We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere - but lousy food”

Que Rico Papito Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Cocles
Price range: $4 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Los Angles
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - but lousy food”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The restaurant looks great. We were in Costa Rica for 2 weeks total and the Papito restaurant easily had the best atmosphere of them all - in the sense that it looked like a tourists expectation of a tropical restaurant. Something you'd expect to see in Hawaii.

However, the food was some of the worst we had: Calamari friti that came out soggy, lobster that was tough (I.e. over-broiled), everyone's meal came out cold, ... .

And this was despite (or maybe because?) we were the only group in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarksterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Costa_de_Papito, Propietario at Que Rico Papito Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We would like to offer a sincere apology to this family after their disappointing experience in our restaurant. We had our chef on vacation and an hour before receiving this family the assistant chef went home with a fever because the restaurant was slow. The kitchen assistant who remained claimed he was really ready to step up to the plate and obviously he wasnt.
A shame they didn't say anything that evening. We would never have charged them.
Eddie Ryan
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    34
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place for a Wedding Reception”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I had a marvelous dinner here on two occasions for wedding receptions. The food was served buffet style and was very good Caribbean cuisine. The jungle atmosphere is enchanting and the live Calpso music was very nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not just another hotel restaurant!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

La Costa de Papito offers bungalows for the noble savage, right across the street from beautiful Cocles Beach. Hidden within is the beautiful Que Rico Papito restaurant. The atmosphere is really tropical, lots of gorgeous wood, flowers on the tables, open walls and the feeling of a giant Tiki hut. The sauces here are amazing! Whether it's the coconut cilantro sauce on chicken, or the caribbean sauce on fish, they're all scrumptious! The servers, Melvin and more recently Hiram, are warm and friendly. One night we were there and the place filled up quickly-these two servers efficiently dealt with the rush and made everyone feel taken care of. There are music nights here and a Caribbean BBQ night. From my experience, one of the best in the Cocles/PV area!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love this place...and the restaurant was a part of it!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Well we thought we'd be there one night. In the end, we stayed at the hotel 5 nights. We had breakfast daily; and lunch/dinner some of the time. The atmosphere, food, service and ambience just ROCK! It's so comfortable and laid-back...but the food is beautifully prepared and tasty and reasonably priced.

In a fancy hotel in Arenal tonight...and really MISSING the vibe and room of Costa de Papito!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Rico Indeed!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just back from CR and another delightful stay at la Costa de Papito. I've sung their praises before but I don't think I've mentioned their restaurant. One of the joys (hopefully) of traveling is sampling local restaurants. My wife and I did some sampling but of the 8 nights we spent in Puerto Viejo we ate at Papito's 4 times. This was not a matter of convenience but a matter of food and vibe. On 2 consecutive nights we had the shrimp with caribbean sauce - so good.
Service was great, caught a great calypso band one night - just a great dining and grooving experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Que Rico Papito Restaurant also viewed

Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Que Rico Papito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing