We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, basic inn with great beer and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Ranked #1 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming, basic inn with great beer and good food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

First impressions on walking in were mixed. A good, basic, locals pub with clean but slightly tired décor and a very worn bar carpet. However, we got a warm welcome from the bar staff AND the locals, and were shown up to our room. Average size, very clean, comfortable beds, small bathroom with shower.

Back down in the bar we soon forgot our misgivings when we saw the range of real ales on tap. Well-kept beer, and good service. (The draught mild was exceptional!) The evening meals were unpretentious, tasty, and large helpings. We ate in the bar as we had a dog with us (dogs made very welcome), but there is also a small dining room where breakfasts are served. Delicious breakfasts, at that.

Overnight in the Red Room was a bit noisy. Although there are no jukeboxes or noisy gambling machines, on the first two evenings people were in the bar directly below till 1:00am. Above us was staff accommodation. Only problem with that was the noisy floor-boards (it's a very old building). But the beds were comfortable, and the noise was just friendly banter, nothing aggressive, so no real worries. On the last night all was quiet.

So to sum up, the place was friendly, good food and drink, excellent value for money, and only let down by tired décor in the bar. But this IS a local's pub, and as such welcoming to all, and impossible to keep pristine. We will not hesitate to return, but will try to select a quieter room next time.

Room Tip: Best to avoid the Red Room if you want an early, quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenandRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the comments, it would be good to see you again. As I have mentioned in a private email the carpets are at last being renewed on the 2nd of July. Thank go, the current one was an old Trojan and always washed up well, but at 21 years old (so I believe, I have only made 12) it is time to say goodbye.
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    59
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
87
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent range of beers and very reasonable pub food. Slightly noisy if you have the room above the bar on a Friday night but only to be expected in busy village pub that provides entertainment. Full English breakfast was excellent and went out of there way to serve early at 7.30am as we needed to get away. Free wifi

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked in to the White Horse as a stopover following a short tour of North Wales and, to be fair, 'it does what it says on the tin'.

It is a lively village pub, quite noisy in the bar when we arrived but that's OK. Clearly it's a hub of village life with clientèle from all walks and of all ages. There's a pool table and dart board and, for those wishing to dine with a little less noise, there's a separate, small and comfortable restaurant. I guess that, in time, the owners will look to improve the carpet in the bar area. It seemed a little past its best.

The staff were welcoming and service was good with a care to ensure that we were looked after.

The room was comfortable, clean and with a modern clean, ensuite bathroom.

The food was reasonably priced and quite tasty, served by polite staff.

It certainly wasn't expensive and was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agenuinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. You are right we are a lively pub, The carpet has been due for a change since it was last shampoooed in January , and the winter hasn't been kind on it.. It is I would like to inform you, going on the 2nd of July the quote has been in my inbox since January but I have been trying to get 3 quotes. Actually managed to only get 2 but gave up.
I'm glad my staff looked after you well, and maybe we will see you again some oither time,
Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely, welcoming Inn. Comfortable room and bed. Great walks nearby. Good food - both breakfast and dinner, good beer, good wine, good service and great value. Enjoyable live entertainment. Recommended as a base for a walking weekend or just a leisurely weekend in Shropshire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank roughguyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you, what more can I say!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ammanford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been lucky enough to stay at the White Horse in Clun on a number of occasions over the last few years. Each time the welcome from staff and locals has been warm and friendly. The pub is lively every evening but even though we do not stay up late we were never disturbed once returning to our room. Breakfasts are first class and the evening meals offer a good choice at a good price. The Clun Beers which are produced on the premises are well worth trying.
The White Horse is dog friendly and this is the reason we first visited. Clun is a lovely small town in a quiet part of the country. Lots of excellent walking to be had in the area. We will return and I can fully recommend this establishment to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you, will it will be good to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited the WHI whilst visiting Shropshire last October and thought that it would be a good base for a "walking and drinking" weekend. It was.
The rooms are a good size, and comfortable. The breakfasts, and bar meals, were top quality and the local were very friendly. An excellent place to stay if you want to away from the stresses of city life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Keeping away from the stresses of city life is half the reason I came her. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Albert, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed our all too short stay in Clun. The Hospitality of the staff and quaint environs was appreciated. we just coulnd not figure out how the shower worked. The live entertainment added something ad I would have no hesitation in returning the 12,000 miles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteHorseClun, Owner at The White Horse Inn, Rooms, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, I'm so sorry you had problems with the shower. Please let me know the problems that you had and I will check, to me they all seem to be working well, but I know how to work them. Might have to write some instructions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
771 reviews
5.4 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
194 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
888 reviews
7.9 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
131 reviews
9.1 mi away
Old Downton Lodge
Old Downton Lodge
#1 of 1 in Downton on the Rock
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn, Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn, Rooms

Property: The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Address: The Square | Clun, Clun SY7 8JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn, Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and step into a time gone by in the White Horse Inn, Clun. Serving good local food and beer, this is a friendly pub with lots of characters. Our rooms are newly refurbished and all en-suite with shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn, Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn, Rooms Clun, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing