We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing relaxing vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just got back from staying at Caribetown for 6 nights and I could not be happier with the service, location and room.

Jessica ( the owner) was away, but Carlos, who manages the property took incredible care of us. He was accommodating to our every single request, and greeted us with a smile every time he saw us.
The rooms here are individual bungalows, with a porch and hammock in each one , which is awesome when travelling as single or couple.
Thank you Carlos for making our stay at Caribetown and wonderful vacation we cant wait to go back to

Michelle and Jen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migross_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    65
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
143
232
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Jessica, the lady that runs the place is very helpful. It has air conditioning and the location is great, right across from the beach and close to town. The breakfast is good. The place is very laid back and should be considered a little rustic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Happy o hear we could be helpful and you enjoyed our breakfasts. We take alot of pride in insuring everyone is well fed with healthy, locals foods made fresh each morning. If there was any way we could improve our rustic resort I would be more than happy to hear about. New ideas are always welcomed and we constantly are looking to improve in all ways possible! Thanks for your visit and we hope you come back and see the progress we are making. Pura vida, Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for in Cocles. It was quaint and relaxed. Short walk to the beach and short bike ride or walk into town.The bungalow (#5) was great. Really no need for TV in Costa Rica though! We were out as soon as our heads hit the pillow! Jessica (the owner) is wonderful and very helpful! Carlos works there as well and he was also very helpful! The breakfast in the morning was made fresh to order and was delish! The pool was perfect and the bar was right next to it! Thank you Jessica and Carlos for a lovely stay at Caribe Town! We will definitely be back!

Sincerely,
Shyla and Brett

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place was very confusing. I liked a few things about it - the grounds were kept really nice, the central gathering area has a good vibe (many times they don't in these kinds of places). Carlos was really nice. Not sure about Jessica- granted she was fairly ill during our stay. Her children were visiting from the states and without them Im not sure if anything would have been tended to. They were the most helpful by far!
Things I didn't like - the road getting in is dirty and dark. They close the doors at night so anytime we came in after 8 pm it was a hassle as we couldn't drive through the gate. The rooms are DIRTY. I mean seriously dirty. The pool was dirty, the lawn chairs, everything. A lot of this has to do with the climate, but still. And nothing will happen unless you ask them to do it...and if you do, thye are very gracious. There are just certain things I think should get done without asking - like emtying the bathroom garbages in the rooms.
Having said this, there is nothing real nice in Puerto Viejo. It's just not it's vibe. Rustic Carribean is more its vibe - which sounds cute until its not.
We highly reccommend Cahuita for beach and accommodations over Puerto Viejo. So charming and much cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Pros

Beautiful, well kept grounds.
Comfortable bungalows and things are very quiet, relaxing. Each bungalow includes a hammock.
Jessica, owner, and Carlos willing to do anything to make your visit more enjoyable. Jessica recommended restaurants and tours, called taxis, and when my phone was stolen, drove me to the police station 20km away to file a police report for insurance. Carlos was more than willing to relocate a spider that set up shop along the path to our bungalow.
Easy access to beach and on beach, there are chairs that can be used from the next door hotel or you can walk about 1000 ft in the order direction and relax in coral pools shaded by the jungle, which comes right up to the water.

Cons

Not within walking distance of Puerto Viejo, which may be a con for some. However, city is only 5 minutes and 2500 colones ($5) away at any time.
Toiletries, other than soap, are not included, so bring your own.

Room Tip: Book the AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmoreraven82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My friends and I were relocated to Jessica's property after some complications at the house we originally booked. I was 100% impressed with the resort and the hospitality we were welcomed with. Jessica (owner) goes above and beyond to make sure that her guests have an amazing time. She is quick to blend up a cocktail and she makes a yummy (and filling) breakfast. The grounds are groomed, but you still feel 100% in the rainforest. We ran into a few bugs in our room (after all it is the rainforest), so if this will freak you out, you might consider visiting a less buggy country. There are a few bungalows on the property, but the set-up makes you feel that you are the only one there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a great place to stay. It's close enough to everything but far enough to be quiet and relaxing. Jessica is a great help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernieelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Property: Caribe Town
Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing