It is equipped with everything that you need. The garden is perfect for kids.Walks on the Shropshire Way are right on your doorstep. Owners are extremely friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to re-book should we visit Shropshire again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2015
Thanks so much for your review, we'd love to see you again if you decide to return to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwdebbie2...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect house for large family group holiday”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just returned from a brilliant week in this gorgeous house which is spotlessly clean, really comfy and a true home-from-home (we all wish!). We were 13 in all, 4 generations, ranging from 4 months to 83 years old and we all loved Llandhedric House and the huge and amazing gardens. The house is so warm, welcoming and comfortable. It's extremely well equipped - everything you need in the kitchen for keen cooks. Great big cosy sitting room. Good bathrooms and very comfy beds and lovely bedding. Elaine was really helpful and responded promptly to e mails before we went. Loved our Welcome Pack - it was really generous and full of homemade goodies. We ordered a massive on-line shop which Elaine very kindly unpacked before our arrival. The huge kitchen is the heart of the house, lots of space for all. The games room is great, the pool table was well-used. Every bedroom is special; this is vey unusual for such a large house. Loads of things for the children (ours ranged from 4 months to 5 years and there were toys and equipment for all). The views from the house are indescribably beautiful. Everyone loved the gardens which are huge. The peace is amazing, as are the stars at night - no light pollution. Great BBQ. Excellent walking from the house and lots to do in the area. We had a special meal catered for us and it was restaurant standard. We'd like to endorse the caterer that Elaine recommends - Teresa. She is excellent. I could go on and on! We had simply the best week's holiday and can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. House, gardens, location, Elaine's attention to detail
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. Its so pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed the House and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing