We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking in Wales” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sun Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Walking in Wales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Clun was the starting point for an 11-day walking holiday in Wales. My experience at the Sun Inn was good, but I did not leave with the warm memories recounted by other reviewers. I was greeted by a young woman and a somewhat cold "Here's your key. Your room is around the back." Upon entering my room, the first thing that struck me was the musty smell. As a first impression, it left me a little unhappy, but things did improve. The room itself was comfortable and clean. Dinner in the pub was quite good, as was breakfast the next morning. However, I left feeling like little more than an anonymous customer. The town itself is quite pretty and I thoroughly enjoyed discovering it. Given the glowing reviews from other guests, I can only assume I arrived on an off day, something which happens in the best establishments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esseecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevdaviesuk, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. The pub has changed hands since you stayed at The Sun Inn. Since September, I have been making customer service a key priority and I can learn from your disappointment regarding the levels of service offered to you in August. As a listed building, it is hard to keep on top of some of the dampness in this old building but we are working hard on all aspects to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay. I hope that the next time you are staying in Shropshire, you will come and see the difference we've made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were delighted by the Sun -Bev and Duncan were so friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Dom, my Cocker Spaniel stretched out in front of a roaring fire while we had a wonderful evening meal in the bar. Our room in the annex was first rate-well furnished, comfortable and quiet-just what two weary walkers needed. Breakfast was excellent. All in all this was fantastic value for money and we would be only too pleased to visit again. Clun itself is a delightful little town, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevdaviesuk, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Superb night at the Sun Inn (Clun) this weekend. The owners Bev and Dunc were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The pub itself is full of character and a real gem. The accommodation was of the highest standard and the food was excellent. The village and surrounding area are magnificent and the whole weekend was perfect. In addition the evenings entertainment was first class, as was the hospitality from the locals. This place is well worth a visit and i would thoroughly recommend it. A real cracker and a superb example of how a pub should be. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevdaviesuk, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to add your feedback. It was great to hear you had such a good time! We hope to see youall again, next time you are in Clun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Sun Inn is a centuries old inn, full of charm and in a delightful setting. My accomodation, was in a beautiful annex at the rear of the inn, which was quiet and very relaxing. The food was of the very best quality and the owners were very friendly,(even though the licencee was a Wolves supporter) Ha Ha! The Inn is about three miles from the Offa's Dyke path, and the walk is along the road, but is highlighted towards the end by the views of the castle.. I have promised the wife that I will take her to the Sun Inn for an overnight in the not too distant future, such was my impression of this lovely Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms are in an annex at the rear of the Inn, and are therefor quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWilliams9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevdaviesuk, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
It is great to hear such positive feedback from you. We had only just taken over the pub in September when you stayed. We are working hard to make the business a success and build on the reputation that has developed over the years. I do hope that you will come and stay with us again. Then you can show your wife what a superb pub this is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

Loved this little gem found on an off-chance search for an impromptu stay. It's gorgeous, and packed with charm and original features. At £80 for a suite in a converted granery with full English home-cooked breakfast it was good value, and the evening meal was large and lovely! Friendly welcome from the locals, and a thoroughly nice time. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiskersMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
3.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Property: The Sun Inn
Address: 10 High Street | Shropshire, Clun SY7 8JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Clun, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing