We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise off the beaten track” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribe Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribe Town
Ranked #1 of 7 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chilliwack
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Perfect. It was our first trip to Costa Rica. I was booking online and very tentative to say the least. The 2 reviews of Carbe Town (at the time) glowed of the personal service and wonderful setting. So I booked based on that. We took 2 of the 5 cabana's, for two weeks immediately after Christmas. Mom, dad and kids 17 and 18. It was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet, private, 5 minutes to the beach and close enough to all amenities to be handy yet secluded. Jessica is awesome and her staff are great. It is a very personal and private experience. Jessica is always close with anwers and for booking whatever it is you are doing. As for us, we did the Jaguar Sanctuary and the Sea Kyaking tours. Incredible. We also took in some surf lessons and rented boards on our own a couple of times as well. We read by the pool, and had numerous " fruity,rummy, punchie things " that are to die for. Breakfasts are served everyday and are the best. You are on your own for lunch and dinners, which is perfect. There are many good restaurants you wont be able to hit them all.
Thanks Jessica

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Getting to know your family and spending the holidays together was MY pleasure. Do come visit and maybe this time Reed can make me some crazy monster type set pieces for decor ;) Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    65
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
140
229
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bismarck, nd
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

We liked the breakfast and the hospitality of Jessica and Carlos. The location is awesome, the beach is very nice. One note, is all places in Puerto Viejo are not located on the beach, and the beach in front of Caribe Town is the best.

I loved being able to stay in a small place vs a big hotel, and yet of all the amenities of a large resort.

They have a pool, swim up bar, staffed bar all night, beach towels, bikes and quiet comfortable rooms.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaskade_tf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Jessica and her staff made us feel at home from the first friendly greeting to the last goodbye hug. Perfectly situated a short walk to the nicest of beaches, the warmth and hospitality made it easy to mingle when you wanted or to stay hidden in the jungle, All of the cabins were private yet accessible to the bar and pool. Even Eddy the little green frog with whom we shared our cabin made us feel wlecome. Til next time, mi amigos de Caribe town

We had such a great time we plan to return in the near future. Centrally located to everthing
yet secluded. We arrived after two dusty weeks on the pacific side of the country. I was glad we "saved the best for last."

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
I hope to see you both soon, when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

First thing that happened once we arrived is our host Jessica made us pina coladas while we dropped off our luggage in the cottage. This definitely set the tone to an amazing, relaxing, adventurous stay in Puerto Viejo. This was by far our favorite place we stayed in Costa Rica. Jessica was so great to talk to, get great advice from, and hang out drinking pina coladas with. I loved the entire town and walking to the beach. Jaguar Rescue Center was another highlight which is a short walk from Caribe Town. Wish we could of stayed longer. Felt like we were staying with family but with the freedom to do what we wish. We chose to stay there based on the good reviews, so take everyone's advice and go there. We'll have to go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
I totally hope you come back with the whole family. I would love to meet the "little you's"!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We loved Caribe Towne- it was literally a 5 min. walk to the beach- the greatest deserted beaches- I can't believe we were the only people on the beach alot of the time. There are GREAT restaurants within walking distance of the bungalows. The bungalows we stayed in- #1- was a bit rustic, but, that is what we wanted. we did have good screens on the windows, so not a bad bug scene at all. We did get a frog, a gecko, a big leaf hopper, and some really cool light bugs in our room during our stay, but, we loved it, and it was all part of the Costarican experience. Our 10 yr. old son LOVED it!!! The Jaguar Rescue is just up the road, and is a MUST SEE!!! only 15 $, and they have an amazing cause. Jessica cooks a great breakfast, and is a great start to the day. We would definitely stay there if we are back in that area!!!! The shared commons area/kitchen/bar is very nice, and great to get to know other guests!!!

Room Tip: We loved our bungalow, we stayed in #1, and although it was very rustic, the beds were comfy, we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
I just enjoyed the last ice cream bar you left in the fridge :) I hope the mural of shells comes out great and that Caribe Town is not just a happy memory, but your family returns. It was great to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Awesome. The resort was beautiful and the care and attention we received from Jessica and her staff made our vacation better than I could have imagined. I have not stopped raving about our Costa Rican vacation and have highly recommended Caribe Town to friends and relatives. Will gladly go back and visit

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We were so happy to host your first trip out of the country. Glad we could make New Years and a special birthday one to remember! Pura vida, Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place was exactly what we expected after reading the reviews and checking out the website. Cabinas, in the jungle, 100 m away from the beach, oh, with a swimming pool, great service from Carlos & a very attentive and hospitable owner/manager, Jess.

Everything got better as our stay went on. 6 nights in total. The cooked breakfasts were a great start to the day and the coffee is sensational.

The location is ideal, only 5$ taxi from Puerto Viejo (from where the bus dropped us off). We hired bikes and rode into PV which only takes about 10-15min from Caribe Town.

Cabina #2 had a comfy double bed with ceiling fan & bathroom. All cabinas are nestled in the jungle and have hammocks on the verandas. We didn't have a problem with insects/mozzies. I found the shower a bit tricky with the hot water but Jess showed me how the system works & hot water was fine. BYO soap.

Caribe town is about 1hr bike ride from Manzanillo which is lovely and the pool offers a retreat after being out all day on the bikes. Carlos will serve you icy cold beers while you sit in the pool or alternatively ask Jess to mix you up a cocktail.

There are some great restaurants close by (bring a torch and/or download a flashlight app on your iPhone). We really liked 'jungle love' cafe. Convenience store also close by.

Listen out for the fruit & vege trucks that stop at the Caribe Town gate offering fresh produce daily. Jess is often grabbing bits and pieces and can help with the Spanish translations.

On that note, Jess really does go out of her way as much as possible to ensure you have an enjoyable stay, not just at Caribe Town but in Costa Rica. She helped us with our onwards travel & even swapped some left over currency over.

Thanks Jess, all the best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caribetown, Owner at Caribe Town, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
So glad to hear you had a great time with us, we enjoyed it as well! Sorry to hear you didn't have soap, we absolutely can provide this one ;) Please come back and visit soon and enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Town

Property: Caribe Town
Address: 3km south of Puerto Viejo | Playa Cocles - behind Hotel Cameleon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful jungle B&B hotel 150 meters from beautiful Playa Cocles beach with private bungalows or family suite, some with AC. Offsite full home rental options now available. Spa services, bike rentals, tours...Just let us know what you need. Full breakfast included daily with onsite rentals, available to private home rental guests for $5/per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caribe Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Town Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing