We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb all around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pecora Nera

La Pecora Nera
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

One of the best italian restaurants we've ever been to and we travelled thru Italy! Truly amazing food! On the pricy side for PV but worth every colone! Love to go back!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmynScottShmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    74
    29
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Puerto Viejo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Love, love, love this place. It's tucked away behind Gatta ci Cova, off the road. Follow the little road by the La Pecora Nera sign. Great atmosphere, good wine, great service, and the food is the best part! The menu itself is full of wonderful sounding things, and then they will tell you about the specials, then the really hard part comes - deciding what to get! Everyone in our party was more than satisfied - delicious homemade pastas, grilled tuna, yum! This was our second visit, after a wonderful time one year ago- this was at the top of our must do list!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ummm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Awesome food awesome service. Secluded in the rainforest with a wonderful seleciton of food and wine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Put it on your must do list and make a reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stumbled on this place by accident because the place we were intending to dine was closed, and boy what a happy accident! Lucky we arrived early because without a reservation we would not have gotten a table. The meal of the trip, for sure. The service was excellent and the food even better. We split a salad, pasta - unbelievable - and fresh fish. Not sure where they get the limoncello but it is like crack. Reasonable Siciillian house wine and lovely setting. Highly recommend that you find this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiANDJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Excellent service. Lots of options for pasta and seafood including nightly specials. Expansive wine list. Best side dish of spiced carrots I can remember. Fresh desserts to complete the meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephenColwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pecora Nera also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to La Pecora Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing