We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but definitely not a small luxury hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
436 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Charming, but definitely not a small luxury hotel!”
Reviewed December 18, 2009

I booked the Cameleon via the "Small Luxury Hotels" webiste, I wanted to stay some days in a luxury hotel on the beach - therefore I had some expectations on this place. Unfortunately I had to find out that this hotel is definitely not on the standard of a small luxury hotel!
The hotel is not well maintained, allover it needs some maintenance (as all the walls and most for the furniture are white they have a lot of dirty spots and would need to be remodeled), the garden is also not well maintained, the rooms as well. E.g. no safe, so I had to change the room...which took me a long time, not very convenient. The rooms are in a nice trendy design, but again the maintenance is not well done.
The staff is friendly, but they have not a clue what service on a high level means, so the overall service is also far below a luxury hotel.
The beach club is also in a desperate situation and needs some maintenance.
In addition we could not use the restaurant on 2 days as they had some events...well this makes it a bit difficult as there are not many great nice options in this area.

I can only repeat: a nice charming place with nice design, but it is a 3-star hotel and definitely not a small luxury hotel. I still don't understand they made their way to this group...SLH needs to review their selection criteria (btw I know from several people who stayed there they have the same impression...this just to show that there is some truth in my subjective view!)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    144
    61
    33
    26
See reviews for
138
312
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

What a fantastic experience. We were in Costa Rica for the first time and rented a car to drive here (4+ hours) from San Jose. Exhausted when we arrived, instantly amazed by the impeccable hotel and grounds. Ate lobster at the gorgeous outside bar, complete with chef coming to us personally to tell us the specialties. Alex and the staff gave the best recommendations of things to do, big added bonus to our stay. We felt extremely comfortable and safe here, and no need went unmet. Rooms are spacious and quiet, the parking area was always attended at night . The beach is gorgeous and secluded, and staff will bring over anything you need. The owner was on site, completely gracious, and made sure everyone was having a fabulous time. Cant wait to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APrevatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I have never seen before such a beautiful hotel, which is located in the middle of the nature and just a few steps away from a beautiful sandy beach! This hotel is very familiar und in the same way very very luxurious and the chillfactor is more than five star worth!!! The crew cares about the smallest wish before you even tell them. I have been to a lot of hotels in the world but THIS hotel is, with a long distance to all the other luxury hotels, the most comfortable and most amazing hotel i have ever seen in my life! So if you have the time, you should visit this beautiful hotel and its naturally surroundings!!! Check it out, you wont regret it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arobitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package trip. We came here from Tortuguero, where we had a terrible hotel experience, and it realy felt like we had reached paradise after that nightmare. The hotel has a very modern and welcoming look, a beautiful swimming pool welcomes you as you go to your room where you find a calm, clean, relaxinx ambiance.
The hotel is a bit far from the most near town, puerto viejo, but it's well worth to stay there. Across the road you have a beautiful beach, like you see in the postcards, but without a single person. We went there one afternoon and loved it. The warm sea water, the gentle waves and a beautiful surronding. Just be aware that you should not take any valuables with you to the beach, as it is normal to have burglars watching the beach to take whatever they can while you enjoy the water. Don't let that stop you from enjoying the beach. We left everything at the hotel, just took the keycard to our room and the towels and really enjoyed the beach without any worries. Don't miss it if you have the chance!
Back to the hotel, breakfast was wonderfull, a real gourmet experience. They bring to the table a sequence of dishes, one after the other, and they will bring you whatever you ask for. As for dinner, we had it at the hotel one night and it was a great experience. Dinner at candle light, in an open deck with a lake, ambience music, and the price was perfectly acceptable. The staff was always helpfull, polite and very available and pleasant to talk with.
If you head this way, don't miss this hotel. You will love it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NunoMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in TX
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My wife and I found this amazing place after we checked into another hotel down the road from them. Our original hotel had been billed as "...oozing with luxury..." but Le Cameleon blew them away. The staff was first class: attentive, friendly, polite and fun. Raymondo especially went out of his way to make us feel welcomed.
Our trip through Costa Rica included stays at some of the country's most noted 5-star hotels and spas, but our favorite was Le Cameleon. We stayed five days and four nights and have vowed to return for more. We highly recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

A group of nearly 20 friends, we stayed for a weekend at the hotel. All of us are costarricans that know Puerto Viejo very well, in my case traveling there at least once or twice a year for the past 10 years. Le Cameleon is definitively a new category of hotel for the area. Its architecture is stunning, and at the same time blends seamlessly with the jungle. The cabanas by the beach are a great place to chill out. You also have La Pecora Nera restaurant next door which is amazing. But the best part is the hotel staff itself. Manager Isabel makes sure everything happens, and was very accomodating to our needs, even organizing a DJ for us one night. The peruvian chef has come up with some fabulous dishes (the corvina on a bed of yucca mash is highly recommended), and we ended up not even going into town but enjoying the hotel's lounge and restaurant instead. There are some kinks that Isabel is still ironing out, converting the staff's friendly disposition into the level of service and proactivity that you'd expect from a five star hotel. All told, a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epicuro_tico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed fro 6 days and at checkout, felt like we were leaving family. The staff, from the general manager, came to say goodbye to us. This is after they had done everything to make our stay enjoyable.

The hotel too is beautiful and clean. Great minimalist decor...a surprise is yours each day (will leave it to you to discover).

Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Hotel
Cariblue Hotel
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#7 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
467 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
633 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: Across the Street From Beach, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7300, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod/Iphone docking station and Yves Rocher amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. With its laid back attitude and Caribbean lifestyle, Puerto Viejo has it all: long walks on the pristine beaches, exotic flora and fauna in a wildlife refuge. Ask our tour desk about our tour options ranging from snorkeling or diving among the many reefs, world-class surfing ,kayaking horseback ridding, deep sea fishing, zip lining, cultural visits to indigenous communities and more. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private yoga classes, Spa treatments in our 'tree-house' Spa, Nunu gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course La Sula Sea Lounge with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing