We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at Le Cameleon on our honeymoon in October 2013. After coming from a not so great hotel experience we were skeptical. Right when we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly staff. They apologized profusely that our other hotel wasn't great and offered us an upgraded suite. We thought it was so nice of them to be concerned with our previous experience, and the fact that they wanted to make our stay at their hotel great. The suite was great! First floor, very clean, large bathroom, nice porch and they switch out your art work and pillows each day to a different color! They also have a light that changes colors behind bed, to go with the chameleon theme! We had a great experience with their food and bar staff as well. Our bartender Ignacio was friendly, attentive, and very knowledgeable about the area. He even suggested we tour the jaguar rescue center which was our favorite spot in Puerto Vierjo. The animals there are really unique and you get to interact with them very closely! especially in the monkey enclosure! Over all the staff was great, even helping us rent a car ( we couldn't speak Spanish and the car center representative available didn't speak good English). I would definitely suggest staying here to any of my friends!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishprincess331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 788 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Le Cameleon was a really interesting place. The town of Puerto Viejo is a tiny hippy beach town with barely paved roads and Cameleon is a modern completely white hotel just outside of town.

The hotel room was nice, the deck was great (it was right in the middle of the trees) and the facilities were nice. The cleaning staff were so cute - they changed the pillow colours and art on the walls each day and left us towel animals on the bed. The front desk staff and the restaurant staff were average. The manager was very very nice and told us all about a Lionfish initiative he was working on with surrounding businesses.

I've stayed a couple places in Puerto Viejo and I would go back in an instant. There are many options in town and just outside and Le Cameleon is a good reliable one (if you are looking for a regular hotel) If you want something more rustic or quaint keep looking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

On the first glance, the restaurant seems to be nice and of good quality, that's why you are willing to accept the - even for Costa Rica - exaggerated prices. Take a closer look and you'll find quite a lot of flaws, starting from dirty walls, tables, broken interior, etc.. Biggest disappointment though is the food. I had a salad with tuna bits in it for 17USD - a price I would still deem acceptable had the quality been up to standards - which it wasnt - by far not! The salad was partially brown and withered, the tuna not that fresh either. The "fresh" fruit Juice was a blend of water and sugar. Service not very friendly.....Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SinaundSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Cameleon_Hotel, Manager at Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Big changes already in course!

Dear SinaudSebastian,
Thank you so much for your review. We are really sorry you had a disappointing experience at our restaurant! Although most of our guests leave satisfied with the food and the service, we have in fact noticed several things that we would like to improve.
As of last weekend we have hired the consulting services of a renowned Costa Rican chef not only to revamp our menu entirely but also to ensure that all our procedures inside the kitchen and out in the dining area lead up to a friendly, efficient and personalized service for our guests to feel as pampered as they deserve.
Our new consulting chef is proposing a menu that integrates as many local products as possible, providing new flavors with traditional ingredients, giving a great twist to our Caribbean heritage! We are also are hiring a Food and Beverage manager who will be in charge of ensuring our service is impeccable.
We are very excited about these changes, as well as many others we are implementing in our restaurant and around the hotel to leave our guests with a rich experience of Costa Rica's Caribbean and lots of fond memories to look back on. By this holiday season these novelties will be implemented and running.
It's a shame you didn't reach out to us while you were here. We would have definitely made up for it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago for our anniversary.It is an amazing hotel cut out of a piece of the jungle.The restaurant was wonderful.For our anniversary dinner we had lobster with curry,that was one of the best meals I've had.There ceviche is also great.The suite we had was o.k.,it needs updating.The stark white decor is cool,and every day the staff changed the colors of the pillows and artwork to mix it up a bit.I know its in the jungle,but we had no hot water for the 4 days,and every 5 minutes the t.v. would go off.This hotel should be just for adults,but I think they are marketing it to families now.Next door to us the kids slammed doors and yelled from morning till night.with no supervision.We were happy when they left the 3rd day.The staff never aknowleged our anniversary,but we really loved the few days we spent there.I hope they do some painting and new furniture that would bring it up to a 5 star

Room Tip: Our room was 31,the first room by the pool.It was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmmBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is welcoming and professional and made us feel really welcome.

The room we got was actually larger than the one we ordered, but initially had a problem with the A/C unit so we got another one equally large. No negative issues with the room at all. The restaurant was quite enjoyable with good food.

The hotel is stunningly beautiful with natural surroundings and with a jungle like garden. Loving nature as we do, we had fun just walking through the garden and looking at the plants, animals, and insects that lived there. The private beach across the road is also beautiful.

Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furuknap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 2009 with our one-year-old daughter and had an excellent time.

Staff, setting, restaurant, service and atmosphere were wonderful.

The forest around the hotel is very calming.

Sorry for the tardy submission!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherCCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a chance to stay at Le Cameleon for 3 days and was amazed by the beauty of this hotel. The all white theme was brilliant with the soothing forest that surrounded it. They even changed the colors of my pillows and paintings each day in my room. Most admirable, was the kindness of the people that worked there. I was an ordinary person, who was treated like a Queen! They went over and beyond to accommodate my guests and I. The owner even stopped by and made sure we were all well treated. I'm coming back again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaQLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocles
3.2 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#9 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,069 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
680 reviews
12.9 mi away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
201 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#5 of 12 in Cahuita
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel

Address: | Limon, Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Cocles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cocles
Price Range: $154 - $2,835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel offers upscale beach accommodations within the tropical forest of Puerto Viejo, Limon. The 23 Rooms sit around the pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens, across the street from its Beach Club. The all-white minimalist rooms are decorated with a touch of bright colours and have all the comfort expected in order to have a restful night after your day at the beach or for your afternoon nap after touring the region. All the rooms feature A/C, Satellite TV, WiFi, Rain Shower, Mini Bar, phone, Ipod, Iphone docking station and amenities. You have a choice of King size, Queen size or two Full size beds. Should you prefer to hang around the hotel, we offer private Yoga classes, SPA treatments in our Jungle Spa, Ochio y Medio gastronomic restaurant, lap pool and cool water Jacuzzi, reading/lounging areas surrounded by wildlife and of course Noa Beach Club with its day-beds, hammocks, lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service right on Cocles Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Cocles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing