We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A welcome break from casado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pecora Nera

La Pecora Nera
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A welcome break from casado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The ambiance and service were great. The food came in generous portion sizes and the pasta was al dente. We liked the fish carpaccio and mixed seafood plate. For the area the food was good and the bill reflected that fact.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    62
    25
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moravia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The best Carbonara I've ever had! It's so caribbean but at the same time italian. And they also accept credit cards.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danx30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had a pizza and my husband pasta and it was both very good. The pizza came very close to my favourite pizza here in Switzerland, which I did not expect, when travelling to Costa Rica.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ocelot1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A jewel of the jungle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This restaurant is one of the finest restaurants I've ever eaten at. I have traveled all over the world and have had the good fortune to have eaten at many great places. The quality of ingredients, and the general quality of the food was world class. I loved the house made ravioli stuffed with pumpkin, shrimp and sage the finished in cream sauce. Folks if you want to experience great food, try this restaurant. The negative reviews about service seem to have been written by travelers with a lack of patience and understanding that not all restaurants seat people ASAP like Denny's in America, There is also a trattoria associated with the Near that's equally as excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Al dente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visit this place, because a friend of us really recommended. The restaurant is a bit hidden, don't be shy to drive the small road aback. We had "Spaghetti Carbonara" and "Spaghetti Frutti di Mare", both dishes were very delicious! The Spaghetti were perfect "al dente". The service was very nice, in English or Spanish as you want. Okay, it was a bit pricey, but else there is nothing to complain.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pecora Nera also viewed

Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to La Pecora Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing