We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in a remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in a remote location”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I spent almost a week here. We didn't take note of the location and were later bit by that as the hotel is at least 4 hours drive from the capital. In our case the short road was blocked by a mudslide, so we had to wait till the next morning and take a longer 6-hour route. This is completely our fault though. Do consider your transfer options ahead of time and don't assume you can just take a taxi from the airport any time.

Once we got there, the location was great. There's a good beach that's almost empty most of the time, a few decent nearby restaurants (including one on premises), and a convenience store (which is actually used by locals, so it's decently priced). If you want to go to Puerto Viejo that's actually quite far away, but you can rent a bike or take a taxi. We ended up just walking - part of the way can be walked on the beach, and there are various restaurants/bars/spas/etc along the way.

Good:
+ Close to the beach
+ Stylishly decorated (but the transparent bathroom doors might not fit everyone - check your room's photos)
+ Great service (e.g. we never had trouble getting someone's help at the reception)
+ Lush greenery on premises
+ Illuminated and very clean pool
+ Peaceful and quiet

Not so good:
- Breakfast - OK, but I've had better breakfasts in cheaper places
- Hot tub wasn't really hot (same T as the pool) and the bubbles were really weak
- Sound isolation (you can hear the neighbors from the bathroom and the balcony)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DmitryE810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaMendes, Front Office Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Dmitry:

Thank you for your comment about us we feel great that you spent a nice time with us even some times that no were good. About the comment they are not too good we are working to improve them, because we think the our guest;s opinions are very important to grow and improve aour service.

So one more time, thank you and remember your always welcome to come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    151
    66
    34
    26
See reviews for
151
318
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Very stylish Boutique Hotel, between Puerto Viejo and Rescate Jaguar. Opposite the Hotel is the Beach and the Beach Club of the Hotel. If you don't come by car, you will be able to rent a bicycle.
The Hotel is held in pure white, a floor without a carpet and a small bathroom. The colors of the room may change, by changing the paintings and pillows. Cool idea, never seen before. We had a Junior Suite, these are in the Ground floor. We had room Nr. 12, unfortunately with view to the Lobby. Means people walking close by the terrace. The pool was nice and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you very much indeed. We enjoyed this Hotel and will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvanmarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaMendes, Front Office Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hallo Jvan,
Than you for your comments, about our hotel. We feel glad that you spent a nice time with us and you want to come back. About the less privacy in your room sorry about it we are working right now on it to.

Remember every time that you want to come bck to visit us you are welcome.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazú, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife, infant son and I just came back from a 3 day stay at Hotel Le Cameleon and overall it was a great time, mas o menos!

The Good

The superior room is great. Comfortable bed, A/C, nice layout, high quality furniture and bedding, nice showers and most importantly thick walls so you can get a good night sleep (trust me, this is rare on the Atlantic Coast)!

The pool is nice and the grounds, although small, are gorgeous, just plant life everywhere. A nice (albeit simple) breakfast and really nice restaurant staff made the stay enjoyable.

The staff (more or less) are really nice and hospitable. Fred, the general manager, "gets" it. He is a gem of a man and if you have any issues, just ask for Fred!

The Bad

The only issue we had when we were there is that we had 2 nights in the "superior" (read: STANDARD) room and then we opted for one extra night in the "Junior Suite" (which is the next level up and almost twice as pricy). So we move to the junior suite and um...it was IMO a downgrade, not an upgrade. It's bigger, for sure, probably about 5 feet longer. However, it's on the first floor, so people walk right by the window by your bed (which is odd), the bathroom is smaller and outside the A/C unit is loud as hell, even with the patio doors closed.

So, for twice the price, we were in a room that was IMO worse. I asked to move back to a Superior room (even though I'd still pay for the junior suite room) so they could offer the junior suite "upgrade" to someone else. For some reason, the front desk staff kind of fought me on this, saying they're full, they have a group coming, it can't be done. I tried to impress upon them that I was OK paying the higher price for the smaller room, so they could offer the new guest a free upgrade (who wouldn't like hearing that news?) but for some reason they kept saying no no no. Finally I just said "let me talk to Fred please". To his credit, Fred understood and right away moved us to a Superior room. I was worried that maybe I explained myself poorly to the Front Desk staff and that's why they didn't get it, so I said "sorry for the misunderstanding" but they just looked at me like I was a terrible, terrible troublemaker and not a paying client. That was just weird and kind of ruined the stay a little bit (not a lot, but I felt the other staff I spoke with were less than nice on this issue).

The Ugly

There's nothing ugly about Le Cameleon. It is gorgeous. If I had to nitpick (so I guess I will?):

- There are maybe two parking spaces, there's places to park across the street, but the hotel itself doesn't have much parking. Not a big deal.

- The hotel does need a bit of maintenance - a few chipped pieces of wood, a loose pool ladder, some cracks in the roof of the hotel room. Nothing major, I mean we're in the freaking rainforest, but it does need a wee bit of work.

- The beach club restaurant is nice, but down by the beach that part isn't really thought out too well. There are three mattresses for "booths" but those are ripped up and there aren't many umbrellas to cover the hot sun.


So there's a few things that we didn't like, but overall I think it's awesome. If you think of it as a luxury hotel, you'll be disappointed, it's not luxury (there's no concierge, sparse amenities, etc.). But if you compare it to what's around there and just go to enjoy a relaxing time surrounded by beautiful plant life and nice staff, you'll be very happy.

When we go back to Puerto Viejo we will definitely check to see if there's space at Le Cameleon...provided it's a superior room of course ;)

Room Tip: As if I haven't beaten the horse to death - get a Superior room if it's just a few of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hello Michael,

Thanks for you valid comments. I am glad that you are planning on coming back; BTW September is a great sunny month to visit our region while the rest of the country tends to be rainy, to say the least.

Sorry about the misunderstanding with the room swap; I am glad that it could be fixed swiftly. I would have hated if you had left only to learn later on that there was a problem that could be fixed so easily. You obviously did the right thing by fetching me. The whole thing was a good talking point for our customer service coaching sessions

The block you were in was closed for most of the month of June and got totally refurbished. Day beds on the beach are being fixed too. We also have plans to upgrade the Junior Suites in the close future. In fact, since I took over a few months ago, I have been working on fixing all the little details that were lacking. As you pointed out, luxury is pretty hard to achieve in this part of the country but we are striving to make our guests' experience as pleasant as possible; we are the only upscale hotel in the region which brings high expectations from our customers. We are aware of that and together with my team, we are really going to extra mile to fulfil these expectations.

We do have a concierge service: Since April, CostaRicaEscapades.com have been operating from the hotel's shop, besides the reception, I am a tad disappointed that it was not made clear to you.

Let me know when you and your family are coming back this way, I am very exited about showing you how much we have been improving in such a short period of time.

Thanks again for choosing us and for posting your feedback. I am looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Fred Spahr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We spent 4 nights there and had a wonderful stay. The Front Desk staff were extremely helpful and always has suggestions for where to eat or what to do in addition to what we had planned. My one critique is that the front of the hotel is not very well light up; as we arrived in the evening, we had a difficult finding the hotel initially.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaMendes, Front Office Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hello Melissa,
I would like to say thank you so much for the comment. We so glad that you spent a nice time with us. We feel happy that our staff complete your expectations and helped you with information. Regarding the light in front of the hotel, now we are working of get more lights in this area so the tourists can find better the hotel.

So one more time, thank you so much for your comment.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My family and spent 2 nights there 2 days ago. Honestly, the boutique hotel is beautiful, as well as it's on the beach and its restaurant. The beach is gorgeous as well as the swimming pool.
Service is good and people are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerafrica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylviaMendes, Director de Recepción at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Hola,
Que bueno que usted y su familia la pasaron bien aqui en nuestro hotel, esperamos que no sea la ultima vez que los veamos. Siempre seran bienvenidos.

Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Was driving through Cocles yesterday and stopped by to say hi and give a quick inspection. To my surprise, Le Camaleon continues to maintain it's quality and chore concept, including that impossible white. The property has slight deterioration in minor aspects like rotting wood planks on walkways, fainting tile around pool and flora that has suffered from major dry spell but all of it's relatively minor and the most important esthetic aspects were well kept. The beach side of the property and reception were looking good, staff seemed to be attentive and highly active. I ran into a few men busing food out to the beach-- they saw me entering through the back way but instead of approaching me suspiciously, they asked how they could help. I identified myself and my intentions, they reacted energetically and invited me to have a look and come back with my friends and family. WOW!! Manager: treat those boys to few beers AT LEAST. I noticed they were engaged with customers on the beach, jovial attitude, energetic and generally looking happy to be working for you. That is a tell-tale sign of what's going on in general, from experience. I received the same response when I approached reception, and the same when I ran into a rushing staffer on her way to handle something. Someone is going a great job of managing people here, so KUDOS TO YOU SIR/MADAM. Took a look at rooms, they looked just like on the website, no exaggeration. MOST IMPORTANTLY, Le Camaleon enjoys a privileged location, with a splendid beach setting and just far away enough from the sometimes tumultuous Cocles Beach but close enough for easy ventures (on bike, cab, walking) to surf with life guard supervision and into Puerto Viejo for food, drink, music and bare-foot dancing on the beach. It has a/c, it's service oriented (not a strong suit of the Caribbean) and has great location -- three reasons that position it as one of the best options in the deluxe lodging category for the south Caribbean. For travelers that want a taste of the Costa Rica Caribbean vibe, but require a certain level of amenities and lodging ambiance, this is the spot. Enjoy, but venture out, explore the local scene, head south to Manzanillo, purchase a gift or memoir for vendors in Puerto Viejo, rent a surf board in Cocles...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsideScoopCOSTARICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

I am very glad that you appreciated the kindness of our staff. We are going to great length in order to train and manage our staff. According to the level of satisfaction of our customers and the comments that we get, it is indeed worthwhile. Nonetheless, We do feel quite fortunate to have such a great team of genuinely nice workers.

We are actually putting much efforts on the maintenance of the property as well. We are in the process of upgrading our public areas, gardens and all the guestrooms; Not an easy thing to do when you are surrounded by the jungle.

As it did for you, Le Caméléon's concept continues to please and surprise our guests and makes our work environment quite interesting since here "EVERY DAY IS A NEW DAY" as stated by our motto. By changing uniforms and decors everyday, we almost feel as if we were providing chromatherapy to our customers.

Thanks again for your nice comments, we hope to see you again very soon.

Frederic Spahr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Caribbean side of Costa Rica is very low key and carries a strong hippy vibe. Le Cameleon is quite different with its minimalist-ultra modern motif. We enjoyed our stay here, it was very clean and the food at the restaurant was good. Breakfast was included and on mornings where we didn't want to make the walk out to the restaurant the staff would bring us room service. The walls in the room were a bit on the thin side, but nothing we haven't experienced before. One big note: when they clean their chairs they use bleach. I accidentally sat on one of the chairs while it was still wet and it ruined my dress. Overall, the Caribbean side of Costa Rica won't be on the top of my list of go-to return spots... but Le Cameleon was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic S, General Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hola MBOC,

Thanks for your nice comments about the hotel, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us last year.

Regarding the region, it is true that Puerto Viejo is not for everyone, we try to make it clear on our website. The region is very distinct from the rest of the country in terms of culture, language and because it has a laid back / reggae twist, hence the rarity of upscale hotels in the region.

I am very sorry about the incident with the bleach. Anyhow, it is a little hard to investigate since you were here a year ago. I don't know if you had spoken with reception then but nobody in our actual staff recalls such an incident and housekeeping re-ensured me that they dry the chairs after using bleach on them (at least now).

We really appreciate your nice comments about our service and our food and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
644 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Property: Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Address: | Limon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod, Iphone docking station and amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private Yoga classes, SPA treatments in our Jungle Spa, Ochio y Medio gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course Noa Beach Club with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing