We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Is it possible to be this bad?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yare Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cocles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yare Hotel
Save
You added Yare Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Is it possible to be this bad?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My wife and I planned our " special week away" in Puero Viejo because it was recommended to us by a couple in San Jose, little did we know that the woman that recommeded it was the manager, wow, what a mistake. We have travelled many countries in Latin America and South America and this is by far the worst resort I have ever been in, It was extremely dirty, I mean the floors and linen were filthy. Lots of bugs, no fans, wholes in the screens, smelled moldy. We could only handle two nights there then we walked down the road to a much better hotel, but the staff would not refund our money. If you go there and expect good service, forget it, it was hard to get the staff to do anything for us, not even change the linen, the staff was always sitting around talking or sometimes even sleeping in view of the customers!! The food was ok but the restuarant would close without notice so we had to walk to other hotels for food, very upsetting, to say the least.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ricodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Traveling with a large group of young teenagers, we left after one night because of the uncleanliness (blood on towels and sheets in several rooms) and inability to secure the doors and windows. This hotel needs a deep cleaning with new linens and towels.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LShirvanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cocles hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Please do yourself a favor and do not consider Yare for your vacation. We checked in and it appeared that we were the only ones staying on the property. Our bathroom was very, very unclean and there was no hot water (we were told there would be). Bugs everywhere. Our towels were stained (it appeared to be blood stains) as was our bed. We were extremely upset and I did not even really feel safe there. We stayed the night since it was already dark, but first thing in the morning we packed up and walked down the road until we found a new hotel. The hotel would not give us a refund for the nights we weren't staying for, but we absolutely had to get out of there. Don't trust the photos on their website; they must have been taken years ago.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgilliam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Very comfortable and clean --enjoyed the hospitality and the beaches close by-bike rental or scooters are a good way to get to where you want- Have a local store next to Hotel if you want to pick up something quick-- Restaurants , you can go to the Hotel or you have a choice of Italian within walking distance.Intown you have a wide variety from local to traditional American food.
If you want to call home buy the calling card for 3000 colognes or 6 bucks you get 19 minutes-- Overall very nice and fun trip -- Small kids should stay at home. Try lobster diving and fishing with one of the locals. just remeber you are paying for the gas and not the fish-but you can buy them after trip. I am going back !!!!

  • Liked — relaxed atmosphere-- outside of town
  • Disliked — puerta viejo not very clean
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dgiliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

The staff was great, the accommodations were more than adaquate, quite comfortable
The showers were warm at best, but when you're in a tropical jungle its no problem.
In fairness I didn't know what to expect when my friend made the reservation for our group. of 6 guys. It was better than I expected.
I would stay at Yare again
On another note, Costa Rica and the Puerto Viejo region was fantastic!

Real eclectic, laid back and beautiful!

The residents were very friendly and helpful with few exceptions everyone spoke enough english that commuicating was not a problem.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countryboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
münchen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

Yare hotel is about half an hour's walk from Puerto Viejo. It's a nice hotel with colourful bungalows but the photos - especially those on "costarica link "- are a bit misleading: the hotel grounds are relatively small so that when you sit on your porch you sit very closely to at least two other porches and to the 'bridge' that leads to all the other rooms.
The beach is not very far away (5 minutes) and it is quite nice.
By the way: Beware of "Costaricalink" - they have fantastic photos but the price they indicate for the hotels is never correct: if you contact them you have to to pay triple the price. When we found out about that we tried to contact the hotels directly but mostly Costaricalink interfered.
A very good guide for Costa Rica is Lonely Planet!

  • Liked — the incredibly beautfiul lanscape surroundings
  • Disliked — the hotel grounds were to cramped for me
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 198689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a week in Puerto Viejo staying at Hotel Yare. Given the size of the town and relative newness of the tourist industry in that area Hotel Yare is one of the better hotels but it still has some rough edges. First, the hotel is about three miles south of Puerto Viejo in Playa Cocles and we found that a walk to town along the narrow road was a bit hazardous. A few days into our stay we found that we could walk north along the beach and then when the shore becomes rocky there is a path through the jungle that runs all the way into town (it ends just behind the Salsa Brava restaurante). This path to town is much safer and much cooler as it is shaded. Bring a flashlight if you plan to walk back at night, it is very dark. Be aware that the beach is accessed from Hotel Yare by walking approximately 300 yards down the road and taking a short path through the jungle. The beach is very nice with few people and has calm, shallow water excellent for swimming. The hotel has intermittent hot water at best, usually for about 10 min in the middle of the day- get ready for some chilly showers. No TV's, AC, and lots and lots of bugs (bring bug spray, if you forget it there is a small market next door that is stocked with convenience store foods and personal care items, bug repellent included)...but that is to be expected in that area of Costa Rica. The morning hotel receptionist was very friendly and helpful but her afternoon co-worker is not, she can usually be found asleep on the bench behind the front desk. When we were there the restaurant at the hotel would close without warning so if you are planning to eat there make sure you check with the staff first.

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens throughout property
  • Disliked — The hotel is in need of basic maintenence work
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tmarin0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
0.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#5 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yare Hotel

Property: Yare Hotel
Address: Playa Cocles, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 1007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yare Hotel consists of a series of bungalows showing the authentic Caribbean style; you'll love how the enormous trees and vegetation creates the truly tropical atmosphere all around you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yare Hotel Puerto Viejo
Yare Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing