We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with fantastic hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Cocles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in Cocles over New Year’s for 4 days and had the privilege to stay at Physis Caribbean and in their honeymoon hut. We cannot say enough good things about the property and we had such a blast there. Jeremy and Emily are truly the perfect hosts. We loved Emily’s breakfast each morning and Jeremy was very helpful with giving us tips for restaurants (El Refugio – a definite must when in the region) or trips. We did the horseback riding at the beach, which was great. Riding along lonely beaches and enjoying the jungle from horseback was just great (the sore muscles the next few days maybe not so….).

The area around Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo is beautiful and sometimes you find a little beach all for yourself. You can also hire bikes from Jeremy to explore the region, which we would definitely recommend, as it is a lot of fun.

Their enthusiasm is just great and you can see how much love they put in the property. Our stay there was one of our many highlights during our 3 weeks stay in Costa Rica and we will definitely recommend this B&B to everyone and will stay there again, should we ever return to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The honeymoon hut is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocelot1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 404 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We got this place recommended and will not forget it that quickly. Amazing service in wonderful setting and lovely rooms. If we ever come back to Costa Rica we will stay there for a whole week! All 5 star reviews are perfectly true!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a really beautiful B&B, our room (honeymoon suite) was big enough, cosy and well equipped. It has a nice bathroom with walk-in shower. The breakfast was delicious, fresh and healthy. While having breakfast you may spot some toucans in the neighboring trees. The hosts, Jeremy & Emily, are a fabulous couple, so friendly and always ready to help and provide advices and tips for tours. Whatever you need they try their best to assist you. Their pets (2 dogs and a cat) are adorable. The location is good, it is close to the beaches (Playa Cocles), Punta Uva is "only" 1.5h walk away along a virgin beach, and about 3km from Puerto Viejo. The nearest restaurant is next door (Soda Johanna) which serves excellent meals.

This place is truly unique, you feel yourself very welcome in this luxury but priceworthy establishment.

Pura vida!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is great and provides more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The luxury and the quality of a 5 star hotel, each room have private access and patio with a luxurius garden, the comfort of a hotel-boutique with cool thing and nice design. Emily is the perfect Hostess and Jeremy is our slave, what ever you need he will tell tell you were to find, On site they have everything free wi-fi, fridge, beach towel, bicycle, snorkelling gear and more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in Physis for 4 nights in December 2012. Jeremy and Emily were wonderful hosts who did their best to make sure we were enjoying our stay from start to finish. Even though they have only been living in Cocles for a year and a half, they are extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding area. They gave us excellent restaurant recommendations, directions, safety tips, and referred us to Achilleus (sp), an amazing jungle guide who took us on an unforgettable 5-hour trek through the rain forest. As for the B&B, I felt more comfortable staying here than at the Tabacon resort in Arenal. The entire place is spotless. I don't know how Jeremy and Emily keep it so clean! There is satellite TV in the room, free Wi-Fi throughout, an efficient AC unit, a decent size refridgerator to store food and drinks, and not to mention free breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Physis! Emily and Jeremy were such warm and friendly hosts. The place was immaculately clean, safe, and very relaxing. Jeremy could make a mean cocktail too! We highly recommend this as the only place to stay in Puerto Viejo area and possibly all of Costa Rica : ).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allynsocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The best service we could have ever expected. Great location and the place is just beautiful!!! 100% recomended!!! I have been to that beach many times and it is by far the best hotel i have been to!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Finca Chica
La Finca Chica
#3 of 8 in Cocles
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast

Address: 154 Miss Winny Town, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cocles
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for nature, beach & jungle meets luxury, this is the spot. We consist of 4 rooms, with one completely private & secluded "Honeymoon Suite". All rooms have their own private bathroom & shower with hot water. All rooms also have air conditioning, refrigerators, safes, flat-screen TV with satellite cable or Netflix, dehumidifiers, ceiling fans, free Wi-Fi, and all new linens & decor. The private Honeymoon suite has a flatscreen TV with a DVD player. Room #3 sleeps 3 people with one full bed & one twin bed and a flatscreen TV with satellite cable. There are two regular double rooms available, both with flat-screen TV. Room #1 has satellite cable & room #2 has free Netflix, both rooms have DVD players. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and there is also a computer for guests to use. We have bicycles, snorkel gear, & boogie boards available for rent. We also offer laundry service for an additional charge. Prices include breakfast each morning. Sorry, No children under the age of 12 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Physis Caribbean Bed & Breakfast Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing