We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a superb house and lovely place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Llanhedric House

Llanhedric House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Llanhedric House
The Kitchen The Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Llanhedric House
The Kitchen
The Dining Room
Childrens play area and view from the bedroom
King Bedroom
Double & Single Bedroom
The Games Room with Table Football, Table Tennis and Darts
The BBQ Area
The Landing
The Welcome Hamper
Bathroom
The Attic Room
Twin Bedroom
Garden View
The Snug
Garden games, inc a badminton set, croquet and cricket
The Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Clun, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fr00tishu...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a superb house and lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Having just returned home from a weekend at Llanhedric House the only negative thing I have to say is that we didn’t have long enough there! We WILL be returning again but for longer…! The purpose this time was for my sisters 40th birthday celebrations.

The owner –

Elaine, the owner, kindly allowed us to set off fireworks on our first night (sisters birthday is 5th November). She also unloaded our grocery shopping which arrived just before we did as well as let some early arrivals of the group in. She was always quick to answer my emails when asking questions in the run up to our stay. We also arrived to a beautiful loaf of fresh bread and some mulled wine jam which was gorgeous.

The cottage -

Our group was made up of 11 - 9 adults between 26 and 78 years of age with 3 youngsters between 8 and 15 – Not a minute of boredom was had by anyone – this house has something for everyone. It is spacious and roomy whilst still cosy, there are areas to relax and areas to play (adults as well!). The cottage has a very warm & welcoming atmosphere, and is tastefully set out. If it weren’t November we’d of spent more time outside in the wonderful & peaceful garden. I imagine in summer a BBQ out there would be fantastic!

The pool table room was very popular this weekend as was the snug for a bit of time out. I personally stayed in the top room and loved this room! The large shower in the bathroom was brilliant too although I’d of loved time for a bath… The dining room is fantastic for a group of around 12 – 14 to spend an evening meal time together. The kitchen is well equipped, not a single item missing. The pantry was a great extra space for food and drink storage.

It is easily my favourite cottage to holiday in (and I have been to a fair few!!!)

The area –

Some of us visited the Acton Scot Working Farm which I highly recommend. It is fantastic to see a farm working with no modern machinery or processes. It is very lively and for £8 adults/£5 children it is a bargain as at least half a day can be spent here. We also visited Ludlow and Ludlow food centre which is a nice area, again wish we had longer to spend more time here. Just driving along it is obvious there are many good walks to do.

Information -

A quick TIP for the ladies (and gents!) - take an extension lead if you wish to use straighteners/hair dryer etc. in front of a mirror in the bedrooms; none of them have a powerpoint near the mirrors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness yet cosyness, the views, the ease.
Liked least: No powerpoints by mirrors!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Also, thank you for the tip on the mirrors, we have since moved mirrors around so they are nearer plug points.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranB59
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house and location”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were a family group of 17 over 3 generations from different locations in the UK and Canada. The perfect house in the perfect location. The owner was there to greet us with coffee, hamper and a log fire burning beautifully in the lounge, it was so cosy. The facilities were great and the pool table, table tennis, table football and darts kept many of the party amused for hours. There was plenty of rooms and space for everyone and we never felt to crowded. This was our first time as a family sharing a large house for a weekend and everthing was just what we hoped for and we would certainly do it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House was very homely
Liked least: Not enough bathrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us recently. Its always pleasing to have good feedback and know that you all enjoyed the House so much. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard D
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house in beautiful scenary”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at Llanhedric House . Elaine was there to greet us when we arrived and made us very welcome from the start . The pot of coffee and welcome basket was a nice touch .This is a large , comfortable house which easily absorbed our party of 14 with plenty of room for everyone and the superb large dining table was ideal for the evening feast . We all enjoyed the pool table , table tennis , table football and darts when the weather was poor . Sunday was a glorious sunny day which started with breakfast outside in the beautiful gardens and then a lovely walk along the Shropshire Way into Clun and back . This is an ideal house in which to chill out and relax and has everything you could ever need for a large get together . Elaine was a pleasure to deal with throughout the booking process and our stay and I would recommend Llanhedric as a great place to stay for a large family get together .

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for staying with us recently. We're really pleased you had such a good weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland P
Shepshed, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb property in delightful and peaceful countryside”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Llanhedric house is the ideal place to stay for an extended family in peaceful, idyllic English countryside. For the adults and also children there are beautiful safe walks straight from the house (no need to use your car). Just a few minutes walk and you are on the Shropshire Way and a two mile walk leads into Clun with interesting art and craft shops and the ruins of a medieval castle. The house is ideal in poor weather, with a pool table, table tennis darts and a variety of games to suit all ages. Outside the teenagers enjoyed badminton and croquet. We felt that the younger children (age 1,3 and 5 ) could play inside and out safely while the the older ones could relax in the beautiful garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: tight door handle
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us this summer and your review. We're delighted you enjoyed it so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie G
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hen do fun”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We hired the house for a hen do weekend. We loved it. The house is in a gorgeous setting, with beautiful views and a big garden to enjoy. We spent most of our time in the dining room and kitchen as we all wanted to stay together. The welcome hamper was lovely and made us feel welcome straight away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're very pleased you had such a good weekend for your Hen Do and hope the wedding went well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawro2112
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic All Round”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently had an outstanding stay in this house. All the rooms are spacious, the garden huge and beautifully kept, loads of toys for the kids, great walking from the door, lovely beer in the local village, comfy beds and nice welcome pack. We highly recommend this place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious rooms
Liked least: Only 1 family bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine U
1 review
“A beautiful tranquil location with plenty of room for the kids to play”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a reunion of six friends and our young families and all had a great stay here. I loved the view from our bedroom, not another house in sight. The kids loved playing hide and seek in the garden and there is a great enclosed yard to ride balance bikes. It was lovely to have a walk along the public footpath through the fields to see the sheep. We had damp weather which made the wood burning stove even more cosy. The owner supplied lots of toys for the kids and adults so there was never a quiet moment and we didn't need any trips in the car after we arrived. Thank you for a lovely weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2014
Thank you, we're really please you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing