We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wet weekend in Clun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
Ranked #1 of 7 Clun B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2012

After returning from sunny south of france we broke our return journey at the White Horse, despite the incessant rain we had a fabulous time , the food , beers and service were all first class and we and our dogs were made very welcome. Will definately return when the sun is shining.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Big comfy beds, showers hot and strong, good home made food with man sized portions and a choice of beers will keep the most picky bike rider happy, add to this alarmed secure bike storage, easy parking, (right outsde the front door), Hopton Woods 15 mins away and the fabulous trails on and around the Long Mynd half an hour away you just cant go wrong. Nice friendly locals as well. Recommended.

Room Tip: The beige room is above the bar and would possibly be a problem for some people. No problem for me t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 313keefus313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in the Blue room, which is correctly rated as 'very quiet', so we slept well. The room was very clean and tidy (girlfriend's picky!). The beer, especially the 'Shropshire Gold' was excellent (I'm picky!), but the biggest surprise was how good the food was! It's not expensive (normal pub prices), but was all prepared there and then, from locally sourced produce - the result was tasty excellence - better than some restaurants!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LymmDaveONeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We got a very friendly welcome when we arrived at the White Horse, which is in a very pretty little village called Clun, about one hour twenty minutes from the M6, right on the Wales/Shropshire border.

The kind lady who checked us in arranged lunch for us even though the kitchen was about to close for the afternoon.

Our room was a little bit small, my husband is over 6 foot and our dog is a large black Labrador cross, however it was fine for one night. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well presented.

The food was very well done and at an excellent price. Also a fabulous wine list too at very good prices. For lunch we had excellent home made soup and dinner in the evening was grand - all home cooked and very tasty. Breakfast the next morning was also very good when we had the full English.

The pub is very traditional in style, with lots of friendly locals visiting. There was a large range of real ales to try if that's your thing and there's a pool table, darts board and we also saw some locals playing dominos as well.

The White Horse is genuinely dog friendly, which was lovely as there is nothing worse than visiting a place that claims to be dog friendly, but they blatantly are not!

Would thoroughly recommend the White Horse for somewhere nice and relaxing, with lovely walks in the area and especially if you're taking your dog away on holiday with you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkyKiwi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It's worth a visit to Clun just to visit this traditional pub. Always busy, sitting in the smallish bar listening to the locals is better than Eastenders! A million miles from a Wetherspoons I recommend you visit at least once just to feel what a real pub is like. Food is OK and my husband says the 'home brewed' beer is great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EveningStar587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Me and a few mates stayed for one night after a day walking. Proper pub with friendly staff and good food and beer. My room (red) was large with a double and single bed with ensuite, it was clean and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Quite an old school pub with the smell of stale ale as you walked through the bar area. The B & B room we stayed in was newly decorated and very clean but the shower head holder was broken and after a few minutes the head would fall out ! The tables in the restaurant were a bit sticky and the carpet in the bar was so worn you could see the floor beneath. The evening meal was lovely and the plates were warmed, a rarity these days and the beer garden out the back is very quiet. Note, there is no parking allocated to the pub, only a few spaces out the front and on street parking in the village.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

I'm sorry about your problems during your stay. Carpet in the bar is on my to do list, it is though a very big purchase and I have been putting it off until I can afford to refurbish the pool room. Most likely this year. I have slowly been doing up the pub for the last 10 years now and normally do one project each year. It would be pointless to do the carpet before that as it might not fit afterwards. Being a singly owned pub and not a chain we don't have access to the cash to do huge makeovers in one go.
Shower holder in blue room and red room replaced, this weekend. 16/6/12.
I'm glad you enjoyed your meal
J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clun
5.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
816 reviews
0 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#2 of 7 in Clun
67 reviews
7.9 mi away
Brandy House Farm
Brandy House Farm
#1 of 1 in Felindre
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 3 in Newcastle-on-Clun
357 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn, Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn, Rooms

Address: The Square | Clun, Clun SY7 8JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Clun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clun
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn, Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and step into a time gone by in the White Horse Inn, Clun. Serving good local food and beer, this is a friendly pub with lots of characters. Our rooms are newly refurbished and all en-suite with shower rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Horse Inn, Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn, Rooms Clun, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing