We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Orchard Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saxilby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Saxilby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mazieres de Touraine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A very comfortable stay with a warm welcome including tea and cakes! A very quiet location and a beautiful garden. Margaret and Gordon were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your prompt review of your stay at Orchard Cottage. It was a pleasure to meet you and your parents and we greatly appreciate your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you in the Spring when the new grandchild is due!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
145
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this B & B which is ideally situated for the City of Lincoln and surrounding area. Margaret and Gordon were excellent hosts and made us feel more than welcome. If we are in the area again Orchard Cottage will be our first choice for somewhere to stay. Excellent all round. John and Liz, Buckinghamshire.

Room Tip: We stayed in the guest suite and could not fault it at all. Everything was there and well done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are delighted that you found Orchard Cottage 'a great place to stay' and that your interest in aviation heritage was well catered for in the area. It was a pleasure to meet you and we enjoyed our chats with you. Do hope that the visit to East Kirkby was successful ,on your way home ,and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay at Orchard Cottage was fantastic - couldn't be better - lovely house and accommodation and Margaret and Gordon were marvellous hosts. Situated on a quiet street so no road noise. Great choice of breakfast.

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was so nice to hear from you and very pleased to know that you were comfortable with us at Orchard Cottage. Thank you for taking the time to submit your 'review' and we do hope that your onward journey via Canada was successful too. Kia Ora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night but wish it had been longer - we were made to feel most welcome with an excellent breakfast. The room was clean and very the bed was very comfortable and the location close to lincoln made it an ideal spot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryRBlytheBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments; we greatly appreciate them and the time you have taken to submit this review. It was good to meet you and we too are sorry that your visit was so short. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had read the reviews and weren’t disappointed. Margaret and Gordon so obviously want their guests to have a great stay. Lovely room (we had the annexe) delicious breakfast, we especially appreciated the use of the fridge to freeze our water ready for our walks in the beautiful (and very hot) Lincolnshire countryside. If you enjoy a walk the area between Gainsborough and Saxilby is very pleasant. There are plenty of places for a good meal; Burton Waters is close by where you can experience a ‘floating oriental restaurant’. Would definitely recommend a stay at Orchard cottage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatstots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are delighted to know that Orchard Cottage proved to be 'just what was wanted' and that it came up to your expectations. We appreciate the time you have taken out of a very busy schedule to submit such a lovely and positive review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Exactly what we wanted in a B&B. Clean and welcoming. We stayed in the garden suite which meant we could come and go without disturbing anyone. Lovely couple and a stupendous breakfast. Gordon was a Vulcan navigator and worth discussing that before you leave. Really reccommend it, and we are very fussy. Don't often find places that we would reccommend but this one is good.

Room Tip: Liked the garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Orchard Cottage. Our aim is always to ensure that our guests receive a warm welcome and are comfortable in our home. Your interest in our aviation experiences contributed to some very interesting conversations ! We do hope that you are able to visit us again and we thank you very much for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I don't live in a city
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We discovered the Orchard Cottage website quite by chance prior to a house hunting visit to Lincolnshire. After spending exhausting days in the searing heat, our return to Orchard Cottage was always looked forward to. Margaret and Gordon are the most charming and welcoming hosts you could wish for, unobtrusive if that's what you prefer, yet very happy to engage in conversation should you wish. The breakfast menu is varied, prepared to perfection and served in a beautifully furnished room by your convivial hosts. We stayed in the guest suite which is comprised of bedroom, shower room and lounge. I tend to wake very early so was able to sit in the lounge and watch TV without disturbing my wife. In summary, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggles081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret A, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We were so pleased to hear that you were comfortable at Orchard Cottage and greatly appreciate the positive and lovely comments concerning your stay with us. It was pleasure to meet you and also to chat about so many shared interests. Gordon and I hope that your househunting proves to be successful and that you will be returning to Lincolnshire in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saxilby
5.2 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
725 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
5.8 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canal View Bed & Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Bridleway Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Bridleway Luxury Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Grange de Lings
140 reviews
6.5 mi away
Eagles Guest House
Eagles Guest House
#1 of 3 in North Hykeham
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Cottage

Property: Orchard Cottage
Address: Orchard Lane, Saxilby, Lincoln LN1 2HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Saxilby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saxilby
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing